The History of Psychology by
The History of Psychology: Fundamental Questions provides significant excerpts from the philosophers, theologians, and scientists who contributed to the development of psychology. It also includes more recent works covering issues and ideas in cognitive psychology and neuroscience. Extensivelyclassroom-tested, this anthology addresses a comprehensive range of topics, yet is suitable for use as a core text or as a supplement in a single-semester course on the history of psychology.The History of Psychology offers selections from:DT AristotleDT St. Thomas AquinasDT Rene DescartesDT John LockeDT Immanuel KantDT Hermann EbbinghausDT Charles DarwinDT Margaret Floy WashburnDT Wilhelm WundtDT Jean PiagetDT B.F. SkinnerDT Noam Chomskyand many others. The readings encourage students to consider the foundations of psychology and the questions that led to its emergence as a distinct discipline. Going beyond the presentation and defense of a particular point of view, this collection gives students the opportunity to consider thefundamental questions of psychology. The book is organized into nine thematic sections that are presented chronologically. Each section includes works that cohere thematically to encourage discussion, highlight related topics, and stimulate the classic and more current debates within the field ofpsychology. Every reading is preceded by a brief biography of the author and a note about his or her range of interests and influence.Featuring original works from some of the most important figures in the history of psychology, The History of Psychology is ideal for undergraduate and graduate courses on history and systems in psychology and philosophy of psychology.
Atkinson & Hilgard's Introduction to psychology by 
Introduction to Psychology by
James Kalat's best-selling INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOLOGY does far more than cover major theories and studies; it teaches you how to become better at evaluating information. Hands-on "Try It Yourself" activities and summaries of real research encourage you to ask yourself, "How was this conclusion reached?" and "Does the evidence really support it?" Students praise this streamlined, visually appealing text, which invites you to interact with psychological ideas and expands your preconceived ideas about the field of psychology. As a result, you'll become a savvier consumer of information, not only during your college experience but also as you venture into your post-college life. With his friendly writing style and many learning tools, Kalat puts you at ease and enables you to participate actively in what you are studying.
Psychology Applied to Modern Life by
Filled with comprehensive, balanced coverage of classic and contemporary research, relevant examples, and engaging applications, this text shows you how psychology helps you understand yourself and the complex social world around you. It also uses psychological principles to illuminate the variety of opportunities you have in your life and your future career. While professors cite this bestselling book for its academic credibility and the authors' ability to stay current with ''hot topics,'' students say it's one text they just don't want to stop reading. The text and associated workbook are highly readable, engaging, and visually appealing, providing you with a wealth of material you can put to use every day. Also available: the MindTap online learning experience, featuring an eBook, activities that engage you in thinking about common misconceptions about psychology, animations that introduce key concepts, cool apps (including a text-to-speech reader), and more.
Discovering the Scientist Within by
Gain familarity with each step involved in research methodology as Discovering the Scientist Within breaks down the process within each design chapter, giving you ample practice from start to finish.
Research Methods in Psychology by
Drawing on examples from popular media and journals, author Beth Morling inspires a love of her subject by emphasizing its relevance. Yes, students learn how to design research studies but they also see the value of evaluating research claims they encounter in daily life. The Third Edition builds on this successful foundation by providing new ways for students to practice what they learn. NEW Working It Through examples provide a step-by-step method for evaluating claims start-to-finish, and a NEW adaptive learning tool, InQuizitive, enables students to practice what they've learned and strengthen their comprehension.
The Process of Research in Psychology by
Using diverse examples from published research, the Third Editionof The Process of Research in Psychologyby Dawn M. McBride provides step-by-step coverage on how to design, conduct, and present a research study. Early chapters introduce important concepts for developing research ideas while subsequent "nuts and bolts" chapters provide more detailed coverage of topics and examine the types of research relevant to the field. This logical two-part structure creates an excellent foundation upon which students can build their knowledge of the entire research process.
Undergraduate Writing in Psychology by
Now updated to reflect the changes made from the 5th to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual, this book takes the reader step-by-step through: crafting research questions or theses executing library database searches analysing, evaluating, and synthesising literature drafting specific parts of a paper and more Writing samples, including two full-length student papers in draft, marked-up, and final form, illustrate key concepts such as how to synthesise literature, how revision differs from editing, and how to recognise and avoid plagiarism. Guidance on how to communicate with instructors on a professional level is given, and the book shows examples of checklists and grading rubrics instructors might use. A self-quiz to engage the reader's knowledge of APA style and format is also included, as well as example reference formats and other quick-reference style tools.
Essentials of Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences by
Does the thought of taking a statistics course make your students nervous? Authors Frederick J. Gravetter and Larry B. Wallnau use interesting real-world examples and applications to quell student fears and to reveal the ESSENTIALS OF STATISTICS FOR THE BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES. Students will go beyond thinking of statistics as part of a course they take and will come to appreciate it as a growing field that helps us make sense of data in our information-laden, information-dependent world. Gravetter and Wallnau skillfully demonstrate how having a basic understanding of a variety of statistical procedures will help students understand published findings, as well as become savvy consumers of information. The authors' intuitive, explanatory writing style and use of numerous learning checks allows students to test their understanding before exam time.
Statistics Without Maths for Psychology by
Highly praised for its clear, straightforward approach, Statistics without Maths for Psychology 7th edition provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to statistics and SPSS. This widely used and trusted textbook is packed with examples, activities and questions to help you to test your learning and deepen your understanding in a practical and manageable way. Statistics without Maths for Psychology will help you to gain the confidence to apply statistical concepts and use SPSS to analyse data within your studies and future independent research.
