Skip to main content

Law Subject guide: EU and International Law

UK Law: Cases and Legislation

  • Westlaw UK  Available to AIT staff and students only.  This is a large database which includes amended legislation, The Law Reports (official series) as well as a large number of subject specialist law report series, case summaries, citators and transcripts, the legal journals index, plus full text for some journals and a number of textbooks online including the common law series and the White Book (Civil Procedure Rules).
  • HeinOnline  Available to AIT staff and students only.  Heinonline has a great collection of UK journals. However their licence does not allow them to include any articles from the last year on the database.
  • British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII)
    Free resource. Includes judgments of UK cases and legislation (unamended). There is an advanced search screen as well the option to browse by year or by title.
  • Legislation.gov.uk
    Free resource. This site includes amended legislation and it replaces the Statute Law Database.

Westlaw.UK

Westlaw.uk is produced by Thomson Reuters and is one of major UK Legal databases. The AIT library subscribes to this database on your behalf.

Law Reports and Cases

Legislation

Journals

Training tutorials http://www.westlaw.co.uk/trainingtutorial/

EU Law

  • EUR-Lex
    EUR-Lex provides free access to European Union law and other documents considered to be public.
  • Westlaw.uk provides access to European Court of Justice (ECJ), Court of First Instance, Civil Service Tribunal, and EFTA court case reports, EU regulations and directives, and EU treaties.

Free Legal UK gateways

International Law

HeinOnline is a legal database, which holds a large collection of US material and UN material. Under the terms of its licence some of the titles have embargoes, which means that the more recent articles may not be available. 

Heinonline training videos

More International material