Athabasca University Psychology external Resources(AUPR)This list of psychology resources is based at the Centre for Social Sciences - Psychology of Athabasca University in Athabasca, Alberta, Canada. This site is provided as a resource for AU students majoring in psychology although anyone with an interest in psychology will find these pages valuable.
British Psychological Society Testing CentreThe British Psychological Society’s Psychological Testing Centre (PTC) provides information and services relating to standards in tests and testing for test takers, test users, test developers and members of the public.
Clinical Trials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties provided by Cochrane and other organizations. At its core is the collection of Cochrane Reviews, a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research.
CogprintsWelcome to CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
DART Europe E theses PortalDART-Europe was founded in 2005 as a partnership of national and university libraries and consortia to improve global access to European research theses. The DART-Europe E-theses Portal is managed by UCL Library Services.
ETHOS (online theses)A web resource that provides free access to a small portion of full text UK doctoral theses. Note: patrons have to register themselves on the EThOS website in order to access electronic theses. However, the site can be searched without having to register.
FactCheck.org SciCheck: A Project of The Annenberg Public Policy CenterFactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. The APPC was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state and federal levels.
JOVE PsychologyJove is a Science Video Education collection, fully searchable by topic or technique
Open Data Portal IrelandIRELAND'S OPEN DATA PORTAL. Promoting innovation and transparency through the publication of Irish Public Sector data in open, free and reusable formats.
Psychcentralprovides mental health information as well as annotated guides to the most useful online resources today in mental health, psychology, social work, and psychiatry
Psychological tests for student useThe purpose of this website is to help students who wish to use copyrighted tests as part of their research project with that part of the project that is often most time consuming - the obtaining of permission to use the test. With student research often under extreme time constraints, even a small delay can be disastrous. So if test authors are hard to find or are slow to respond if found, the project may never get off the ground.
Research Methods Knowledge BaseThe Research Methods Knowledge Base is a comprehensive web-based textbook that addresses all of the topics in a typical introductory undergraduate or graduate course in social research methods. It covers the entire research process including: formulating research questions; sampling (probability and nonprobability); measurement (surveys, scaling, qualitative, unobtrusive); research design (experimental and quasi-experimental); data analysis; and, writing the research paper. It also addresses the major theoretical and philosophical underpinnings of research including: the idea of validity in research; reliability of measures; and ethics.
Simple PsychologySimply Psychology is an educational website that provides informative articles, images, and videos to help you understand the academic theories in psychology, research methodology, and the science of well-being, including mental health and relationships.
Social Psychology NetworkThe mission of Social Psychology Network is to promote peace, social justice, and sustainable living through public education, research, and the advancement of psychology.
Stanford Prison ExpirementWHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU PUT GOOD PEOPLE IN AN EVIL PLACE? DOES HUMANITY WIN OVER EVIL, OR DOES EVIL TRIUMPH? THESE ARE SOME OF THE QUESTIONS WE POSED IN THIS DRAMATIC SIMULATION OF PRISON LIFE CONDUCTED IN 1971 AT STANFORD UNIVERSITY.
TARA Institutional Repository (Trinity College)TARA is an institutional repository designed to store, catalogue, index, distribute, and preserve the research outputs of Trinity College Dublin. It includes the full text of peer-reviewed research publications, conference papers, books and book chapters, entire journals, electronic theses, working papers and technical reports and images. Unless specifically restricted, material in TARA is Open Access i.e., fully accessible via Google, Google Scholar etc. and exposed for harvesting by search engines, and web-based bots and harvesters.
UCD research repositoryResearch Repository UCD is a digital collection of open access scholarly research publications from University College Dublin. Research Repository UCD collects, preserves and makes freely available publications including peer-reviewed articles, working papers and conference papers created by UCD researchers. Where material has already been published it is made available subject to the open-access policies of the original publishers. This service is maintained by UCD Library.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowCoverage: Launched in 2004 by Elsevier. Peer-reviewed journals, books and conferences in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Plus tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowSearch a database providing Scientific, Business, Accounting, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect is an excellent database providing access to fulltext and abstracts.
