Skip to main content

Academic Writing Guide: Reflective Practice/Writing

Reflection

Guidelines for keeping a reflective diary/journal & writing up critical reflective incidents  (aimed at nurses but would be of interest to Hospitality, Sports & Tourism students too)

1. Keep a journal of experiences over the year.

2. Write up the journal entry/incident.

3. Below the entry write up your reflections / analysis notes of the situation.

4. Write up experiences the same day if possible.

5. Use actual dialogue wherever possible to capture the situation.

6. Make a habit of writing up at least one experience per work day/shift.

7. Balance problematic experiences with satisfying experience.

8. Challenge yourself at least once a day about something that you normally do without thought / take for granted.

9. Ask yourself 'why do I do that?'  (i.e. make the normal problematic)

10. Always endeavour to be open and honest with yourself - find the authentic 'you' to do the writing.

Ask yourself these questions: 

What did I learn from the situation?  In what way has it assisted my learning to be a health practitioner?  Could the situation have been better managed?

Johns (1992) & Carper (1978) in P. Palmer, S. Burns and C. Bulman, C.,  Reflective Practice in Nursing (1994). London. Blackwell Scientific Publications. p. 112.

How to write reflectively

How to write reflectively

Reflective writing - Deakin Unversity
Includes an explanation of what reflective writing is and how to write reflectively; useful phrases for reflecting; and a video showing how a student uses reflection in his studies.

Reflective writing: a basic introduction - University of Portsmouth (PDF, 132 KB; opens in a new window)
Provides a useful introduction to reflective writing; a suggested structure, with an example; it includes vocabulary and phrases you could use.

Reflective journal – Oxford Brookes University (PDF, 58 KB; opens in a new window)
Explains how to think about your work reflectively, critically and analytically, and how to structure your reflective writing; it also includes some useful vocabulary. 

Reflective journal - RMIT (opens in a new window)
An online tutorial modelling the reflective process and demonstrating how to integrate references and analysis in your writing; includes examples.

Reflective journal - RMIT (PDF, 75.2 KB; opens in a new window)
A strategy for approaching reflective writing.

The difference between essays, reports and reflective journals - RMIT (PDF, 75.9 KB; opens in a new window)
Explains how the following aspects differ: purpose, topic, audience and format.

Reflective writing - University of New South Wales (opens in a new window)
Explains what reflective writing is and how to do it; it also includes examples of reflective writing.

Tools for reflection - Open University (opens in a new window)
Includes reflective questions to ask yourself at the start of a course, mid-course and at the end of a course.

Genres in academic writing: Reflective writing - Andy Gillett, Using English for academic purposes.
Includes a discussion of reflective writing and a possible structure of a reflective report.

Gibbs reflective model