Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar Search Box
What is an Academic Journal?
Journals can be called many things, serials, periodicals or magazines. Journals are published at regular intervals under the same title. They contain articles relating to a specific subject area. Academic journals are the most relevant for research purposes. Articles in academic journals are usually refereed (also called peer-reviewed). Academic articles are available through Databases such as EBSCO SocIndex and many more. Databases can be searched individually through the Collections/ Databases tab on the Library website or through Discovery@AIT on the Library Website main page
Academic Journal Databases
All-Academic Journal databases are available under the Collections/ Databases/ A-Z listings tab or though Discovery@AIT on the AIT library website.
Open access sources allow access to academic articles outside databases and are available through resources such as Google Scholar, the AIT Institutional Repository, Directory of Open Access Journals, and other areas.
Some Relevant Databases
Academic Source Complete Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect Search a database providing Scientific, Business, Accounting, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect is an excellent database providing access to fulltext and abstracts.
Scopus Coverage: Launched in 2004 by Elsevier. Peer-reviewed journals, books and conferences in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Plus tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
Database access off-Campus
All Databases are available both on and off the college campus (with Internet Access).
Databases are accessed through AIT Library using your college single sign-on credentials. Click 'My Library Record' tab on the main library webpage to sign-in
Academic Journal example: Veterinary Pathology