Skip to main content

AIT Library Response to COVID-19

This Guide brings together all of AIT Library's information on remote and onsite services during Covid-19 for staff & students.

Summer Services Update

Summer services, new library services to support access to physical collections and circulation of library materials.  Click and collect, scan and deliver, book drop box.



SERVICE UPDATE: The Library team are working to increase access to onsite spaces, collections and services to add to our remote services for the last few months. View our arrangements for new services Click & Collect, Scan & Deliver and the Book Drop Box below. All new services are available to AIT Staff & Students. 

Contact the Library team on library@ait.ie for any queries.

Click & Collect

Click and collect, new summer services.CLICK & COLLECT is a new service from AIT Library supporting access to physical book collections to all staff and students over the summer. You can place a hold on a book from the library catalogue and collect the item on Tuesday or Thursday mornings from 10 am-1 pm. 

You will need your AIT network login credentials to put a library item on hold. Once your hold has been confirmed, the library team will be in touch with you on your AIT email to confirm the availability of the item. 


What items from the collection are available for the Click & Collect Service? All current loan collections can be requested and the library team will confirm the item(s) availability in advance of collection by email. If the option to put an item on hold is not available through the catalogue, contact the library on library@ait.ie and we will see if it can be made available to you. All items returned to the library will be put in a 48-hour quarantine and then be available for further circulation. 

How long will items be held for collection? We will hold the items for 3 days for collection. If you think you will be delayed, please email the library to let us know. If another user is requesting the same book, the item will be released to them. 

Where do I go to pick up Click & Collect items? On Tuesdays and Thursdays, from 10 am-1 pm, staff and students can enter the Main Building on Campus and knock on the library door to pick up their items. 

How do I search the catalogue to put items on hold? (Video TutorialFrom the Library Catalogue, follow the instructions below: 

  • Search for the book.
  • Click on the title of the book that you want to place a hold on. ‘Place hold’ button is on the left-hand side of the screen. You will be prompted to log in when you click on it. You use your student number and the password you use for Moodle or to log into the AIT PCs.
  • When you log in you will see ‘confirm holds’. You have the option of collecting the item at the Main Library or the Health Science Library, choose the Main Library. Press confirm hold to reserve the book. You will receive an email to your student email when the book is available to collect.

How do I return my books? The Library has a Book Drop Box in the Reception area of the Main Building open Monday - Friday 9 am-5 pm. Books can be dropped in here and they will be removed from your account. No fines will be charged during this period. 

Scan & Deliver

Scan and deliver, new summer services

SCAN & DELIVER is a new service to facilitate access to book chapters and journal articles for all staff and students over the summer.                                           

Complete the form below to identify the material you are looking for and the library team will email to confirm that we have the materials for you. 

Required: You will need your AIT number to complete the form  and let us know whether you want an item emailed to you as a PDF or send in the post.                                                                                       

How do I search for items that I want to be scanned? From the Library Catalogue, follow the instructions below:

  • Search for the book or journal for which you are looking
  • Click on the item that you wish to request to find full details of the item
  • Fill out the form to place the request and put in as much information as possible, esp pages or chapter title you are interested in)
  • Follow up with the Library team on library@ait.ie if you have any questions. The Library team will let you know if there are any copyright restrictions on the materials you request.

What items from the collection are available for the Scan & Deliver Service? Material from all physical items in our collection (books and journals) can be requested. Requests for chapters from books or articles that are available in our online collections will not be accepted.

How do I order an item from the Scan & Deliver Service? Fill out this form and the library will be in touch to let you know we have it available. 

What copyright issues impact my request? The Library will confirm that all materials provided through this service adhere to current copyright legislation. Current laws allow for the copying of one chapter per book or one article per journal issue not exceeding 10% of the work; When you request a scan, all users agree to abide by the conditions of the copyright declaration for each item which covers the following: 

  • that you have not previously requested or been provided with a copy of the requested materials
  • that the materials, once supplied, is not for commercial purposes and will only be used for study, research or education purposes
  • that you will not share the material with others

Do I need to return items I get through this service? PDF scans or printed chapters shared with you do not need to be returned to the Library.

Book Drop Box

Book drop box, new summer servicesBook Drop Box is an updated service from AIT Library to allow staff and students to return books without having to come right into the Library spaces. The Book Drop Box is located beside the Reception are in the Main Building on AIT campus in Athlone. All books that are currently on loan can be returned here and will be removed from your account by the Library team. All fines will be cancelled. This service is available Monday - Fridays 9am-5pm.

AIT Students and Staff can also drop books back to Laois Public Libraries or to other Institute of Technology libraries and they will be returned to AIT Library. Students in other Irish Institutes of Technology can also return library books to AIT Library and we will ensure that they are returned to your home library. 

What times can I drop books to Laois/Ofally Libraries? AIT Library books can be dropped at three brances of Laois Public Libraries at the locations and times below:

undefined

 

Do I need to let you know that I have dropped books back? No, there is no need for any additional contact with the library. Any items left in the Book Drop Box will be cleared from your account. 

Are returned items put into quarantine? All returned items will be quarantined for a number of days and then will be available for loans. 

Library Live Sessions

undefinedWith Repeat Assessments nearly upon us the Library team are offering Library Live Workshops to support your preparation and find sources for your assignments. Sign up for an online session: https://bit.ly/2Xy7a30  

Searching Tips for Your Assignments
This session will provide search tips for assignments which will help to:

  • Recognise the types of sources that meet your needs depending on your assignment topic and length
  • Identify and use the key words for searching in your topic area on the Library platforms
  • Understand the range of search results related to Library collections
  • Connect with your Library team for any further queries or supports

Workshop Dates & Times: 

Friday 7th August: 11am-11.45am
Monday 10th August: 2pm-2.45pm
Tuesday 11th August: 11am-11.45am
Wednesday 12th August: 2pm-2.45pm

Sign Up here: https://bit.ly/2Xy7a30 and the Library team will send you a calendar invite to the session you have picked.

Expression of Interest in Library Space Access in support of repeats: The Library are seeking expressions of interest from students who might wish to access the LIbrary for study space or computer access during the repeats period. Fill out the relevant part of this form to let us know your interest. Study Space is for a desk and chair in the Library space. There is a space to indicate if you would prefer computer access. We are currently investigating the options for study space/computer access and will confirm by email what arrangements can be made for your particular needs. This form will help us understand the demand for space access. https://bit.ly/2Xy7a30