All-Academic Journal databases are available under the Collections/ Databases/ A-Z listings tab or though Discover search on the TUS Midlands Library main webpage
Open access sources allow access to academic articles outside databases and are available through resources such as Google Scholar, the Institutional Repository, Directory of Open Access Journals, and other areas. See Guide to Open Access Educational Materials
Some Relevant Databases
Discover: Cross search the TUS databases and catalogue
SocINDEX (EBSCO) is a sociology research database. It contains full text for 708 journals dating back to 1908 and also includes full text for more than 780 books and monographs and full text for 9,333 conference papers.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
PsycARTICLES (Proquest): Full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals
PsycInfo (Proquest): Index and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress: Index and abstracts of literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
PubMed: PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites.
Science Direct (Elsevier): Search a database providing Scientific, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect offers immediate access to the abstracts, journal and reference work articles needed for research. It contains over 6 million articles and 60 million abstracts from over 1,800 journals.
Wiley Journal Database: Journal Access Only. Wiley provides access to over 8 million articles from approximately 1,600 journals. Titles cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.
Journals can be called many things, serials, periodicals or magazines. Journals are published at regular intervals under t
he same title. They contain articles relating to a specific subject area.
Academic journals are the most relevant for research purposes. Articles in academic journals are usually refereed (also called peer-reviewed). Academic articles are available through Databases such as EBSCO SocIndex and many more. Databases can be searched individually through the Collections/ Databases tab on the Library website or through Discover on the Library Website main page