Classic Experiments in Psychology by
The typical survey course in psychology has time for only limited presentation of the research on which our knowledge is based. As a result, many students come away with a limited understanding of the role of experiments in psychological science. Where do experiments come from and how are they conducted? What are the pitfalls and how can we avoid them? What advantages do they have over intuition, authority, and common sense as guides to knowing and acting? What distinguishes research-based psychology from psychobabble? What have we learned from experimentation in psychology? This book presents, in more depth than textbook treatment permits, the background, conduct, and implications of a selection of classic experiments in psychology. The selection is designed to be diverse, showing that even for research in vastly different areas of study, the logic of research remains the same--as do its traps and pitfalls. This book will broaden and deepen the understanding of experimental methods in psychological research, examining where the research questions come from, how questions can be turned into experiments, and how researchers have faced the problems presented by research in psychology.
Lab Manual for Psychological Research by
Packed with checklists and how-to sections, this practical lab manual includes a wealth of hands-on exercises focusing on research methods, research projects, APA style, and avoiding plagiarism. New to the Revised Third Edition are thirteen exercises designed to help students develop some of the more difficult research skills.
Psych Experiments by
Psychology's most famous theories--played out in real life! Forget the labs and lecture halls. You can conduct your very own psych experiments at home! Famous psychological experiments--from Freud's ego to the Skinner box--have changed the way science views human behavior. But how do these tests really work? In Psych Experiments, you'll learn how to test out these theories and experiments for yourself...no psychology degree required! Guided by Michael A. Britt, creator of popular podcast The Psych Files, you can conduct your own experiments when browsing your favorite websites (to test the "curiosity effect"), in restaurants (learning how to increase your tips), when presented with advertisements (you'd be surprised how much you're influenced by the color red), and even right on your smartphone (and why you panic when you can't find it). You'll even figure out how contagious yawning works! With this compulsively readable little book, you won't just read about the history of psychology--you'll live it!
Research design and methods : a process approach by 
Autism and the Brain by
For years, the typical presentation of autism--the developmental delays, the social and linguistic deficits--has been well known. Despite great variation among children with this condition, certain symptoms are considered hallmarks of the disorder. Less understood is why these symptoms come together to construct autism. And as autism rates continue to rise, this information is ever more vital to accurate diagnosis and treatment. Autism and the Brain offers answers by showing a new neuropsychology of the autistic spectrum, reviewing general brain organization, and relating specific regions and structures to specific clinical symptoms. The author identifies deficiencies in areas of the left-hemisphere associated with the self and identity as central to autism. From this primary damage, the brain further reorganizes to compensate, explaining the diverse behaviors among low- and high-functioning individuals as well as autistic savants. The result is a unique three-dimensional view of brain structure, function, and pathology, with in-depth focus on how the autistic brain: Perceives the world. Understands and uses words. Perceives faces. Understands spatial relations and numbers. Understands feelings and registers emotions. Perceives the self as separate from others. Acts in the world. Challenging readers to re-think their assumptions, Autism and the Brain is breakthrough reading for researchers, clinicians, and graduate students in fields as varied as child and adolescent psychiatry; clinical child, school, and developmental psychology; neuroscience/neurobiology; special education and educational psychology; social work; communication disorders; and public health and policy.
Awakenings by
Contents:
Parkinson's Disease and Parkinsonism The sleeping-sickness (Encephalitis Lethargica) The aftermath of the sleeping-sickness (1927-1967) The coming of L-Dopa Awakenings Perspectives Awakening Tribulation Accommodation Epilogue Postscript Appendices A history of the sleeping-sickness 'Miracle' drugs: Freud, William James and Havelock Ellis The electrical basis of awakenings Beyond L-Dopa Parkinsonian space and time Chaos and awakenings Awakenings on stage and screen
Biological Psychology by
Dr. James W. Kalat's BIOLOGICAL PSYCHOLOGY is widely used for good reason: an extremely high level of scholarship, a clear writing style with amusing anecdotes, and precise examples. Kalat's goals are to make biological psychology accessible and to convey the excitement of the search for biological explanations of behavior, and he delivers. Updated with new topics, examples, and recent research findings, the new edition continues this book's tradition of quality.
Biopsychology by
Contents:
Part one.What is biopsychology 1.Biopsychology as a neuroscience Part two. Foundations of biopsychology 2.Evolution, genetics, and experience 3.Anatomy of the nervous system 4.Nerual conduction and synaptic transmission 5.The research methods of biopsychology Part three.Sensory and motor systems 6.The visual systems 7.Mechanisms of perception: hearing, touch, smell, taste, and attention 8.The sensorimotor system Part four.Brain plasticity 9.Development of the nervous system 10.Brain damage and neuroplasticity 11.Learning , memory, and amnesia Part five.Biopsychology of motivation 12.Hunger, eating, and health 13.Hormones and sex 14.Sleep, dreaming, and circadian rhythms 15.Drug use, drug addiction, and the brain's reward circuits Part six.Disorders of cognition and emotion 16.Lateralization, language, and the split brain 17.Biopsychology of emotion, stress and health 18.Biopsychology of psychiatric disorders
Foundations of Behavioral Neuroscience by 
An Introduction to Brain and Behavior by
Contents:
1.What are the origins of brain and behavior? 2.What is the nervous system's functional anatomy? 3.What are the nervous system's functional units? 4.How do neurons use electrical signals to transmit information? 5.How do neurons communicate and adapt? 6.How do drugs and hormones influence the brain and behavior? 7.How do we study the brain's structures and functions? 8.How does the nervous system develop and adapt? 9.How do we sense, perceive, and see the world? 10.How do we heard, speak, and make music? 11.How does the nervous system respond to stimulation and produce movement? 12.What causes emotional and motivated behavior? 13.Why do we sleep and dream? 14.How do we learn and remember? 15.How does the brain think? 16.What happens when the brain misbehaves?
