Sod it! : the depression 'virus' and how to deal with it by
This easy-to-read book will show you how to:
* Recognise and understand the depression `Virus'
* Deal with depression effectively
* Keep your mind healthy and `infection' free
* Be ready to deal with depression in the future
Keys to the cage : how people cope with depression by
This book is about depression in Ireland and chronicles the experiences of 14 different people from all walks of life. Each account is painstakingly honest, but even more than that, it has clearly taken exceptional bravery for each sufferer to tell his/her story. For anyone who has or is suffering from depression, you will never again feel alone in your struggle. For those who haven't, it will give you a great insight into an illness that is very often dismissed or misunderstood. A book of great hope and great courage.
High Life Low Life: living with bipolar disorder by
f you are living with bipolar illness or have a family member with the illness, this book may prove to be of some help. Whilst living with a mental health condition can be extremely difficult it can be a great teacher. By the end of the book you will realise that no mental illness defines you as a person. You’re on the cusp of a life worth living, it’s just a matter of making the next right step.
The Feeling Good Handbook by
Large but easy to read CBT book. Also covers panic, phobias, guilt, inferiority. Has demonstrated effectiveness in clinical trials.
How to cope successfully with depression by
Written by a specialist, this volume in the BMA FAMILY DOCTOR GUIDES has an authoritative and accessible text. It is completely up-to-date, including the latest advances in the diagnosis and treatment of depression and contains practical self-help advice, preventive measures and a list of useful addresses.
The Mindful Way Through Depression by
If you've ever struggled with depression, take heart. Mindfulness, a simple yet powerful way of paying attention to your most difficult emotions and life experiences, can help you break the cycle of chronic unhappiness once and for all. Through insightful lessons drawn from both Eastern meditative traditions and cognitive therapy, they demonstrate how to sidestep the mental habits that lead to despair, including rumination and self-blame, so you can face life's challenges with greater resilience.
A day called hope : a personal journey beyond depression by
For years Gareth O'Callaghan, one of Ireland's most popular broadcasters, suffered severe depression. Now fully recovered and no longer on anti-depressants, he has emerged with a deep understanding of how depression takes hold - and how to loosen its grasp.
Here he shares his insight, practical knowledge, and convictions in a mission to spread hope to all those affected by it.
Undoing depression : what therapy doesn't teach you and medication can't give you by
Anyone who has learned to do depression can learn how to undo it. Recognising that medication is not a magic cure, Undoing Depression offers a range of therapies, from exercise to self-help and psychotherapy, and includes entirely new chapters on using meditation and the role of stress. O Connor offers new hope and new life for sufferers of depression.
Overcoming mood swings : a self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by 
Overcoming depression for dummies by
Overcoming Depression For Dummies: Is written by an expert team of clinical psychologists and provides step–by–step guidelines on proven therapeutic exercises and ways to implement positive psychology methods
Bipolar Disorder for Dummies by
Understand the realities of bipolar disorder When one receives the diagnosis that they or a loved one has bipolar disorder, it can be a time of fear and worry. Bipolar Disorder For Dummies, 3rd Edition explains the brain chemistry behind the disease and covers the latest medications and therapies. You'll get reassuring, sound advice and self-help techniques that you and your loved ones, including kids and teens, can use to ease and eliminate symptoms, function in times of crisis, plan ahead for manic or depressive episodes, and feel a whole lot better. This new edition will include new and updated content on genetics, biochemistry, and imaging studies relevant to bipolar, expanded coverage on how to handle the high costs of treatment, and supporting a loved one (who may not want help, medications and treatment options, including DSM-5, ECT, and TMS along with new coverage on special populations (how bipolar affects different groups, like women and various ethnic groups and special populations, like seniors and expectant moms. Bipolar disorder, which has also been called manic-depressive illness, is a brain disorder that causes unusual mood swings and shifting energy levels. The symptoms of bipolar disorder can, if not understood and handled properly, wreak havoc on personal and professional relationships. Though bipolar disorder is a serious condition, it's one that can be treated! With a firm understanding of what you're dealing with, you can navigate your way through the challenges of bipolar disorder, whether you or a loved one suffers from this illness. Recognize the warning signs of mania and depression, which may point to bipolar disorder Understand where to find the latest treatment options Stay on track with personal and professional aspects of life Effectively and compassionately respond to rants, depression, mania, and other behaviors associated with bipolar disorder Bipolar Disorder For Dummies, 3rd Edition offers straightforward, reassuring information about bipolar disorder to help you or your loved one conquer the disease.
