Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Code of Practice for Project Management for Construction and Development (e-book) by The first edition of the Code of Practice for Project Management for Construction and Development, published in 1992, was groundbreaking in many ways. Now in its fifth edition, prepared by a multi-institute task force coordinated by the CIOB and including representatives from RICS, RIBA, ICE, APM and CIC, it continues to be the authoritative guide and reference to the principles and practice of project management in construction and development. Good project management in construction relies on balancing the key constraints of time, quality and cost in the context of building functionality and the requirements for sustainability within the built environment. Thoroughly updated and restructured to reflect the challenges that the industry faces today, this edition continues to drive forward the practice of construction project management. The principles of strategic planning, detailed programming and monitoring, resource allocation and effective risk management, widely used on projects of all sizes and complexity, are all fully covered. The integration of Building Information Modelling at each stage of the project life is a feature of this edition. In addition, the impact of trends and developments such as the internationalisation of construction projects and the drive for sustainability are discussed in context. The Code of Practice will be of particular value to clients, project management professionals and students of construction, as well as to the wider construction and development industries. Much of the information will also be relevant to project management professionals operating in other commercial spheres. nbsp; Also Available Guide to Good Practice in the Management of Time in Complex Projects Chartered Institute of Building Paperback, 978 1 4443 3493 7 The Design Manager's Handbook John Eynon Paperback, 978 0 4706 7402 4 International Construction Contracts: A Handbook William Godwin Paperback, 978 0 470 65572 6
Publication Date: 2014-07-21
Handbook for Construction Planning and Scheduling (e-book) by The authoritative industry guide on good practice for planning and scheduling in construction This handbook acts as a guide to good practice, a text to accompany learning and a reference document for those needing information on background, best practice, and methods for practical application. "A Handbook for Construction Planning & Scheduling" presents the key issues of planning and programming in scheduling in a clear, concise and practical way. The book divides into four main sections: Planning and Scheduling within the Construction Context; Planning and Scheduling Techniques and Practices; Planning and Scheduling Methods; Delay and Forensic Analysis. The authors include both basic concepts and updates on current topics demanding close attention from the construction industry, including planning for sustainability, waste, health and safety and Building Information Modelling (BIM). The book is especially useful for early career practitioners - engineers, quantity surveyors, construction managers, project managers - who may already have a basic grounding in civil engineering, building and general construction but lack extensive planning and scheduling experience. Students will find the website helpful with worked examples of the methods and calculations for typical construction projects plus other directed learning material. This authoritative industry guide on good practice for planning and scheduling in construction is written in a direct, informative style with a clear presentation enabling easy access of the relevant information with a companion website providing additional resources and learning support material. the authoritative industry guide on construction planning and scheduling direct informative writing style and clear presentation enables easy access of the relevant information companion website provides additional learning material.
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
Modern Construction: lean project delivery and integrated practices (e-books) by During the past several decades, the manufacturing and service industries significantly increased their levels of productivity, quality, and profitability through the application of process improvement techniques and information technology. Unfortunately, the construction industry lags far behind in the application of performance improvement and optimization techniques, as well as its overall competitiveness. Written by Lincoln H. Forbes and Syed M. Ahmed, both highly regarded for leadership and innovation, Modern Construction: Lean Project Delivery and Integrated Practices offers cutting-edge lean tools and other productive strategies for the management of people and processes in the construction industry. Drs. Forbes and Ahmed focus mainly on lean construction methodologies, such as The Last Planner(R) System, The Lean Project Delivery System (TM), and Integrated Project Delivery(TM). The tools and strategies offered draw on the success of the world-renowned Toyota Production System (TPS) adapted to the construction environment by construction professionals and researchers involved in developing and advocating lean construction methods. The book also discusses why true lean construction can best occur when all the construction stakeholders, owners, designers, constructors, and material suppliers are committed to the concept of optimizing the flow of activities holistically while de-emphasizing their self-interest. The authors also reintroduce process improvement approaches such as TQM and Six Sigma as a foundation for the adoption of lean methodologies, and demonstrate how these methods can improve projects in a so-called traditional environment. The book integrates these methods with emerging interest in green construction and the use of information technology and Building Information Modeling (BIM), while recognizing the human element in relation to motivation, safety, and environmental stresses. Written specifically for professionals in an industry that desperately needs to play catch up, the book delineates cutting-edge approaches with the benefit of successful cases and explains how their deployment can improve construction performance and competitiveness.
Publication Date: 2010-12-28
GO! with Microsoft Excel 2013 Comprehensive by For use in the Office Applications course. This book is also suitable for students and individuals seeking an introduction to Microsoft Excel 2013. The primary goal of the GO! Series, aside from teaching computer applications, is ease of implementation, with an approach that is based on clearly defined projects. Teaching and Learning Experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience-for you and your students. Here's how: Personalize Learning: MyITLab delivers proven results in helping students succeed, provides engaging experiences that personalize learning, and comes from a trusted partner with educational expertise and a deep commitment to helping students and instructors achieve their goals. Engage Students with a Project-Based Approach: GO!'s project-based approach teaches students to solve real problems as they practice and learn the features. Motivate Students with Clear Instruction: Based on professor and student feedback, this text has been designed to offer clear instruction for full student comprehension. Teach the Course You Want in Less Time: The GO! series' one-of-a kind instructional system provides you with everything you need to prepare for class, teach the material, and assess your students.
Publication Date: 2013-05-15
Lean Project Leadership by Lean Project Leadership takes you through the steps to plan and execute projects using the exciting new Lean and Critical Chain Project Management (CCPM) methods. Lean Project Leadership integrates CCPM and Lean practices in a practical way that works for all kinds of projects, large and small. This book supplements Larry's second book, Lean Project Management, which has received outstanding reviews.
Publication Date: 2010-01-04
Lean Project Management: eight principles for success by Lean Project Management takes you through all of the steps to plan and execute projects using the exciting new Lean and Critical Chain Project Management (CCPM) methods. Larry Leach is uniquely qualified to integrate CCPM and Lean practices in a practical way that works for all kinds of projects, large and small. This book is a second edition of Eight Secrets to Supercharge Your Projects with CCPM, which has received outstanding reader reviews.
Publication Date: 2006-07-25
Where to find books
The books in the AIT library are organised according to the Dewey Classification system. Generally, books covering Engineering have a class mark beginning 62. However, some subjects such as Management are held in 658, while Construction material is held in the 690s.
||340 Law area (see library catalogue for specific areas)
|510.0246 Engineering Mathematics
||620 Engineering - General
|620.004 Engineering Design
||621.042 Energy Engineering
|624 Civil Engineering
||625.7 Engineering of roads
|627 Hydraulic Engineering
||628 Sanitary and municipal engineering
|629 Other branches of Engineering
||692 Auxiliary construction practices
|693-699 Various construction areas
MEng in Energy and Comunications Infrastructure (MECI) ebooks
Search the library catalogue
BSc. (Hons) Energy and Business Management
General encyclopaedias and dictionaries can be a useful starting point when looking for information on a topic. Here are some reference titles.