Neuroplasticity by
The real story of how our brains and nervous systems change throughout our lifetimes-with or without "brain training."Fifty years ago, neuroscientists thought that a mature brain was fixed like a fly in amber, unable to change. Today, we know that our brains and nervous systems change throughout our lifetimes. This concept of neuroplasticity has captured the imagination of a public eager for self-improvement-and has inspired countless Internet entrepreneurs who peddle dubious "brain training" games and apps. In this book, Moheb Costandi offers a concise and engaging overview of neuroplasticity for the general reader, describing how our brains change continuously in response to our actions and experiences. Costandi discusses key experimental findings, and describes how our thinking about the brain has evolved over time. He explains how the brain changes during development, and the "synaptic pruning" that takes place before brain maturity. He shows that adult brains can grow new cells (citing, among many other studies, research showing that sexually mature male canaries learn a new song every year). He describes the kind of brain training that can bring about improvement in brain function. It's not gadgets and games that promise to "rewire your brain" but such sustained cognitive tasks as learning a musical instrument or a new language. (Costandi also notes that London cabbies increase their gray matter after rigorous training in their city's complicated streets.) He tells how brains compensate after stroke or injury; describes addiction and pain as maladaptive forms of neuroplasticity; and considers brain changes that accompany childhood, adolescence, parenthood, and aging. Each of our brains is custom-built. Neuroplasticity is at the heart of what makes us human.
The man who mistook his wife for a hat by
Contents:
Part one. Losses 1.The man who mistook his wife for a hat 2.The lost mariner 3.The disembodied lady 4.The man who fell out of bed 5.Hands 6.Phantoms 7.On the level 8.Eyes right! 9.The president's speech Part two - Excesses 10.Wittty Ticcy Ray 11.Cupid's disease 12.A matter of identity 13.Yes, father-sister 14.The possessed Part three - Transports 15.Reminiscence 16.Incontinent nostalgia 17.A passage to India 18.The dog beneath the skin 19.Murder 20.The visions of HIldegard Part four - The world of the simple 21.Rebecca 22.A walking grove 23.The twins 24.The autist artist
The Unwell Brain by
"What is going on in the brain of a person suffering a debilitating psychological disorder?" So begins Scott Kraly's explanation of how brain chemistry affects behavior. While we continue to learn about the complexities of neurobiology, and our "quick fix" drug therapy mentality continues to gain popularity, the brain remains a largely uncharted frontier, where questions outnumber answers. But Kraly effectively demystifies the field of neuroscience, offering a brisk, digestible narrative of how malfunctioning neurons and neurochemicals can result in psychological disorders, and, in turn, how pharmacotherapy and psychotherapy can help repair various mental health disorders.Also available in hardcover as Brain Science and Psychological Disorders: New Perspectives on Psychotherapeutic Treatment.
Introduction to Academic Writing by
This text provides a naturally integrated approach to grammar, rhetoric, sentence and paragraph structure. Pre-writing activities provide a step-by-step approach towards more advanced writing and writing compositions independently.
The Student's Guide to Writing by
The new edition of this best-seller guides students through the process of improving their writing, showing them how to construct a sentence, a paragraph and an essay. The authors have revised the original edition to make their explanations even clearer, included a Spot the Mistake section, and added an index for easier navigation. Explaining grammar, punctuation and spelling, it is carefully designed for students who need reminding of the basic rules of English and wish to perfect their writing. This is the most indispensable, up-to-date handbook that should be on every student's desk.
Writing at University: a Guide for Students by
Writing at University offers guidance on how to develop the writing you have to do at university along with a greater understanding of what is involved in this complex activity. Writing is seen as a tool for learning as well as a product to be assessed. The importance of what you yourself can bring as a writer to your academic writing is stressed throughout the book. The book looks at an array of writing projects, including essays, reports and dissertations, and analyzes what is expected of each form of assignment. The authors provide examples of student writing and reflections on writing by both tutors and students. This edition includes new sections on: Making an argument and persuading your reader Using sources creatively Avoiding plagiarism Writing online Further sources of information about academic writing Writing at University is an essential resource for all college and university students, including postgraduates, who wish to develop their academic writing. It will also be an invaluable aid for tutors in supporting their students.
Child development : an illustrated guide by 
Developmental psychology : childhood and adolescence. by 
Developmental Science by
Developmental Science: An Advanced Textbook is the most complete and cutting-edge introduction to the field available today. Since its initial publication, the key purpose of the text has been to furnish inclusive developmental perspectives on all substantive areas in psychology--neuroscience, perception, cognition, language, emotion, and social interaction. This edition is no exception, as it continues to underscore the dynamic and exciting status of contemporary developmental science. In this Seventh Edition, Marc H. Bornstein and Michael E. Lamb once again invite international experts to prepare original, comprehensive, and topical treatments of the major areas of developmental science, which are masterfully woven into a single coherent volume. Some chapters in this edition are new, and those carried forward from the sixth edition have been extensively revised. This volume represents faithfully the current status of scholarly efforts in all aspects of developmental science. Ideal for advanced undergraduate and introductory graduate courses, the text is accompanied by a website with supplementary material for students and instructors, including chapter outlines, topics to think about before reading, glossaries, and suggested readings.
Applied Social Psychology by
Applied Social Psychology combines the science of social psychology with the practical application of solving social problems that exist in the real world. This exciting textbook provides a thorough explanation of how social psychologists can contribute to the understanding and management of different social problems. A highly prestigious team of contributors from across Europe and the United States illustrate how social psychological theories, research methods and intervention techniques can be successfully applied to problems encountered in the fields of physical and mental health, immigration and integration, economic behaviour, political behaviour, environmental behaviour, organisations and the classroom. This expanded edition also features new chapters on the dynamic fields of consumer behaviour, traffic behaviour, criminal behaviour, sport and development aid. Each field studied features an overview of important problems, the role of human behaviour in these problems, the factors influencing relevant behaviour, and effective ways to change this behaviour. This is an essential volume for all undergraduate and graduate students studying applied social psychology.
Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping, and Discrimination by
This Handbook is a comprehensive and scholarly overview of the latest research on prejudice, stereotyping, and discrimination. The Second Edition provides a full update of its highly successful predecessor and features new material on key issues such as political activism, economic polarization, minority stress, same-sex marriage laws, dehumanization, and mental health stigma, in addition to a timely update on how victims respond to discrimination, and additional coverage of gender and race. All chapters are written by eminent researchers who explore topics by presenting an overview of current research and, where appropriate, developing new theory, models, or scales. The volume is clearly structured, with a broad section on cognitive, affective, and neurological processes, and there is inclusion of studies of prejudice based on race, sex, age, sexual orientation, and weight. A concluding section explores the issues involved in reducing prejudice. The Handbook is an essential resource for students, instructors, and researchers in social and personality psychology, and an invaluable reference for academics and professionals in sociology, communication studies, gerontology, nursing, medicine, as well as government and policymakers and social service agencies.
Interpersonal Conflict by
Interpersonal Conflict explains the key dynamics of personal conflicts that we all face. Written for courses such as Communication and Conflict, Interpersonal Conflict, Conflict Management, Conflict and Negotiation, and Conflict in Personal Relationships, this textbook examines the central principles of effective conflict management in a wide variety of contexts--whether at home or on the job. Its combination of up-to-date research and examples gives students a theoretical and practical foundation in conflict management.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Social Psychology by
The Taking Sides Collection on McGraw-Hill Create(tm) includes current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. This Collection contains a multitude of current and classic issues to enhance and customize your course. You can browse the entire Taking Sides Collection on Create, or you can search by topic, author, or keywords. Each Taking Sides issues is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources and Internet References. Go to McGraw-Hill Create(tm) at www.mcgrawhillcreate.com, click on the "Collections" tab, and select The Taking Sides Collection to browse the entire Collection. Select individual Taking Sides issues to enhance your course, or access and select the entire Goodfriend: Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Social Psychology, 5/e ExpressBook for an easy, pre-built teaching resource by clicking here. An online Instructor's Resource Guide with testing material is available for each Taking Sides volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit the Create Central Online Learning Center at www.mhhe.com/createcentral for more details.
The Psychology of Attitudes and Attitude Change by
What are your attitudes on climate change? Do you have opinions on how political parties should be funded? Or indeed, celebrity misadventure?Written by two world-leading academics in the field of attitudes research, this textbook gets to the very heart of this fascinating and far-reaching field. In the 2nd Edition, Greg Maio and Geoffrey Haddock expand on how scientific methods have been used to better understand attitudes and how they change, with updates to reflect the most recent findings. With the aid of a few helpful metaphors, the text provides readers with a grasp of the fundamental concepts for understanding attitudes and an appreciation of the scientific challenges that lay ahead. With plenty of learning aids to help with revision and a new companion website, this textbook is a valuable resource for anyone interested in learning or teaching about attitudes. Key features of the new edition: Key Terms, Key Points and a Glossary Research Highlights that illustrate interesting and important case studies and their findings Useful recaps of ′What we have learned′ and ′What do you think?′ questions at the end of chapters to get students thinking A new Companion Website (study.sagepub.com/maiohaddock) with useful material for both instructors and students
Critical Thinking about Research by
To become informed consumers of research, students need to thoughtfully evaluate the research they read rather than accept it without question. This second edition of a classic text gives students what they need to apply critical reasoning when reading behavioral science research. It updates the original text with recent developments in research methods, including a new chapter on meta-analyses. Part I gives a thorough overview of the steps in a research project. It focuses on how to assess whether the conclusions drawn in a behavioral science report are warranted by the methods used in the research. Topics include research hypotheses, sampling, experimental design, data analysis, interpretation of results, and ethics. Part II allows readers to practice critical thinking with a series of fictitious journal articles containing built-in flaws in method and interpretation. Clever and engaging, each article is accompanied by a commentary that points out the errors of procedure and logic that have been deliberately embedded in the article. This combination of instruction and practical application will promote active learning and critical thinking in students studying the behavioral sciences.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design (International Student Edition) by
In the Fourth Edition of this bestselling book, John W Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography and case study - putting them side by side, so that we can see the differences. The authors relate research designs to each of the traditions of enquiry. They compare theoretical frameworks and ways to employ standards of quality, as well as strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative and verifying results. New in this edition: Updated materials on each tradition More on interpretive frameworks and ethics More visual depictions of the five approaches Two new topical articles in Chapter 5, reproduced in full in the appendices.
Physical Change and Aging by
This book] has been honed√ into an elegant compendium. This outstanding work should be widely read -- it is perhaps the best example of an integrative approach to gerontology." Score: 94, 4 stars --Doody's This book serves as an authoritative textbook and guide to the physical changes and common pathologies associated with the aging process, with special emphasis on the psychological and social implications of these changes in the lives of older adults. This fifth edition presents the newly available research findings that differentiate "normal" aging from actual pathology. The authors provide a thoroughly updated and expanded review of important topics in aging, including death and grieving, complementary and alternative therapies, nutrition, exercise, and much more. The book also demonstrates how the elderly population can gain greater personal control over aging through lifestyle modifications and preventive health strategies. Key topics introduced and discussed: Psychosocial theories of aging Changes and disorders in the skeletal, nervous, cardiovascular, and respiratory systems Dementia, delirium, and mild cognitive impairment Aging in persons with lifelong disabilities This volume serves as a comprehensive textbook for students studying to become health care professionals, and is also a fundamental resource for gerontologists, nurses, social workers, psychologists, rehabilitation specialists, clergy, and counselors."
The Handbook of Life-Span Development, 2 Volume Set by
In the past fifty years, scholars of human development have been moving from studying change in humans within sharply defined periods, to analyzing this change over time and in relation to other processes. This two-volume set presents the study of human development conducted by the best scholars in the 21st century. Social workers, counselors, and public health workers will benefit from complete coverage of the biological, cognitive, social, and emotional aspects of human change across the lifespan.
