It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library guide for Researchers/Postgraduates: Finding Resources
Academic Source CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
Business Source CompleteCoverage: accounting, economics, finance, international business and management. Also includes full-text books, company profiles, country economic reports, market research reports, trade journals and business magazines.
EMERALDAcademic journal articles, often with a practical slant, covering business (management, marketing, accountancy, human resource management and information management. Excellent database. Articles with green ticks are available in fulltext.
Financial Times OnlineFT.com (Financial Times Online). The Financial Times is a powerful research tool containing all the latest financial news, instant, incisive analysis and exclusive global reports. Available both on and off campus.
Health Research PremiumOver 4,500 full text health and medical journals
Plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more
Your single point of access for many types of content such as Business and Management
Why should I use an individual database instead of doing all my searches on Discover@AIT?
Discover@AIT allows you to search for a range of sources we have available on any given topic but once you start to research a topic in more depth you will want more flexibility to save your results and keep up to date with new publications.
Most databases allow you to save searches and set up saved search alerts that send you any new items that matches your search. This is one of the advantages of using the database directly rather than always using Discover@AIT.
Procedures for subscribing to email or RSS alerts vary for different databases. Check with your Subject Librarian.
Different Terminology Allocated to Journal Articles
Journals are basically Academic magazines.
The following list provides some basic explanations of the types of resources you are likely to be required to use in your assessments:
Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals: journals which are of a high academic standard due to being reviewed by academics in the field (may also be referred to as academic journals)
Periodical: a synonym for journal, but basically means they are published on a regular basis such as monthly
News: some sources may contain articles which can be used in research but sources may vary in quality. The Irish Times is a good source of news while tabloids are not.
Academic Journals: basically the same as peer-reviewed journals
Reviews: reviews of scholarly resources are often included in academic journals but they are not in themselves academic
Magazines: a journal of sorts but not necessarily peer-reviewed so be careful of including them as an academic source.
Research@THEA is an open access repository established in 2017 containing research from all the Institutes of Technology. Research@THEA is a free electronic resource where you can search the entire collections of the Institute of Technologies research output in a single search or alternatively you can opt to search the research from a single Institute using the Institutes's individual site details.
The British Library has set up EThOS, a service which enables individuals to register on their website and access UK PhD theses. EThOS currently provides details of more than 300,000 theses, many of which are available electronically and can be downloaded from EThOS. After searching, click into ‘Pricing and Delivery’ – this will show the details of theses along with delivery options, turnaround times and cost (if any)
Open access repository which provides free access to research outputs produced by staff and researchers at a number of colleges and universities based in New Zealand including eprints, research papers, journal articles, conference papers, reports, theses.
In Ireland and the UK, thesis usually means an unpublished work submitted for a doctoral degree (Ph.D) while a dissertation is awork produced at undergraduate or masters' level. Terminology is different in other countries.
In Ireland and the UK, Thesis is either for a doctoral or a master's degree.
Dissertation is either for a master's or a bachelor's degree with honours.
Exegesis is the written component of a practice-based thesis where the major output is a creative
work; e.g. a film, artwork, novel.
However, to add to the confusion
In some other parts of the world such as North America, a dissertation may be for a doctoral degree and a thesis for a master's degree.