Skip to main content

Law Subject guide: Finding journal articles

Search across all AIT Library's resources

Legal Periodicals.org Free resource. Run by IRLII at the Faculty of Law, University College, Cork. "... contains an index of Irish Legal Periodicals from 1997 to date. Links are provided to articles available online with the consent of the copyright holder. ... provide(s) a list of keywords describing each article.The index can be searched using the box in the top right corner or browsed by clicking on a Journal at the left hand side of the screen." Also links to online Irish law journals

Google Scholar Google Scholar is a free resource which includes full text articles that are freely available on the web, citations, abstracts and also books. You can do a basic search over the full text or search by author, title, publication and date.

Discover@AIT is basically a Google search for all of the AIT Library's resources.  It provides one single search box to access books, ebooks, journal articles and a wealth of other library research resources.  All in one search box for all the library's entire print and online collections.  The library holds over 50,000 ejournals and 150,000 ebooks so the ability to search across all of these with one search is vital.

Library Logo
Discover@AIT

Keyword Title Author
  • Discovery@AIT's default search treats all terms you enter in a search box as though they are joined with AND. For example, if you enter: television violence children, your search will return items that contain all 3 terms.  To combine your terms in other ways (such as OR or NOT), use the advanced search.
  • To improve the relevancy of your search results, enclose phrases in "quotation marks". For example:  "climate change" or "college students".
  • Narrow your search by using the limits on the left hand side of the search results screen. You can narrow your search by date, subject, database, source type, language, etc.
  • If there is an apostrophe in your search term, include it.  For example, use "handmaid's tale" -- not "handmaids tale"
  • To find variant endings for a word, use the * asterisk (truncation symbol.)  For example:  psycol* finds psychology, psychological, psychologic, etc.
Loading ...

Sample list of Abbreviations for legal journals

Abbreviation Full name

Database

A.C.  Appeal Cases

Westlaw.UK

CLJ Cambridge Law Journal                    

        Westlaw.UK

Child Legal Rts J.

Child Legal Rights Journal

HeinOnline

CLP Commerical Law Practitioner

Westlaw IE

DULJ Dublin University Law Journal

Westlaw.ie

HLJ Hibernian Law Journal

HeinOnline

Int'l J. Child. Rts International Journal of Children's Rights

HeinOnline

IELJ  Irish Employment Law Journal

Westlaw.ie

IJFL Irish Journal of Family Law

Westlaw.ie

ILT Irish Law Times

Westlaw.ie

ILRM Irish Law Reports Monthly

Westlaw.ie

Irish Jurist Irish Jurist

Westlaw UK

I.R. Irish Reports

Justis

J.L & Fam. Stud Journal of Law & Family Studies

HeinOnline

J.S.I.J. Judicial Studies Institute Journal

Print

MLJI Medico-Legal Journal of Ireland

Westlaw.uk

SLT

Scots Law Times

Westlaw.uk

UCL Juris. Rev. UCL Jurisprudence Review

Westlaw.uk

Whittier J. Child. & Fam. Advoc Whittier Journal of Child and Family Advocacy

HeinOnline