Creativity by
An integrative introduction to the theories and themes in research on creativity, the second edition of Creativity is both a reference work and text for courses in this burgeoning area of research. The book begins with a discussion of the theories of creativity (Person, Product, Process, Place), the general question of whether creativity is influenced by nature or nurture, what research has indicated of the personality and style of creative individuals from a personality analysis standpoint, and how social context affects creativity. This wide-ranging work then proceeds to coverage of issues such as gender differences, whether creativity can be enhanced, if creativity is related to poor mental or physical health, and much more. The book contains boxes covering special interest items, including one-page biographies of famous creative individuals, and activities for a group or individual to test or encourage creativity, as well as references to Internet sites relating to creativity. Includes all major theories and perspectives on creativity Consolidates recent research into a single source Includes key terms defined and text boxes with interesting related material Single authored for clarity and consistency of presentation
SPSS survival manual : a step by step guide to data analysis using IBM SPSS by Neuroplasticity by
The real story of how our brains and nervous systems change throughout our lifetimes-with or without "brain training."Fifty years ago, neuroscientists thought that a mature brain was fixed like a fly in amber, unable to change. Today, we know that our brains and nervous systems change throughout our lifetimes. This concept of neuroplasticity has captured the imagination of a public eager for self-improvement-and has inspired countless Internet entrepreneurs who peddle dubious "brain training" games and apps. In this book, Moheb Costandi offers a concise and engaging overview of neuroplasticity for the general reader, describing how our brains change continuously in response to our actions and experiences. Costandi discusses key experimental findings, and describes how our thinking about the brain has evolved over time. He explains how the brain changes during development, and the "synaptic pruning" that takes place before brain maturity. He shows that adult brains can grow new cells (citing, among many other studies, research showing that sexually mature male canaries learn a new song every year). He describes the kind of brain training that can bring about improvement in brain function. It's not gadgets and games that promise to "rewire your brain" but such sustained cognitive tasks as learning a musical instrument or a new language. (Costandi also notes that London cabbies increase their gray matter after rigorous training in their city's complicated streets.) He tells how brains compensate after stroke or injury; describes addiction and pain as maladaptive forms of neuroplasticity; and considers brain changes that accompany childhood, adolescence, parenthood, and aging. Each of our brains is custom-built. Neuroplasticity is at the heart of what makes us human.
Judgment, Decision-Making and Success in Sport by
Judgment, Decision-Making and Success in Sport presents a thorough overview and assessment of the study of Judgment and Decision-Making (JDM) in sports psychology, and represents an important source of information for those interested in the possible causes and reasons for success and failure in sport. The only book to apply the principles of JDM to sport Applies theory to practice by looking at problems of athletes, coaches, and referees and providing recommendations for dealing with them Offers an overview of current JDM research Useful for psychologists, physical education teachers, sports scientists, and researchers in this field
Personality psychology : domains of knowledge about human nature by
Judgment, Decision-Making and Success in Sport presents a thorough overview and assessment of the study of Judgment and Decision-Making (JDM) in sports psychology, and represents an important source of information for those interested in the possible causes and reasons for success and failure in sport. The only book to apply the principles of JDM to sport Applies theory to practice by looking at problems of athletes, coaches, and referees and providing recommendations for dealing with them Offers an overview of current JDM research Useful for psychologists, physical education teachers, sports scientists, and researchers in this field
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by 
Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by
What are the causes of mental health problems? What are the best treatments for mental health problems? How do the experiences of people with mental health problems compare with the academic models of disorders? Building on the success of the first edition, this textbook has been extensively updated to include the latest research and therapeutic approaches as well as developments in clinical practice. This book now contains: Expanded coverage of the aetiology of conditions Assessment of the DSM-IV diagnostic criteria Analysis of cross-cultural issues Case studies that include patient perspectives A new chapter on somatoform disorders Improved pedagogy such as research boxes and thinking about features that encourage readers to think critically about what they are learning The book maintains the structure of the first edition with two main sections: the first introduces and critically evaluates the conceptual models of mental health problems and their treatment; the second contains in-depth analyses of a variety of disorders such as schizophrenia, trauma-related conditions and addictions. In the second section, chapters are now restructured to give a comprehensive aetiology of the disorder as well as analysis of treatments for the condition. Each disorder is viewed from psychological, social, and biological perspectives and different intervention types are investigated. Abnormal and Clinical Psychologyprovides the most comprehensive European alternative to the long-established US texts for undergraduates in this field.
The Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology by
The third edition of the hugely successful Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology incorporates important advances in the field to provide a reliable and accessible resource for clinical psychologists. Beginning with a set of general conceptual frameworks for practice, the book gives specific guidance on the management of problems commonly encountered in clinical work with children and adolescents drawing on the best practice in the fields of clinical psychology and family therapy. In six sections thorough and comprehensive coverage of the following areas is provided: Frameworks for practice Problems of infancy and early childhood Problems of middle childhood Problems of adolescence Child abuse Adjustment to major life transitions Thoroughly updated throughout, each chapter dealing with specific clinical problems includes cases examples and detailed discussion of diagnosis, classification, epidemiology and clinical features. New material includes the latest advances in: child and adolescent clinical psychology; developmental psychology and developmental psychopathology; assessment and treatment programmes. This book is invaluable as both a reference work for experienced practitioners and as an up-to-date, evidence-based practice manual for clinical psychologists in training. The Handbook of Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychology is one of a set of 3 books published by Routledge which includes The Handbook of Adult Clinical Psychology: An Evidence Based Practice Approach, Second Edition (Edited by Carr & McNulty) and The Handbook of Intellectual Disability and Clinical Psychology Practice (Edited by Alan Carr, Christine Linehan, Gary O'Reilly, Patricia Noonan Walsh and John McEvoy).
