Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advanced Sports Nutrition by Use the most sophisticated sports nutrition information to help you reach your athletic performance goals. In Advanced Sports Nutrition, Third Edition, world-renowned sports nutritionist Dr. Dan Benardot combines the latest research, strategies, and sports nutrition information with his experience in academia and work with elite athletes to help you learn the following: The implications of relative energy deficiency in sport (RED-S) and within-day energy balance so you can maintain crucial energy balance throughout training and competition Optimal ratios and quantities of nutrients, vitamins, and minerals for achieving maximum power, strength, and performance How to avoid gastrointestinal distress during activity The most popular supplements and their effects on your athletic performance Strategies for balancing fluid and electrolytes to avoid dehydration and hyperhydration How to combat the effects of travel, such as jet lag, new foods, sleep disruption, and high altitude Weight-loss and body-composition issues so you can apply appropriate strategies to achieve the optimal strength-to-weight ratio for your sport Sport-specific guidelines for power sports, endurance sports, and those that require both power and endurance To further assist you in distilling the science into practice, you'll find 13 practical nutrition guides in the appendix. Curious about pregame nutrition, hydration, high-carb snacks, or macronutrient intake? These quick reference sheets help you easily apply the principles to your own nutrition plan. With Advanced Sports Nutrition, Third Edition, you get practical advice for how best to put nutrition science to work for you. CE exam available! For certified professionals, a companion continuing education exam can be completed after reading this book. The Advanced Sports Nutrition Online CE Exam may be purchased separately or as part of the Advanced Sports Nutrition With CE Exam package that includes both the book and the exam.
Publication Date: 2020-07-30
Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Activity Applications by Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Activity Applications offers the most accessible, student-friendly introduction to the principles and practice of measurement in physical activity available. Fully revised and updated, the second edition provides students with a clear guide to the obstacles to good measurement, and how to apply the principles of good measurement to a range of physical activity disciplines. Spanning applications in exercise science, sports performance, physical education, sports coaching, athletic training, and physical activity and health, the book also includes chapters on the key principles underlying good measurement practice--validity, reliability, and objectivity--as well as an introduction to using statistics and qualitative measurement. Structured to reflect single-semester classes, and involving students at every stage through its rich pedagogy and accessibility, this is a crucial resource for introducing students to the principles of best practice in measurement and evaluation. It is the ideal learning aid for any students studying measurement, evaluation, or assessment in kinesiology, exercise science, sports coaching, physical education, athletic training, and health and fitness.
Publication Date: 2018-09-03
Research Methods in Physical Activity and Health by Physical activity is vital for good health. It has an established strong evidence base for its positive effects on functional capacity, reducing the risk of many chronic diseases, and promoting physical, mental and social well-being. Furthermore, these benefits are evident across a diversity of ages, groups and populations. The need for these benefits in current societies means that exercise practitioners, professional bodies, institutions, health authorities and governments require high quality evidence to establish appropriate exercise guidelines, implementation strategies and effective exercise prescription at individual, group and population levels. Research Methods in Physical Activity and Healthis the first book to comprehensively present the issues associated with physical activity and health research and outline methods available along with considerations of the issues associated with these methods and working with particular groups. The book outlines the historical and scientific context of physical activity and health research before working through the full research process, from generating literature reviews and devising a research proposal, through selecting a research methodology and quantifying physical activity and outcome measures, to disseminating findings. Including a full section on conducting research studies with special populations, the book includes chapters on: Observational and cross-sectional studies; Interviews, questionnaires and focus groups; Qualitative and quantitative research methods; Epidemiological research methods; Physical activity interventions and sedentary behaviour; and Working with children, older people, indigenous groups, LGBTI groups, and those with physical and mental health issues. Research Methods in Physical Activity and Healthis the only book to approach the full range of physical activity research methods from a health perspective. It is essential reading for any undergraduate student conducting a research project or taking applied research modules in physical activity and health, graduate students of epidemiology, public health, exercise psychology or exercise physiology with a physical activity and health focus, or practicing researchers in the area.
Publication Date: 2018-12-13
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology integrates the topics of motor control, physical education, exercise, adventure, performance in sports, and the performing arts, in several important ways and contexts, drawing upon diverse cultural perspectives. More than 90 overarching topics have been systematically developed by internationally renowned experts in theory, research, and practice. Each contribution delves into a thematic area with more nuanced vocabulary. The terminology drawn upon integrates traditional discourse and emerging topic matter into a state-of-the-art two-volume set. Volume 1: Theoretical and Methodological Concepts is comprised of theoretical topic matter, spanning theories and terminology from psychology contextualized to sport and physical activity, sport psychology-focused theories, and expansive discussions related to philosophy of science and methodology. Volume 2: Applied and Practical Measures draws upon practical concepts that bridge theory and research and practice. Broader issues that extend beyond sport and physical activity participants are embedded within the entries, intended to augment physical, mental, and social well-being. This expansive encyclopedia is a must-have resource for all professionals, scholars, and students in the fields of sport psychology and sport science.
Publication Date: 2020-04-14
Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy by Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy, Second Edition, is the most comprehensive resource on muscle hypertrophy in the world. Written by Brad Schoenfeld, PhD, an internationally renowned expert on muscle hypertrophy, this book is the definitive resource for strength and conditioning professionals, personal trainers, sport scientists, researchers, and exercise science instructors who are seeking information regarding muscle hypertrophy, including the mechanism of its development, how the body structurally and hormonally changes when exposed to stress, ways to most effectively design training programs, and nutritional guidelines for eliciting hypertrophic changes. This new edition offers more than 1,000 references and applied guidelines. Two all-new chapters deliver practical content on the measurement of muscle hypertrophy and advanced training practices. Readers will learn various methods by which hypertrophy is measured, including site-specific measures (circumference measures, MRI, CT, and ultrasound), indirect measures (underwater weighing, DXA, BIA, ADP, and skinfolds), and histological measures (biopsy), as well as the strengths and limitations of each modality. The new edition also provides guidance for achieving greater training volumes with training practices that maximize the individual's genetic potential to gain muscle. No other resource offers a comparable amount of content solely focused on the science of muscle hypertrophy and its application to designing training programs. The full-color book offers several features to make the content accessible to readers: Research Findings sidebars highlight the aspects of muscle hypertrophy currently being examined to encourage readers to re-evaluate their knowledge and ensure their training practices are up to date. Practical Applications sidebars outline how to apply the research conclusions for maximal hypertrophic development. Comprehensive subject and author indexes optimize the book's use as a reference tool. Although muscle hypertrophy can be attained through a range of training programs, this book allows readers to understand and apply the specific responses and mechanisms that promote optimal muscle hypertrophy. It explores how genetic background, age, sex, and other factors have been shown to mediate the hypertrophic response to exercise, affecting both the rate and the total gain in lean muscle mass. Sample programs show how to design a three- or four-day-per-week undulating periodized program and a modified linear periodized program for maximizing muscular development. Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy is an invaluable resource for those seeking to maximize hypertrophic gains for themselves or their athletes or clients and for those searching for the most comprehensive and authoritative research in the field.
Publication Date: 2020-04-20