Skip to Main Content

TUS Logo

Assignment guides: Introduction to Sociology assignment

Component skills of sociological imagination

http://sociologysource.squarespace.com/home/2013/4/14/the-sociological-imagination-is-a-skill.html

Databases to search

Although the library does not have a subscription some of the content is freely available.  Check out more than 1.3m articles from 760+ journals on SAGE Journals Online.

SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database. SocIndex contains full text for 708 journals dating back to 1908 and also includes full text for more than 780 books and monographs, and full text for 9,333 conference papers. Subjects include abortion, criminology; criminal justice, demography, ethnic; racial studies, gender studies, marriage; family, political sociology, religion, rural; urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse; other addictions, violence and many others.

 

Interviewing as social interaction

De Santis, G. (1979) Interviewing as social interaction.  Qualitative Sociology. 2(3) pp.72-98. Subjects: INTERVIEWING; QUESTIONING; SOCIAL interaction; SOCIAL psychology; INTERVIEWS

Madill, A. (2011) Interaction in the semi-structured interview: a comparative analysis of the use of and response to indirect complaints, Qualitative research in psychology.  8(4) pp.333-353.

Robinson, V. P. (1928) SOME DIFFICULTIES IN ANALYZING SOCIAL INTERACTIONS IN THE INTERVIEW. SocialForces. 6(4) pp558-561.
Subjects: SOCIAL interaction; ALCOHOLICS; ORAL communication; GESTURE; VERBAL accounts; INTERVIEWS
 

Sociological Imagination

Dunk-West, P. & Verity, F. (2013) Sociological Social Work

Kitto, S. eds. (2011) Sociology of interprofessional health care practice [electronic resource] : critical reflections and concrete solutions / Simon Kitto ... [et al.], editors. Publisher New York : Nova Science Publishers

Introduction to Sociology

Punch, S. (2013) Sociology, making sense of society.  Harlow: Pearson.

Sample chapter from Pearson.