| Economics | 330 |
| Law | 340 |
| Management | 658 |
Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor.
Essentials of Irish Business Law by 
Selling and Sales Management by 
Marketing Concepts and Strategies by 
Philosophy of Management and Sustainability by 
The Taxation of Companies 2018 by 
Everyday Problem Solving by
Psychological, educational, gerontological, marketing, and other literatures all report recent research in everyday problem solving, yet few sources have made these various types of results available in one state-of-the-art volume. Everyday Problem Solving makes accessible many of these points of view for all readers, coordinates them, and provides directions from which to formulate new studies. The wide but methodical scope of this work will interest researchers, clinicians, philosophers, marketing specialists, administrators, artificial intelligence scientists, educators, guidance counselors and psychologists. Undergraduate and graduate students in these fields will also find this an invaluable source. The collection of reports includes an examination of models from information processing theory and postformal cognitive developmental theory, and an overview of the tasks used in everyday problem solving research. Several leading theories, including Sinnott's, are applied to describe the thoughts and emotions of adults as they solve illstructured problems. Reports on applied research include: techniques of master teachers; the ways adults resolve conflicts; consumer behavior; academic intelligence; the connection of memory to problem solving; intervention strategies and the elderly.
Introduction to International Environmental Law by
Introduction to International Environmental Law provides a concise overview of international environmental law and the relations and agreements among nations to facilitate environmental protection. Beginning by exploring the history nature and sources of international environmental law, Professor Koivurova moves on to consider the key principles as well as examining the implementation and effectiveness of international environmental law in practice. It considers how international environmental law has developed away from other branches of international law which are heavily based on state sovereignty, in order to more effectively facilitate environmental protection and concludes by posing questions about the future of the field. Taking a concise, accessible approach throughout and employing case studies drawn from a global range of examples, this book is the ideal first point of entry to the context, principles and issues of this important subject.
Management by
Master the process of management with the skills-based, functional approach in Griffin's MANAGEMENT, 13E. Timely content focuses on active planning, leading, organizing and controlling as you examine emerging management topics. New discussions explore the impact of technology, the importance of a green business environment, the need to adapt in changing times, ethical challenges and the role of diversity. This is one of the first management books to examine the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and its resulting economic turmoil. New cases and updated learning features support an effective balance of classic theory and contemporary practice. Hundreds of current examples highlight organizations such as Starbucks, Hilton Hotels, Quicken Loans and Honey Pot. New MindTap digital resources further guide you in thinking and acting like a successful manager with learning, application and study modules for each chapter. Immediate feedback and links to the printed book help you prepare for exams.
Supply Chain Management in the 21st Century by
Economies are increasingly dependent on supply chains, which have grown enormously in the 21st century. The textbook Supply Chain Management in the 21st Centuryprepares students in business and management sciences for this new reality. It is primarily written for undergraduate students, but is also suitable for MBA courses. The book is also a welcome addition to the curricula of technical courses in the field of industrial design and production technology. Supply Chain Management in the 21st Centurystrives for a combination of theoretical insights and models, on the one hand, and practical applications on the other. The examples and the institutional framework discussed in the book are mostly from the European Union. Where other textbooks are mostly descriptive and qualitative, or quantitative with a focus on mathematical modelling, this book fills a gap by taking an intermediate position between these two approaches. There is an Instructor's Manual available with the book, and the Excel figures are available in Excel. If you are a tutor, contact marketing@aup.nl to request them. Click here to download the Index of the book. Erratum to the book.
Welfare, Inequality and Social Citizenship by
Exploring the lived realities of both poverty and prosperity in the UK, this book examines the material and symbolic significance of welfare austerity and its implications for social citizenship and inequality. The book offers a rare and vivid insight into the everyday lives, attitudes and behaviours of the rich as well as the poor, demonstrating how those marginalised and validated by the existing welfare system make sense of the prevailing socio-political settlement and their own position within it. Through the testimonies of both affluent and deprived citizens, the book problematises dominant policy thinking surrounding the functions and limits of welfare, examining the civic attitudes and engagements of the rich and the poor, to demonstrate how welfare austerity and rising structural inequalities secure and maintain institutional legitimacy. The book offers a timely contribution to academic and policy debates pertaining to citizenship, welfare reform and inequality.
Policy Failures and the Irish Economic Crisis by 
Redesigning Organizational Sustainability Through Integrated Reporting by
This book explores the role of accounting and reporting practices, such as corporate and integrated reports, as organizations attempt to represent sustainability. By relying upon the case of a large international oil and gas company and its recent development of integrated reporting, this book argues that the ambiguity of sustainability as a concept, and the impossibility to fully capture it through accounting and reporting practices, does not mean that any attempt to represent it inevitably leads to distortion or obfuscates 'reality'. Rather, the way in which this concept is presented through accounting and reporting practices can have a constructive effect on the organization through the aspirations that these representations entail. The book demonstrates that accounting and reporting practices, such as integrated reporting, are not expected to offer complete representations of organizations' sustainability. Rather, these practices offer a number of representations (e.g. graphs, diagrams, tables, grid) that affect the way in which organizations understand and report on sustainability, changing its meaning over time. Finally, this study demonstrates that undefined concepts, such as 'sustainability', and practices, such as 'integrated reporting', mutually construct each other. The attempt to represent sustainability within the organization and the debates that this process generates, make accounting and reporting practices unfold themselves, and evolve. The book will be of interest to scholars in the field of accounting, management and sustainability, as well as practitioners from a wide array of additional fields, such as planning and control, organizations' strategy, business ethics, corporate social responsibility and corporate reporting.
