Identify Resources
During your time in AIT, you will refer to a variety of resources:
• Books
• Journal Articles
• Newspapers
• Theses
• Conference Proceedings
• Reports
• Patents & Standards
• Websites (quality)
copyright © 2016 | Begin Your Research tutorial content by permission from UC Irvine Libraries' Department of Education and Outreach.
Discover@AIT searches across many of the library's resources including:
& much more
Discover@AIT does not
- Completely cover all the databases the library subscribes to.
- Have the advanced features specific databases provide.
Library Catalogue searches books, periodicals, theses, collections, dvds etc. carried by AIT Library
Library Databases may be subject specific or multidisciplinary, allowing access to reliable quality, scholarly and peer reviewed articles, content includes:
& much more.
Find journals and journal articles
Journals are collections of articles that are published on a regular basis to report current research within a discipline.
A journal is made up of a number of volumes
Each volume is made up of individual issues
Each issue of a journal is made up of journal articles
Journal articles report specific aspects of the research covered by a journal
Scholarly Databases are there to help you search across a wide range of articles on a particular topic
Where do you go to find information for your projects, essays, assignments and reports? Where do you go to find authoritative, credible and current information? Where do you go to find information that you can trust and which does not have to be tediously evaluated for authority, credibility and currency? Even better, where can you find information easily, quickly and it even gives you the citation already formatted for you for the particular referencing format required by your lecturers. The answer is: library databases.
What is a library database? A library database is an indexed collection of magazine, journal, newspaper articles, abstracts, and other information, which has been checked for accuracy and reliability by publishers and then licensed for distribution in online/electronic format.