Skip to main content

Library Basics 2018

About the Library

The library believes in a customised library service and that each and every person who comes inside our door or clicks into our website deserves the best possible service. 

The AIT Library provides the learning resources that you need to complete your studies as well as a range of different services and facilities to support all AIT’s Learners, Lecturers, Staff and Researchers.  These include:

  • Specialist guidance and advice from trained information professionals, from Foundation Degree to Doctoral level;
  • Generous loan allowances;
  • Late night opening all week during term-time;
  • Resource request services such as reservations and Interlibrary loans.
  • Numerous study spaces
  • 4 bookable Study Rooms each with a PC and whiteboard.
  • 32 bookable PCs.
  • A self-service machine for book loans;
  • A drop box outside the library for returning books when the library is closed.

The library is your starting point for information and academic assignment support. Our mission is to provide quality information and learning resources, and to meet the needs of learning, teaching and research within the AIT and the local community with services of the highest quality.

Athlone Institute of Technology’s library spans the institute's two campuses with the principal library located in the Main Campus (beside the Main Canteen) and the Health Science Library in the East Campus (Nursing Building).

During Termtime we are open Monday to Thursday 9.15am to 9.45pm & Fridays 9.15am to 5.00pm. Saturday openings usually begin in October each year and the opening hours are from 9.15 to 4pm.  The online library is open 24/7 on campus or from home at https://library.ait.ie/.  Check out the website for current library opening hours and many other library services. 

The main library desk will answer most of your library queries.

For more detailed & assignment related queries contact your Subject/Liaison Librarians.  

The library opens all year except for public holidays. The library helps you find, evaluate and use information effectively and ethically.  It is available for study, borrowing, returning library material, accessing computers and electronic resources.  You may also bring your own laptop and connect to the college wireless network. 

There are over 175,000 books (e-books and print) available.  Also there are over 50,000 journals (academic magazines) in fulltext accessible to students and staff online both on and off campus.  The library also hosts a very popular Positive Living section.

There are 4 group study rooms which are bookable and over 32 bookable PCs for use throughout the library.

 

 
Jane Burns +353 90 648 3031 jburns@ait.ie Institute Librarian
Una O’Connor +353 90 644 2593 uoconnor@ait.ie Joint Deputy Librarian and Subject Liaison for Faculty of Business & Dept of Social Science
Assumpta Byrne +353 90 644 2592 abyrne@ait.ie Systems Librarian
Michael Doheny +353 90 648 3030 mdoheny@ait.ie Joint Librarian & Assistant Librarian: Health Sciences & Reader Services
Rosarii Dunne +353 90 647 1821 rdunne@ait.ie Assistant Librarian: Technical Services & Inter-Library Loans
Anne Conway +353 90 644 2561 aconway@ait.ie Senior Library Assistant: Reader Services
Tania Marsh +353 90 644 2562 tyoung@ait.ie Senior Library Assistant: Technical Services & Acquisitions
Joanne Gillivan +353 90 648 3033 jgillivan@ait.ie Library Assistant: Technical Services & Acquisitions
Mary Mulryan +353 90 647 1850 mmulryan@ait.ie Library Assistant: Reader Services & Disability Liaison
Celine Peignen +353 90 648 3040 cpeignen@ait.ie Joint Assistant Librarian for Reader Services and Health Sciences;  Library Assistant with special responsibility as International Liaison
Adrienne Nuttall +353 90 644 2513 anuttall@ait.ie Library Assistant
Veronica Coughlan +353 90 644 2513 vcoughlan@ait.ie Library Assistant
Annette Moran +353 90 644 2513 amoran@ait.ie Library Attendant
Noel Samuels +353 90 644 2513 nsamuels@ait.ie Library Attendant
Loading ...