Animal & Plant Health AssociationThe Animal and Plant Health Association (APHA) is the representative body for manufacturers and sole distributors of animal health (veterinary medicines) and plant health (plant protection/agrochemical) products in Ireland
Health Products Regulatory AuthorityWe are the Health Products Regulatory Authority (HPRA) and we regulate medicines and devices for the benefit of people and animals.
We use our scientific and clinical expertise to review and monitor health products available in Ireland or exported abroad. Our aim is to make sure that the health products we regulate are as safe as possible and do what they are intended to do.
Irish Veterinary Journal - Open accessIrish Veterinary Journal is an open access journal with a vision to make a substantial contribution to the dissemination of evidence-based knowledge that will promote optimal health and welfare of both domestic and wild species of animals
Irish Veterinary Nurses AssociationRepresenting and Supporting Irish Veterinary Nurses Nationwide
The IVNA is a voluntary organisation and acts as the voice of its members in protecting and promoting the Veterinary Nursing profession within Ireland.
The IVNA is the only representative organisation for Veterinary Nurses in the Republic of Ireland. The association promotes animal health, care and welfare and fosters a need to cultivate the highest standard of veterinary nursing through the continuing advancement of professional development and ongoing education.
Veterinary Council of IrelandThe principal function of the Council is to regulate and manage the practice of veterinary medicine and veterinary nursing in the State in the public interest.
Veterinary Officers AssociationThe VOA is a registered trade union affiliated to the Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU).
The VOA represents veterinary practitioners registered with the Veterinary Council of Ireland who are employees of a Department of State, including those on approved career breaks or secondment.
For over 60 years the VOA has provided effective negotiation, representation and back-up services to the veterinary practitioners employed in the State Veterinary Service.
The VOA aims to protect and promote the interests of members, to maintain and improve the conditions of their employment, and to provide and maintain such services for the benefit of members as may be approved from time to time.
BestBets for VetsAbout BETs
Simple reviews of current best evidence to answer specific clinical questions.
The British Veterinary Nursing AssociationThe BVNA was formed in 1965 and is the only national representative body for veterinary nurses.
To empower veterinary nurses to develop as individuals and increase their impact on the profession, animal health and welfare
Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary MedicineThe Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine (CEVM) was founded in 2009 by Dr Rachel Dean (Director) and Dr Marnie Brennan (Deputy Director). We are now a multidisciplinary team of veterinary and non-veterinary, clinical and non-clinical researchers working in a number of areas.
The CEVM is based at the School of Veterinary Medicine and Science at the University of Nottingham. We work with various groups within the School, the University and the veterinary profession. We also have important and close working relationships with a number of veterinary practices to ensure our work is relevant and useful to practitioners.
Our website provides information about on-going projects and useful resources for the veterinary profession to promote the use of Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine principles.
International Cat CareInternational Cat Care is a charity founded in 1958 by a small group of very passionate cat lovers, who were compelled to do something about the dismal lack of information about cat health and welfare. Over 60 years later, we are still working hard to improve the health and wellbeing of all cats everywhere, working towards a world where each cat’s life experience will be as good as it can be.
The Merck Veterinary ManualThe Merck Veterinary Manual is the single most comprehensive electronic reference for animal care information. It is brought to you as a service of Merck & Co., Inc., providing quality medical information on a not-for-profit basis for more than 100 years.
National Association of Animal HealthWe are NOAH, the association representing the UK animal health industry: our aim is to promote the benefits of safe, effective, quality products and services for the health and welfare of all animals.
Royal College of Veterinary SurgeonsWe aim to enhance society through improved animal health and welfare. We do this by setting, upholding and advancing the educational, ethical and clinical standards of veterinary surgeons and veterinary nurses.
VetlifeTo provide support to members of the UK veterinary community and their families who have emotional, health or financial concerns, whilst seeking ways to prevent such situations in the future.
The veterinary community continues to experience significantly higher levels of depression and suicide than the general population. Vetlife works to ensure that those engaged in the veterinary community are aware of available assistance, and signposts them to sources of help should they, or a colleague, be in need of support. Support needs vary according to circumstance and may involve short-term support to cope with an immediate crisis or longer term support for those affected by age, ill health or disability.
International Veterinary Information ServiceInternational Veterinary Information Service (IVIS) is a not-for-profit organization established to provide information to veterinarians, veterinary students, technicians and animal health professionals worldwide using Internet technology
Veterinary Practice NewsVeterinary Practice News is a USA based business-to-business magazine for veterinarians and veterinary support staff published monthly
AGRISSince 1974, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) has provided support to its member countries to make their research outputs visible and accessible through the International System for Agricultural Science and Technology (AGRIS); one of the most comprehensive search engines in food and agricultural scientific literature providing free access to millions of bibliographic records in 113 different languages.
