Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AIT Library Response to COVID-19

This Guide brings together all of AIT Library's information on remote and onsite services during Covid-19 for staff & students.

Clinics & Classes

MONDAY 12th - FRIDAY 16th APRIL 2021



All Referesher Sessions will be delivered online via the Library's Zoom Channel. No booking necessary.
 LINK FOR ALL SESSIONS, join at the time of the class or clinic you want:
https://ait-ie.zoom.us/j/6157963488?pwd=M1R0Q2JVTHlFcDlnUjhCL3dLS2o0dz09 Meeting ID: 615 796 3488 Passcode: Library21
Open to all AIT Staff & Students. 

Access to physical study space in the library remains closed. Students, when on campus for essential activity, can use the Open Access Lab on AIT Main Campus for computers and study space. Open Access Lab hours are 9am-6pm Monday-Thursday and 9am-3pm Friday. No booking required but all students must fill out the Campus Contact Tracing Form from the 'Quicklinks' of the AIT website: https://www.ait.ie/ While on campus students must adhere to the Covid-19 safety protocols wearing masks, hand hygiene, 2m distance. 

Click & Collect


 

SERVICE UPDATE: From Monday 29th March - Thursday 1st April 2021 Click & Collect is 11am-1pm.

CLICK & COLLECT is a service from AIT Library supporting access to physical book collections to all staff and students for Semester 2 2021. You can place a hold on a book from the library catalogue (even if it is not out by another user) and collect the item in the Library at the Issue Desk. 

You will need your AIT network login credentials to put a library item on hold through your Library record. Once your hold has been confirmed to your email via the Library system, you can pick it up. If you need additional arrangements to collect the item, email library@ait.ie.

What items from the collection are available for the Click & Collect Service? All current loan collections can be requested and the library team will confirm the item(s) availability in advance of collection by email. If the option to put an item on hold is not available through the catalogue, contact us on library@ait.ie and we will see if it can be made available to you. All items returned to the library will be put in a 72-hour quarantine and then be available for further circulation. 

How long will items be held for collection? We will hold the items for 3 days for collection. If you think you will be delayed, please email the library to let us know. If another user is requesting the same book, the item will be released to them. 

Where do I go to pick up Click & Collect items? Enter the Library through the new 'In' entrance from the Library foyer. The team will meet you at the door for a socially distanced collection. 

How do I search the catalogue to put items on hold? (Video TutorialFrom the Library Catalogue, follow the instructions below: 

  • Search for the book.
  • Click on the title of the book that you want to place a hold on. ‘Place hold’ button is on the left-hand side of the screen. You will be prompted to log in when you click on it. You use your student number and the password you use for Moodle or to log into the AIT PCs.
  • When you log in you will see ‘confirm holds’. You have the option of collecting the item at the Main Library or the Health Science Library, choose the Main Library. Press confirm hold to reserve the book. You will receive an email to your student email when the book is available to collect.

How do I return my books? The Library has a Book Drop Box in the Library foyer for all returned books.

Scan & Deliver

SCAN & DELIVER is a new service to facilitate access to book chapters and journal articles for all staff and students.
Complete the form below to identify the material you are looking for and the library team will email to confirm that we have the materials for you. 

Required: You will need your AIT number to complete the form  and let us know whether you want an item emailed to you as a scan or sent in the post.                                                                                       

How do I search for items that I want to be scanned? From the Library Catalogue, follow the instructions below:

  • Search for the book or journal for which you are looking
  • Click on the item that you wish to request to find full details of the item
  • Fill out the form to place the request and put in as much information as possible, esp pages or chapter title you are interested in)
  • Follow up with the Library team on library@ait.ie if you have any questions. The Library team will let you know if there are any copyright restrictions on the materials you request.

What items from the collection are available for the Scan & Deliver Service? Material from all physical items in our collection (books and journals) can be requested. Requests for chapters from books or articles that are available in our online collections will not be accepted.

How do I order an item from the Scan & Deliver Service? Fill out this form and the library will be in touch to let you know we have it available. 

What copyright issues impact my request? The Library will confirm that all materials provided through this service adhere to current copyright legislation. Current laws allow for the copying of one chapter per book or one article per journal issue not exceeding 10% of the work; When you request a scan, all users agree to abide by the conditions of the copyright declaration for each item which covers the following: 

  • that you have not previously requested or been provided with a copy of the requested materials
  • that the materials, once supplied, is not for commercial purposes and will only be used for study, research or education purposes
  • that you will not share the material with others

Do I need to return items I get through this service? PDF scans or printed chapters shared with you do not need to be returned to the Library.

Book Drop Box


The Book Drop Box is for all returning book items so that they can be placed in quarantine for 72 hours before re-entering circulation for other Library users. The Book Drop Box is located in the Library foyer in the Main Building on AIT's main campus and on Level 1 of the Nursing Building on AIT east campus. All books that are currently on loan can be returned here and will be removed from your account by the Library team. All fines will be cancelled. 

Do I need to let you know that I have dropped books back? No, there is no need for any additional contact with the library. Any items left in the Book Drop Box will be cleared from your account. 

Are returned items put into quarantine? All returned items will be quarantined for 72 hours.