Clinical psychology : science, practice, and culture by 
Introduction to Abnormal Child and Adolescent Psychology by
Robert Weis′ third edition of Introduction to Abnormal Child and Adolescent Psychology adopts a developmental psychopathology approach to understanding child disorders. Using case studies, this perspective examines the emergence of disorders over time, pays special attention to risk and protective factors that influence developmental processes and trajectories, and examines child psychopathology in the context of normal development. Designed to be flexible via its focused modular organization, the text reflects the latest changes to the DSM (DSM 5, 2013) and is updated with new research and developments in the field.
Abnormal Child Psychology by
Through a thoughtful and accurate balance of developmental, clinical-diagnostic, and experimental approaches to child and adolescent psychopathology, Eric Mash and David Wolfe's ABNORMAL CHILD PSYCHOLOGY remains the most authoritative, scholarly, and comprehensive book in its market. This edition has been organized and updated to reflect DSM-5 categories, as well as dimensional approaches to classification and evidence-based assessment and treatment. Accessible to a broad range of readers, the book traces the developmental course of each disorder. It also shows how child psychopathology involves biological, psychological, and sociocultural factors interacting with a child's environment. Case histories, case examples, and first-person accounts are at the heart of the book, illustrating the categorical and dimensional approaches used to describe disorders and bringing life to the theories discussed. The authors also consistently illustrate how troubled children behave in their natural settings: homes, schools, and communities.
Applied Behavior Analysis by
Applied Behavior Analysis, provides a comprehensive, in-depth discussion of the field, providing a complete description of the principles and procedures needed to systematically change socially significant behaviour and to understand the reasons for that change. The authors' goal in revising this best-selling text was to introduce students to ABA in as complete, technically accurate, and contemporary manner as possible. As a result, the book's scope, treatment of various principles, procedures, and issues suggest that it is intended for concentrated and serious study. Readers of the new second edition will appreciate the inclusion of: more than 1,400 citations to primary-source literature, including both classic and contemporary studies; a glossary of more than 400 technical terms and concepts; more than 100 graphs displaying original data from peer-reviewed research, with detailed descriptions of the procedures used to collect the data represented; five new chapters written by leading scholars in the field of behaviour analysis; and the addition of The Behavior Analyst Certification Board® BCBA® and BCABA® Behavior Analyst Task List. First published in 1987, Applied Behavior Analysis remains the top-choice primary text for appropriate courses at universities in the United States and abroad with leading programs in behaviour analysis. This comprehensive text, best-suited for all upper-level courses in basic principles, applications, and behavioural research methods, helps students, educators, and practitioners appreciate and begin to acquire the conceptual and technical skills necessary to foster socially adaptive behaviour in diverse individuals.
Autism Spectrum Disorder by
What are the historical foundations of autism and what precisely is meant by the ′autistic spectrum′? How can we explain behavioural patterns of people with autism, young or old, and what are the major theoretical bases for understanding these? What is the latest thinking regarding diagnosis, and what are the most effective strategies for assessment, education and care for people with this condition?Following on from the popular provocative first edition, the Second Edition answers these questions with the latest research on autistic spectrum disorders, exploring theories at the psychological, neurobiological and ′first cause′ levels to methods of assessment, intervention, education and support. Already popular as an introductory text for those wanting to know more about autism as well as a source of basic information and references for those familiar with the field, this newly updated and enhanced book is invaluable for students, professionals and even families.
Challenging Behaviour by
'Challenging' behaviours are common among people with intellectual disabilities, resulting in significantly reduced quality of life. These may include aggression, self-injury, destructiveness, hyperactivity and inappropriate social conduct. This new edition provides a concise, accessible and contemporary summary of current knowledge about challenging behaviour, drawn from psychology, psychiatry, medicine and public health. Fully updated and revised, it includes comprehensive coverage of the epidemiology and aetiology of challenging behaviours, and evidence of the efficacy and effectiveness of different approaches to intervention. This edition contains significantly expanded sections on the emergence and development of challenging behaviour and strategies for prevention, at the level of both individuals and service systems. Essential reading for students undertaking professional training in health and related aspects of intellectual disabilities, including psychologists, psychiatrists, nurses, teachers and social workers. This book is a key text for professional staff delivering health, educational and social care services to people with intellectual disabilities.
The Autism Spectrum in the 21st Century by
The Autism Spectrum in the 21st Century is the definitiveguide to the autism spectrum, introducing the reader to key conceptsand developments in diagnosis, psychological and biological research,theoretical models, evidence-based intervention, educational strategiesand family issues. The book charts how developments in theory, researchand practice have shaped, and continue to shape, the evolving conceptof autism which is at the core of this field.
The Reflective Practitioner by
A leading M.I.T. social scientist and consultant examines five professions - engineering, architecture, management, psychotherapy, and town planning - to show how professionals really go about solving problems. The best professionals, Donald Schön maintains, know more than they can put into words. To meet the challenges of their work, they rely less on formulas learned in graduate school than on the kind of improvisation learned in practice. This unarticulated, largely unexamined process is the subject of Schön's provocatively original book, an effort to show precisely how 'reflection-in-action' works and how this vital creativity might be fostered in future professionals.