Shoot the damn dog : a memoir of depression by
"Shoot the Damn Dog" blasts the stigma of depression as a character flaw and confronts the illness Winston Churchill called 'the black dog', a condition that humiliates, punishes and isolates its sufferers. It is a personal account of a journey through (and out of) severe depression, as well as being a practical book, offering ideas about what might help.
The devil within : a memoir of depression by
'I was nearly twenty before I understood that there was a name for what sometimes happened to me. Later, I learned that it has gone by many names - the black dog, the bell jar, the noonday demon, darkness visible, malignant sadness - but in my teens I'd just assumed that my fierce highs and days of disproportionate, isolating despair were part of every teenager's repertoire - how else would Morrissey have sold so many records? Beautifully written and intensely honest this is an extraordinarily moving, life-affirming book about a debilitating illness that affects one in six people in the UK alone.
The Mindful Way Through Depression by
If you've ever struggled with depression, take heart. Mindfulness, a simple yet powerful way of paying attention to your most difficult emotions and life experiences, can help you break the cycle of chronic unhappiness once and for all. [Description supplied by publisher]
Healing Anxiety and Depression by
Dr. Daniel Amen-a pioneer in uncovering the connections between the brain and behavior-presents his revolutionary approach to treating anxiety and depressive disorders. Healing Anxiety and Depression reveals the major anxiety and depression centers of the brain, offers guidelines and diagnostic tools to determine the specific type of anxiety and depression, and provides a comprehensive program for treating each type.
Anxiety & depression workbook for dummies by
Anxiety & Depression Workbook For Dummies provides readers with practical exercises and worksheets to help them analyse their thinking patterns and overcome the issues that are holding them back. The workbook format is ideal for those wanting to track their progress and make positive changes to both their mental and physical health.
The Depths by
Drawing on recent developments in the science of mood--and his own harrowing depressive experience as a young adult--Rottenberg explains depression in evolutionary terms, showing how its dark pull arises from adaptations that evolved to help our ancestors ensure their survival. The Depths offers a bold new account of why depression endures--and makes a strong case for de-stigmatizing this increasingly common condition. In so doing, Rottenberg offers hope in the form of his own and other patients recovery, and points the way towards new paths for treatment.
Healing Depression the Mind-Body Way by
Ayurveda is the worlds oldest system of natural medicine, originating in India thousands of years ago. Yoga, now practiced by tens of millions of Americans, is derived from it. This unique book reveals the ancient yet ultramodern Ayurvedic perspective on depression. Filled with time-tested techniques to untangle the root of depression, it offers a holistic approach that includes wisdom on yoga, breathing techniques, meditation, nutrition, exercise, lifestyle, and spirituality.
Living with depression : how to cope when your partner is depressed by
When Caroline Carr’s partner of 20 years became depressed, it was a shock. But slowly she learnt the techniques she needed to cope without being dragged down herself, and was inspired to write this book.
Mind over Mood by
A Reading Well: Books on Prescription Title Winner of the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Book of Merit Award. [Description supplied by publisher]
Yoga for Depression by
Take the natural path to mental wellness More than 25 million Americans are treated with antidepressants each year, at a cost in excess of $50 billion. But the side effects of popular prescription drugs may seem nearly as depressing as the symptoms they’re meant to treat. Veteran yoga instructor Amy Weintraub offers a better solution—one that taps the scientifically proven link between yoga and emotional well-being as well as the beauty of ancient approaches to inner peace.
Overcoming grief : a self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by
A practical and healing guide to the serious problems that can arise from bereavement. [Description supplied by publisher]
How to cope successfully with anxiety and depression by
We live in stressful times and have to cope on a daily basis with a variety of different pressures. These can include financial worries, emotional stresses, bereavement, break-up of relationships and insecurity at work. When feeling well and resilient we are able to cope with a wide range of these stressful situations. It is when we become mentally and emotionally overloaded at a vulnerable time in our lives that we can suffer from symptoms of anxiety or depression.
Depressive illness : the curse of the strong by
This best-selling book, written by a leading consultant psychiatrist, explains that people with depression do battle with pressures and stresses that other people would run away from, until their bodies can take no more. In this book, depression is placed authoritatively as a physical illness, from which recovery is possible.
Depression Fallout by
Using the vivid, poignant and personal stories of the members of a website support group she founded (www.depressionfallout.com), Anne Sheffield, the author of two highly acclaimed books on depression, provides an honest record of what happens to a love relationship once depression enters the picture, and offers solid advice on what the non-depressed partner can do to improve his or her own life and the relationship.
Depression: the commonsense approach by
Accessible. Slim book. Compassionate and practical. CBT strategies and more. Good first book.