Subject & Study Guides: Health Science and Nutrition: Home

Nutrition Guide

PUBMED PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books

Academic Source Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
CINAHL with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window A full text database of nursing & allied health journals. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Health Research Premium This link opens in a new window Over 4,500 full text health and medical journals Plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more Your single point of access for many types of content such as Business and Management
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO (abstract database) This link opens in a new window American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Search a database providing Scientific, Business, Accounting, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect is an excellent database providing access to fulltext and abstracts.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Coverage: Launched in 2004 by Elsevier. Peer-reviewed journals, books and conferences in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Plus tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window SPORTDiscus is the main database for finding Physical Activity & Exercise related literature. It contains more than 670 full-text journals, Books, Book chapters, Conference proceedings, Journal articles and more.

BMJ Best Practice BMJ Best Practice for clinical decision support
The Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library contains systematic reviews studying the efficacy of interventions in health care. Open access - no login required.
Google Advanced Search Use to optain government and educational reports by limiting domain to .gov.ie (for example) and file type to Pdf
Google Scholar
Lenus LENUS the Irish health repository for the HSE. This gateway to health information is provided by the HSE Regional Library & Information Services in Ireland and includes archives of the old Irish Health Board and the HSE as well as other Irish health publications and research articles.

Print and e-books can be accessed though the library PAC catalogue by clicking on Library catalogue on the main library webpage.

There is an option to limit to e book only or item type (long loan, short loan etc).

E book resources are also available at the links below

Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) This link opens in a new window Over 80,000 electronic books on a variety of subjects.
http://libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/ebook_collections/proquestebookcentral check out St. Andrews for more information

AIT links to e book databases and free e book resources
The Human Kinetics Library A digital hub for sport and exercise studies
Nursing Clinical Key
Open Access Textbooks
Open Education resources Science

Journals can be called many things, serials, periodicals or magazines. Journals are published at regular intervals under the same title. They contain articles relating to a specific subject area. Academic journals are the most relevant for research purposes. Articles in academic journals are usually refereed (also called peer reviewed). Academic Journals are available though the college databases which can be access directly on the library database page or on the Discovery search on the main library webpage.

Recommend Ntrution Journals Recommended by your lecturers.
Complete Nutrition (Print) is available in the Nursing Collection Room in the Library

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition is available as an online journal through the Wileys Journal Database

Lecture Series: Using PubMed to Find High-Quality Literature This lecture series provides the foundational skills needed to search PubMed effectively and efficiently. Learn the difference between PubMed and MEDLINE; how to use search techniques such as boolean operators, truncation, and field tags; what happens behind the scenes each time a search is conducted in PubMed; and strategies for building a sophisticated search. While this series was created by the Johns Hopkins Welch Medical Library, it is appropriate for learners everywhere who are interested in strengthening their searching skills.
Jove Videos

Copyright

This Libguide is licensed under Creative Commons as