Qualitative Interpretation and Analysis in Psychology by
"This new book by Carla Willig closes a gap in qualitative research in psychology and beyond. It focuses on the process of understanding in qualitative data analysis by taking the perspective of interpretation: What links our understanding with social and psychological phenomena in qualitative research? With its broad coverage of the literature and its clear style of writing it will be most helpful for anyone applying qualitative research to psychological phenomena." Uwe Flick, Alice Salomon University, Berlin and Vienna Universities "In this work Carla Willig takes on one of the most pressing challenges in qualitative inquiry: how are we to confront multiplicity in interpretation? I began reading with great curiosity; I came away feeling that this is the best treatment of this complex subject I have yet encountered. Combining conceptual sophistication, the skill of clarity, and a welcome sense of balance, Willig illuminates and enriches. Her discussion on the ethics of interpretation sets the book apart. Now I clamor to join the discussions demanded by this fascinating work." Kenneth Gergen, Senior Research Professor, Swarthmore College, USA "Carla Willig''s balanced and insightful text goes to the heart of what is stake in debates over qualitative analysis: the act of interpretation itself. Beginning with the idea that the researcher must recognise both the responsibility and privilege of research, Willig clearly demonstrates how interpretation is actually performed and how to negotiate the epistemological and practical issues that are involved. Opposing the tendency for the researcher to disappear in the act of ''doing analysis'', this book offers a distinctively human and affective vision of interpretative work. There is much here for both dedicated qualitative researchers and curious empiricists of every stripe. Students of psychology, read on: you have nothing to lose but your prejudices." Steven Brown, Professor of Social and Organisational Psychology, University of Leicester, UK "At last! This is the book that qualitative researchers in psychology have required for some time, and it fills a significant gap for the field. Willig provides a brilliantly written comprehensive account of the importance and value of interpretation in qualitative research, covering theory, ethics and debate around interpretation, and including detailed practical applications that reveal the complexities and complications involved in interpretative analytic work. This text exposes the necessity of reaching for interpretation in qualitative data analysis, and is essential reading for qualitative researchers, whatever their level of expertise, both within and beyond psychology." Kerry Chamberlain, Professor of Social and Health Psychology, Massey University, New Zealand Interpretation is an integral part of all qualitative research, yet relatively little has been written about its process. In her new book, Carla Willig, author of international bestseller Introducing Qualitative Research Methods in Psychology, sheds light on the role of interpretation in qualitative research in psychology and describes the different approaches for practice. Packed with case studies, two full interview transcripts and worked examples from psychology, health sciences and the arts, Willig skilfully guides you to conduct qualitative research which is interpretative and based upon a clear rationale and interpretative position. You will also learn how to evaluate interpretative research and to acquire an understanding of what constitutes best ethical practice. Carla''s transcribed conversations with Stephen Frosh, Christine Griffin and Jonathan Smith about the meaning and practice of interpretation provide a fascinating insight into the ways in which highly experienced researchers engage with the challenge of interpreting qualitative data. This book will be valuable reading for all psychology students, researchers and practitioners and a useful reference for students across the social sciences and related health disciplines.
Understanding Statistics in Psychology Using SPSS by
Understanding Statistics in Psychology with SPSS 7th edition, offers students a trusted, straightforward, and engaging way of learning how to carry out statistical analyses and use SPSS with confidence. Comprehensive and practical, the text is organised by short, accessible chapters, making it the ideal text for undergraduate psychology students needing to get to grips with Statistics in class or independently. Clear diagrams and full colour screenshots from SPSS make the text suitable for beginners while the broad coverage of topics ensures that students can continue to use it as they progress to more advanced techniques. Key features · Now combines coverage of statistics with full guidance on how to use SPSS to analyse data · Suitable for use with all versions of SPSS · Examples from a wide range of real psychological studies illustrate how statistical techniques are used in practice · Includes clear and detailed guidance on choosing tests, interpreting findings and reporting and writing up research · Student focused pedagogical approach including o Key concept boxes detailing important terms o Focus on sections exploring complex topics in greater depth o 'Explaining statistics sections clarify important statistical concepts'.
Statistics Without Maths for Psychology by
Highly praised for its clear, straightforward approach, Statistics without Maths for Psychology 7th edition provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to statistics and SPSS. This widely used and trusted textbook is packed with examples, activities and questions to help you to test your learning and deepen your understanding in a practical and manageable way. Statistics without Maths for Psychology will help you to gain the confidence to apply statistical concepts and use SPSS to analyse data within your studies and future independent research.
Work-Based Learning by
Work-based learning is Joe Raelin's unique way of incorporating a number of action strategies--such as action learning, action science, and communities of practice--into a comprehensive framework to help people learn collectively with others. In this thoroughly updated and revised edition, he demonstrates how to engage our reflective powers to challenge those taken-for-granted assumptions that unwittingly hold us back from questioning standard ways of operating. A well-known popular author, Joe is an avid student of the many traditions that support work-based learning, so he presents an inclusive model that has wide appeal across disciplines and occupations. He provides readers with the most recent updates in the field, such as his coverage of virtual team learning, portfolios, multisource feedback, critical and global action learning, and changes in educational policy. Whether you're an organizational or college educator, this book will help you make learning accessible to everyone--and even contagious within your organization!
Surviving Your Placement in Health and Social Care by
A handbook for students undertaking practice placements in nursing and other health professions. It guides students through the process, from early stages of preparation, understanding what the placement is for and what is expected of them, through to the individual issues such as reflective practice, being supervised, managing time, and more.
Social care practice in Ireland : an integrated perspective by Critical Thinking about Research by
To become informed consumers of research, students need to thoughtfully evaluate the research they read rather than accept it without question. This second edition of a classic text gives students what they need to apply critical reasoning when reading behavioral science research. It updates the original text with recent developments in research methods, including a new chapter on meta-analyses. Part I gives a thorough overview of the steps in a research project. It focuses on how to assess whether the conclusions drawn in a behavioral science report are warranted by the methods used in the research. Topics include research hypotheses, sampling, experimental design, data analysis, interpretation of results, and ethics. Part II allows readers to practice critical thinking with a series of fictitious journal articles containing built-in flaws in method and interpretation. Clever and engaging, each article is accompanied by a commentary that points out the errors of procedure and logic that have been deliberately embedded in the article. This combination of instruction and practical application will promote active learning and critical thinking in students studying the behavioral sciences.
