Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AIT Library Response to COVID-19

This Guide brings together all of AIT Library's information on remote and onsite services during Covid-19 for staff & students.

AIT Library

AIT Library Semester one spaces, services, collections

OPENING HOURS Alert: The Library spaces will be closed for Saturday 24th October for the Bank Holiday weekend. The Library will reopen on Tuesday 27th October at 9am. Pre-book your seat online: https://library.ait.ie/services/study-spaces/ 

NORMAL OPENING HOURS: Monday-Thursday 9am-9.30pm || Friday 9am-5pm 

***
October 21st 2020 Update: 
AIT Library will remain open to provide learning space, collections and supports for students where essential during Level 5. Study spaces must be pre-booked and students are asked to consider online services and collections where possible.

All electronic collections are available to students, researchers and staff through the Library website. Use the Library's Click & Collect Service to put items on hold for pick-up or contact us if you need another format of delivery. Scan & Deliver will be available again from next week. 

When onsite, all library users must have an AIT staff or student card to enter the library, wear face-coverings and adhere to all Covid-19 safety measures. 

This guide provides updated information on our onsite and online services for Semester 1 2020. Contact library@ait.ie with any questions.

KEY COVID-19 SAFETY MEASURES AND SPACE & SERVICE UPDATES: 

  • All Library Users are required to wear a face-covering when in Library spaces and adhere to AIT COVID-19 safety precautions while on AIT Campus. Full details here: https://www.ait.ie/campus-updates/ 

  • Staff, students or visitors experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 should not visit Library spaces. Sanitation Stations outside and throughout Library spaces should be used regularly and properly to ensure the safety of all Library Users and Staff. 

  • Library users will enter through the left hand side door in the Library foyer and follow the one-way system in place within the Library.

  • Library users will need their student or staff card to enter and exit the Library space to monitor numbers and facilitate contact tracing - data maintained for 4 weeks, student number only. No visitors can be welcomed onsite during Level 5.

  • Sanitation Stations are available to students outside and within the Library spaces for study desk and hand hygiene. 

  • For the Library Print Room and the new Nursing Collection area, a maximum of 4 students can be in the space at a time. 

SEMESTER 1 SERVICES LINK

  • Students will be required to book study spaces in advance of arriving at the Library. This system is a pilot, and will be reviewed with student feedback. Students can book their spaces online, 30 minutes slots with a max of 4 hours across the day. Students can contact the Library if they need additional time library@ait.ie. Click here to book you seat: https://library.ait.ie/services/study-spaces/ 

  • Students will be required to reserve PCs, with PCs moved to the back of the main space as well as additional PCs in IT 1 on Level 1 above the Library. In the first instance students will need to come into the Library to book or contact library@ait.ie. New online booking system will be available shortly. Click here for PC booking info: https://ait.libguides.com/covid/semester1#s-lg-box-15326928

  • Students can only return books to the 'Book Drop Box' outside the Main Library and on Level 1 in the Nursing Healthcare Building on East Campus and all items will be quarantined for 72 hours. 

  • Click & Collect service for all physical collections is available - put a book on hold on the Library catalogue and collect it in the Library when we have confirmed we have it ready for you. Click & Collect: https://ait.libguides.com/covid/semester1#s-lg-box-15121731

  • Live Chat with your Library Team will be available on the Library websiteLive Chat is available Monday-Friday 9am-4.30pm and Saturday 9am-3.30pm. 

Follow AIT on TwitterFacebook & Instagram for the latest updates.Wear a mask or face covering, bring your student card and scan for entry and exit, one way - follow the one-way system in library spaces, book your (socially distanced) computer space, book onsite or via Chat, new online booking coming soon, New live chat with your librarians from Monday 14th September, use sanitation stations for study spaces and hand-hygiene, book your (socially distanced) study space, online booking starting Monday 14th September, Talk to the Library Team for support at the Issue Desk, Full Book collections accessible onsite and e-books online, Book drop box - return all books to the book drop box in the library foyer for 72 hour quarantine, library live sessions - new schedule of onsite and online information skills sessions.  Got feedback on the library's semester 1 plans?  We want to hear from you!

* Original Guide structure adapted from RCSI Library; guide content and additional elements by AIT Library.