Skills in Neighbourhood Work by
Skills in Neighbourhood Work is a practice textbook. It explains the skills, knowledge and techniques needed by community workers and other practitioners to work effectively in and with communities. While the principles and methods it describes have stood the test of time, the political, economic and social changes which have taken place since the book was first published have made new editions essential. Rewritten and updated to include new practice examples, this fifth edition retains all the practical information needed by the student or practitioner but sets it in the contemporary context. Including a European perspective and views from North America and Australia, it covers: starting, supporting and ending work with community groups evaluation data collection goals and priorities making contacts group work helping groups work with other organisations. This invaluable textbook is essential reading for students and practitioners of community work.
Sustainability Accounting and Accountability by
Sustainability accounting and accountability is fundamental in the pursuit of low-carbon and less unsustainable societies. Highlighting that accounting, organisations and economic systems are intertwined with sustainability, the book discusses how sustainability accounting and accountability broaden the spectrum of information used in organisational decision-making and in evaluating organisational success. The authors show how sustainability accounting can prove to be transformative, but only if critical questions are sufficiently addressed. This new and completely rewritten edition provides a comprehensive overview of sustainability accounting and accountability. Relevant global context and key concepts are outlined providing the reader with the conceptual resources to engage with the topic. Drawing on the most recent research and topical practical insights, the book discusses a wide variety of sustainability accounting and accountability topics, including management accounting and organisational decision-making, sustainability reporting frameworks and practices, as well as ESG-investments, financial markets and risk management. The book also highlights the role accounting has with key sustainability issues through dedicated chapters on climate, water, biodiversity, human rights and economic inequality. Each chapter is supplemented with practical examples and academic reading lists to allow in-depth engagement with the key questions. Sustainability Accounting and Accountability walks the reader through a spectrum of themes which are essential for all accountants and organisations. It helps the reader to understand why our traditional accounting techniques and systems are not sufficient for navigating the contemporary sustainability challenges our societies are facing. This key book will be an essential resource for undergraduate and postgraduate instructors and students, as an entry point to sustainability accounting and accountability, as well as being a vital book for researchers.
Sustainable Packaging Materials by
Sustainable Packaging Materials provides a concise introduction to the principles and practices of packaging sustainability. It addresses the important issues that concern packaging professionals, decision makers, managers, CTOs, legislators, researchers, and students, including the viability and future of recycling, bio- and oxo-degradable materials, and plastics alternatives such as paper, glass, and metal. Also covered are new regulations such as the extended producer responsibility (EPR) laws, their consequences as to what materials are likely to be banned, and whether microplastics should be a concern for packaging companies. Written by an experienced professor, educator, author, inventor, and entrepreneur, this book offers uniquely clear answers to these challenges, helping readers to identify packaging materials that are likely to be phased out to meet new regulations, and to find alternatives to benefit their research and businesses. They will also be equipped to follow guidelines on the use of various packaging materials to stay ahead of the demands of the industry, and to make informed choices about packaging materials by considering sustainability, performance, and cost. Furthermore, they will be informed of the emerging packaging trends in both academia and industry, and understand the issues associated with microplastic pollution, and the actions recommended to mitigate these challenges.
Tomorrow's Lawyers by
In its first and second editions, Tomorrow's Lawyers became an international bestseller, widely read and cited by practitioners and students. The third edition focuses on the law and lawyers in the 2020s.For Richard Susskind, the future of legal service is neither Grisham nor Rumpole. Instead, he predicts a world of online courts, AI-based global legal businesses, disruptive legal technologies, liberalized markets, commoditization, alternative sourcing, simulated practice on the metaverse, and many new legal jobs. This volume is a definitive and updated introduction to this future - for aspiring lawyers, and for all who want to modernize and upgrade our legal and justice systems. It offers practical guidance for everyone intending to build careers and businesses in law.Written in an era of greater technological advance than humanity has ever witnessed, this work is a call to arms: it challenges those who feel that the law and lawyers are somehow immune from technological advance; it draws attention to the unaffordability and inaccessibility of legal service, for businesses and citizens alike; it invites the next generation of lawyers to harness the power of technology in improving and even overhauling the way in which legal and court service is currently provided.Tomorrow's Lawyers identifies new opportunities for lawyers, new ways of helping clients and the community. It enjoins its readers to become involved in building the systems that will replace outmoded forms of legal work. It argues that it is both a privilege and an obligation for tomorrow's lawyers to embrace and bring about change.A must-read for legal undergraduates, aspiring and young lawyers, senior practitioners, leaders in law firms and legal businesses, law professors and law teachers.
