Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TUS Logo

Academic Year 2021-22

Guide to services, spaces & supports

Book a Study Space

SEAT BOOKING UPDATESeats normally bookable (1-38) are currently unavailable due to onsite works. Seating in the central area of the library, high task seating and the Nursing Library are available for study until Monday 19th August 2022. Computers currently available onsite are in the Print Room and printers remain available. 
Seats 1-38 are bookable online: https://booked.ait.ie 
Instructions for Seat Booking: https://library.ait.ie/services/study-spaces/ 
Central library seating areas are walk-in spaces, no need to book.


Bookable spaces: Students can book a study space in the Library online before arriving (Seats 1-38 bookable, window seats) in the space or drop into the staff at the desk who can book you in. Bookings are in two hour slots and multiple bookings can be made.  

Walk-in, first come, first served spaces: All of the rest of the library spaces in the main body of the library are walk-in spaces, no need to book.

For all library seats:  Students must wear masks in the library spaces at all times. Sanitation stations are in place throughout the Library for cleaning down desks, computers and printers before and after use and for hand hygiene after browsing collections. 

Contact the library team on Live Chat from the library website or on library@ait.ie for any queries.

Book a PC

BOOK YOUR COMPUTER SPACE ONLINE: https://library.ait.ie/services/bookapc/ including instructions. 

Students can book a computer in the library online before arriving in the space or drop into the staff at the desk who can book you in. For all bookings, students need to come into the library desk to confirm they are onsite to start booking. Computers are socially distanced to support safe study in the library. Sanitation stations will be in place throughout the Library for cleaning down desks and hand hygiene. 

Contact the library team on Live Chat from the library website or on library@ait.ie for any queries.

Clinics & Classes - Library Live Sessions

Online Library Skills sessions on our Zoom Channel this week. Just click the title of the session you wan to join Passcode is Feb123

Thursday 07 April 3pm: Pre-exam Library Q&A

Saturday 09 April 10am: Pre-exam Library Q&A

 

Moodle Video recordings - see the videos here of the recent library sessions

***

How-to Videos

Students have 24/7 access to all online collections and access to TUS Library Midlands videos on our YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/aitlibrary/featured. If you had a library class and want follow-up slides resent, email us library@ait.ie.

Library Live Chat is available from the Library website Monday - Friday 9am-5pm & via email, library@ait.ie 

 

 

Click & Collect Service

CLICK & COLLECT is a service from TUS Midlands Library supporting access to pre-order physical books for collection from the library service desk - 24-hour turn around normally. You can place a hold on a book from the library catalogue and collect the item in the Library at the service desk during opening hours. 

You will need your TUS network login credentials to put a library item on hold through your Library record. Once your hold has been confirmed to your email via the Library system, you can pick it up. If you need additional arrangements to collect the item, email library@ait.ie.

What items from the collection are available for the Click & Collect Service? All current loan collections can be requested and the library team will confirm the item(s) availability in advance of collection by email. If the option to put an item on hold is not available through the catalogue, contact us on library@ait.ie and we will see if it can be made available to you. 

How long will items be held for collection? We will hold the items for 3 days for collection. If you think you will be delayed, please email the library to let us know. If another user is requesting the same book, the item will be released to them. 

Where do I go to pick up Click & Collect items? Enter the Library through the new 'In' entrance from the Library foyer and talk to the staff at the service desk. 

How do I search the catalogue to put items on hold? (Video TutorialFrom the Library Catalogue, follow the instructions below: 

  • Search for the book.
  • Click on the title of the book that you want to place a hold on. ‘Place hold’ button is on the left-hand side of the screen. You will be prompted to log in when you click on it. You use your student number and the password you use for Moodle or to log into the TUS PCs.
  • When you log in you will see ‘confirm holds’. You have the option of collecting the item at the Main Library or the Health Science Library, choose the Main Library. Press confirm hold to reserve the book. You will receive an email to your student email when the book is available to collect.

How do I return my books? The Library has a Book Drop Box in the Library foyer of the Main Building or on Level 1, Nursing Building, for all returned books.

Scan & Deliver Service

SCAN & DELIVER is a new service to facilitate access to book chapters and journal articles for all staff and students.
Complete the form below to identify the material you are looking for and the library team will email to confirm that we have the materials for you. Minimum 24-hour turn around for items that are in library collections.

Required: You will need your TUS student number to complete the form  and let us know whether you want an item emailed to you as a scan or sent in the post.                                                                                       

How do I search for items that I want to be scanned? From the Library Catalogue, follow the instructions below:

  • Search for the book or journal for which you are looking
  • Click on the item that you wish to request to find full details of the item
  • Fill out the form to place the request and put in as much information as possible, esp pages or chapter title you are interested in)
  • Follow up with the Library team on library@ait.ie if you have any questions. The Library team will let you know if there are any copyright restrictions on the materials you request.

What items from the collection are available for the Scan & Deliver Service? Material from all physical items in our collection (books and journals) can be requested. Requests for chapters from books or articles that are available in our online collections will not be accepted.

How do I order an item from the Scan & Deliver Service? Fill out this form and the library will be in touch to let you know we have it available. 

What copyright issues impact my request? The Library will confirm that all materials provided through this service adhere to current copyright legislation. Current laws allow for the copying of one chapter per book or one article per journal issue not exceeding 10% of the work; When you request a scan, all users agree to abide by the conditions of the copyright declaration for each item which covers the following: 

  • that you have not previously requested or been provided with a copy of the requested materials
  • that the materials, once supplied, is not for commercial purposes and will only be used for study, research or education purposes
  • that you will not share the material with others

Do I need to return items I get through this service? PDF scans or printed chapters shared with you do not need to be returned to the Library.

Book Drop Box


The Book Drop Box is for all returning book items so they can be returned at any time the buildings are open. The Book Drop Box is located in the Library foyer in the Main Building on TUS Athlone Campus's main campus and on Level 1 of the Nursing Building on TUS Athlone East Campus. All books that are currently on loan can be returned here and will be removed from your account by the Library team. All fines will be cancelled. 

Do I need to let you know that I have dropped books back? No, there is no need for any additional contact with the library. Any items left in the Book Drop Box will be cleared from your account.