An Introduction to Cognitive Behaviour Therapy by 
Getting the Best Out of Supervision in Counselling and Psychotherapy by 
Integrative Counselling Skills in Action by
As a counsellor, supervisor and trainer I find this book such an excellent resource. It is invaluable in my teaching as well as supporting learning in supervision. Culley and Bond use their extensive experience as practitioners to demystify potentially complex ideas, instead presenting them in an accessible and engaging way. Counselling skills are described clearly and case study material is relevant to practice. The third edition brings new and contemporary content that further enhances the value of the book. Buy it now!′ - Dr Andrew Reeves, Counsellor, Supervisor, Trainer and Editor of Counselling and Psychotherapy Research journal. Integrative Counselling Skills in Action, third edition, is a bestselling introduction to the core counselling skills. It takes you step-by-step through the skills and strategies needed at each stage of the counselling process -- beginning, middle and end - using illustrative case examples and providing practical checklists and summaries. New to the third edition: · Negotiating and managing a counselling contract · Using self-disclosure · Preparing for and using supervision · An example of supervision included in extended case study · A new preface Integrative Counselling Skills in Action is used by many thousands of students and practitioners who need guidance on using counselling skills in a variety of helping settings.
The Presenting Past by 
The SAGE Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy by 
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by
Writing a dissertation is like running a marathon: a successful one takes months of careful planning and preparation. This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
On becoming a person : a therapist's view of psychotherapy by 
Psychotherapy in Ireland by
The area of psychotherapy in Ireland has grown considerably in recent years. It is a diverse and complex area with many different approaches and treatments available.In this revised volume, leading practitioners of psychotherapy, working in Ireland, offer an overview of the approach or school of psychotherapy which is within their competence. They also offer an indication of their individual perspective or style and, in some cases, of the way they combine, or are informed by, different approaches within their practice. The essays are written in clear, non-technical language and all case studies are set in an Irish context. The book will be of interest to members of the caring professions, to students and practitioners of psychotherapy and counselling, to public policy makers and to those who wish to avail of psychotherapy for themselves.
Oxford Handbook of Internet Psychology by
Over one billion people use the Internet globally. Psychologists are beginning to understand what people do online, and the impact being online has on behaviour. It's making us re-think many of our existing assumptions about what it means to be a social being. For instance, if we can talk,flirt, meet people and fall in love online, this challenges many of psychology's theories that intimacy or understanding requires physical co-presence."The Oxford Handbook of Internet Psychology" brings together many of the leading researchers in what can be termed 'Internet Psychology'. Though a very new area of research, it is growing at a phenomenal pace. In addition to well-studied areas of investigation, such as social identity theory,computer-mediated communication and virtual communities, the volume also includes chapters on topics as diverse as deception and misrepresentation, attitude change and persuasion online, Internet addiction, online relationships, privacy and trust, health and leisure use of the Internet, and thenature of interactivity.With over 30 chapters written by experts in the field, the range and depth of coverage is unequalled, and serves to define this emerging area of research. Uniquely, this content is supported by an entire section covering the use of the Internet as a research tool, including qualitative andquantitative methods, online survey design, personality testing, ethics, and technological and design issues. While it is likely to be a popular research resource to be 'dipped into', as a whole volume it is coherent and compelling enough to act as a single text book."The Oxford Handbook of Internet Psychology" is the definitive text on this burgeoning field. It will be an essential resource for anyone interested in the psychological aspects of Internet use, or planning to conduct research using the 'net'.
Teaching for Wisdom, Intelligence, Creativity, and Success by
Note: Also online though catalog:
"This is a blockbuster of a book. It allows teachers to follow standards, but provides space for them to develop students' wisdom, intelligence, and creativity (and of course success). Both teachers and students will come to understand themselves and their values better."-William E. Doll, Jr., Professor EmeritusLouisiana State UniversityThe essential guide for teaching beyond the test!Students with strong higher-order thinking skills are more likely to become successful, lifelong learners. Based on extensive, collaborative research by leading authorities in the field, this book shows how to implement teaching and learning strategies that nurture intelligence, creativity, and wisdom. This practical teaching manual offers an overview of the WICS model-Wisdom, Intelligence, Creativity, Synthesized-which helps teachers foster students' capacities for effective learning and problem solving. Teachers will find examples for language arts, history, mathematics, and science in Grades K-12, as well as:Hands-on strategies for enhancing students' memory, analytical, creative, and practical skillsGuidelines on teaching and assessing for successful intelligenceDetails on how to apply the model in the classroomTeacher reflection sections, suggested readings, and sample planning checklistsTeaching for Wisdom, Intelligence, Creativity, and Success is ideal for educators seeking to broaden their teaching repertoire as they expand the skills and abilities of students at all levels.
Understanding the Psychology of Diversity by
Understanding the Psychology of Diversity offers a highly accessible examination of diversity to show students how to understand social and cultural differences in today's society. Taking a psychological perspective, authors B. Evan Blaine and Kimberly J. McClure Brenchley explore how individuals construct their view of social diversity and how they are defined and influenced by it. The book covers traditional topics like categorization and stereotypes, sexism, racism, and social stigma, as well as non-traditional topics like sexual orientation-based prejudice, weight and appearance-based prejudice, diversity on television, and age stereotypes and ageism. The Fourth Edition confronts the credibility crisis that has surfaced in the academic psychological research community by following parameters for the research that is presented.
Critical Thinking for Helping Professionals by
Critical thinking values, skills, and knowledge are integral to evidence-based practice in the helping professions. On a daily basis, practitioners must be able and willing to think critically about decisions that affect clients' lives, while detecting and avoiding misleading framing ofproblems that may harm clients but contribute to the profit of involved industries (e.g. ignoring environmental sources of distress and focusing on characteristics of clients). Critical Thinking for Helping Professionals, Fourth Edition is designed to engage readers as active participants in 37exercises designed to hone critical thinking skills and offer practice in critically appraising different kinds of research, carrying out the steps in the process of evidence-based practice, reviewing the extent to which clients are involved as informed participants, and reviewing excuses used foroffering poor services. For students in social work, nursing, counseling, and psychology, this new edition offers entertaining and thought-provoking ways to sharpen decision making skills.
