Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Case Studies
Case Studies are widely used in Accountancy and Finance education. They offer students the opportunity to develop their analytic and writing skills. They are most common used to examine the communication skills and team working ability of the student.
Finding Case Studies
Books containing case studies can be found by using our catalogue. Here are a some examples for Accounting and Finance :
Introduction to the Accounting Process by
Publication Date: 2010-11-11
Financial Accounting by
Call Number: 657
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Some databases allow users to search for case studies under a certain topic. Others allow users to filter or offer to limit their search results to case studies. Two examples are :
Business Source Complete Coverage: accounting, economics, finance, international business and management. Also includes full-text books, company profiles, country economic reports, market research reports, trade journals and business magazines.
EMERALD Academic journal articles, often with a practical slant, covering business (management, marketing, accountancy, human resource management and information management. Excellent database. Articles with green ticks are available in fulltext.
Writing Case Studies
Case Study Research by
Publication Date: 2013-05-10
Providing a complete portal to the world of case study research, the Fifth Edition of Robert K. Yin′s bestselling text offers comprehensive coverage of the design and use of the case study method as a valid research tool. The book offers a clear definition of the case study method as well as discussion of design and analysis techniques. The Fifth Edition has been updated with nine new case studies, three new appendices, seven tutorials presented at the end of relevant chapters, increased coverage of values and ethics, expanded discussion on logic models, a brief glossary, and completely updated citations. This book includes exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic fields.
Online guides and help when writing case studies
Emerald publishing has a useful how to guide for case studies access it here
Cengage has a good introduction to the topic covering definition, Analysis, and writing a Case Study.
Five Misunderstandings about case study research by Bent Flyvbjerg
The Real Life Guide to Accounting Research Edited by Chrotopher Humphrey
The Case Centre for Educators