BioMedCentral (BMC)At BMC we are dedicated to publishing the best open access journals across our portfolio of over 250 titles and are always striving to drive progress in biology, health sciences and medicine.
With over 20 years of expertise in pioneering open access, you can trust our extensive experience to deliver high quality, impactful research and provide a supportive publishing experience for authors. If you believe, like we do, that openness, transparency and community focus should be at the heart of research publishing, then we would like to welcome you to the BMC family of journals.
BMC is part of Springer Nature.
DOAJDirectory of open access journals
About DOAJ
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
OPEN - DOAJ is a vital part of the global open access infrastructure.
GLOBAL – DOAJ is a global community, with team members, ambassadors and volunteers based in 45 countries around the world, speaking 36 languages.
TRUSTED – Globally, DOAJ's criteria have become a gold standard for open access publishing.
Ethos (UK Theses)A web resource that provides free access to a small portion of full text UK doctoral theses. Note: patrons have to register themselves on the EThOS website in order to access electronic theses. However, the site can be searched without having to register.
Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic InvestigationThe Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation is the official journal of the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians. The mission of the Journal is to educate by informing readers of progress in veterinary laboratory medicine and related fields of endeavor. The key objectives of the JVDI are to promote the science of veterinary laboratory medicine and the betterment of animal and public health.
OpenDoarOpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
PICO.vetPICO.vet is designed to help veterinary clinicians, researchers, librarians and others build a well-structured and focused clinical question that interactively searches the biomedical literature. Search terms are refined to support veterinary medicine when compared with the more widely known PICO models (see below) developed for human medicine.
PubMedPubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Research@TheaResearch@THEA is an Open Access repository, established in 2017. It contains research from Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art Design + Technology, Atlantic Technological University, South-East Technological University (Carlow Campus), and Technological University of the Shannon: Midlands Midwest (Athlone). You can search across all collections from the contributing Institutes or search research from a single Institute by browsing their collections.
SCIENCEOPENScienceOpen is a discovery platform with interactive features for scholars to enhance their research in the open, make an impact, and receive credit for it. We provide context building services for publishers, to bring researchers closer to the content than ever before. Our advanced search and discovery functions, combined with post-publication peer review, recommendation, social sharing, and collection-building features make ScienceOpen the only research platform you’ll ever need.
Veterinary Research - OAVeterinary Research is an open access journal that publishes high quality and novel research and review articles focusing on all aspects of infectious diseases and host-pathogen interaction in animals. Food animals, companion animals, equines, wild animals (if the infections are of zoonotic interest and/or in relation with domestic animals), laboratory animals and animal models of human infections are considered. Studies on zoonotic and emerging infections are highly appreciated.
VettimesYou can create your own free online login and e mail alert here
Disclaimer
We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions
AgrilandAn Irish focused Agricultural news site (free).
Animal health IrelandAn industry-led, not-for-profit partnership between livestock producers, processors, animal health providers and government.
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe BHL is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.
The International Council for Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI)The International Council for Scientific and Technical Information (ICSTI) served as an instrumental partner since the launch of WorldWideScience.org and continues as a value-driven, member-based association of public, private, and nonprofit scientific, technical, and medical libraries and organizations.
Irish Cattle Breeding FederationWhat is the National Genotyping Programme?
The National Genotyping Programme is a collaborative initiative enabling Ireland to take the first step in achieving a fully genotyped national herd. Based on a cost-sharing model between the Department of Agriculture, Food & the Marine, the beef & dairy industry & participating farmers. Genotyping the national herd will provide a huge opportunity for both the Dairy and Beef industry accelerate in the rates of gain of our national breeding indexes (e.g. EBI, Eurostar & DBI), which will enhance farm sustainability & reduce carbon emissions.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) - Agriculture and FisheriesAn international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Together with governments, policy makers and citizens, they work on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges.
Pasturebase IrelandTeagasc tool used for tracking your own farm's grass growth/needs or for checking county by county grass growth levels.
TeagascThe Agriculture and Food Development Authority – is the national body providing integrated research, advisory and training services to the agriculture and food industry and rural communities.
The World Resources InstituteThe World Resources Institute (WRI) is an environmental think tank that goes beyond research to find practical ways to protect the earth and improve people's lives.
WorldWideScience.OrgWorldWideScience.Org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.