PsycINFO (abstract database)This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PsycArticlesThis link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Health Research PremiumThis link opens in a new windowOver 4,500 full text health and medical journals
Plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more
Your single point of access for many types of content such as Business and Management
SocIndexThis link opens in a new windowCoverage: Journals, books and conference papers in sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions.
Wileys Journal DatabaseJournal Access Only. Wiley provides access to over 8 million articles from approximately 1,600 journals. Half of which are published in partnership with prestigious international scholarly and professional societies. Titles cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.
Sage Premier 2021 CollectionSAGE Premier Collection which provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed journals with coverage across a range of disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
Cambridge Journals OnlineCambridge University Press is a leading publisher in the psychological and brain sciences. From undergraduate course resources, to the prestigious Cambridge Handbooks in Psychology series and our extensive collection of scholarly monographs, Cambridge supports learning and research across all of psychology and related fields.
CINAHL with Full Text (Ebsco)This link opens in a new windowA full text database of nursing & allied health journals. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Academic Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
EMERALDThis link opens in a new windowAcademic journal articles, often with a practical slant, covering business (management, marketing, accountancy, human resource management and information management. Excellent database. Articles with green ticks are available in fulltext.
JOVE psychology video databaseJoVE is the world-leading producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education.
ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterERIC is the principal database for education literature. It covers 1966-present and indexes two types of sources, journal articles and ERIC documents.
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education
American Psychological AssociationAPA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 133,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants, and students as its members.
Association of Psychological ScienceAPS is the scientific home of thousands of leading psychological science researchers, practitioners, teachers, and students from around the world.
We are dedicated to advancing scientific psychology across disciplinary and geographic borders and committed to:
Disseminating psychological science to the general public
Promoting the integration of scientific perspectives across our diverse field and with other scientific disciplines
Incentivizing global collaboration among researchers
Catalyzing the further development of psychological science
Promoting the application of psychological science to public policy
Cambridge Center for Behavioral Studies (USA)The Cambridge Center for Behavioral Studies™ is a nonprofit organization that harnesses the expertise of hundreds of behavioral scientists to solve problems in the home, school, community, and the workplace.
Irish Council for PsychotherapyThe Irish Council for Psychotherapy (ICP) is the national umbrella body for Psychotherapy in Ireland. The Council contributes to public health by encouraging the highest standards of training, practice and on-going education of psychotherapists. The Council also promotes psychotherapy as an effective intervention for good mental and emotional health. Currently it represents over 1,700 psychotherapists nationwide. It is also the national awarding body for the European Certificate of Psychotherapy.
International Positive Psychology AssociationPositive psychology is an exciting field of inquiry that has captured the interest of thousands of researchers, practitioners, and students from around the world. This burgeoning area of psychology focuses on the study and practice of the positive emotions, strengths, and virtues that make individuals and institutions thrive.
International Union of Psychological SciencesThe International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS) works to promote the development, representation and advancement of psychology as a basic and applied science nationally, regionally, and internationally. The main activities of the IUPsyS focus on fostering the development of the science and practice of psychology.
Mental Health AmericaMental Health America (MHA)'s work is driven by its commitment to promote mental health as a critical part of overall wellness, including prevention services for all; early identification and intervention for those at risk; integrated care, services, and supports for those who need them; with recovery as the goal.
PsiChiPsi Chi is an international honor society whose purpose shall be to encourage, stimulate, and maintain excellence in scholarship of the individual members in all fields, particularly in psychology, and to advance the science of psychology.
Society for Industrial and organisational psychologySIOP is the premier membership organization for the science and practice of I-O psychology. While an independent organization with its own governance, SIOP also represents Division 14 of the American Psychological Association and is an organizational affiliate of the Association for Psychological Science.
The British Psychological Society (BPS)We are the British Psychological Society
For more than 120 years, we have championed psychology, psychologists and the wider psychological professions, supporting our members through every stage of their careers.
Psychology affects all aspects of our everyday lives, from government policy to the advertising you see on TV. And with the demand for psychology services growing, so is our community.
We have more than 65,000 members - all of whom share a passion for psychology, and its impact on individuals and society.
The Psychological Society of IrelandThe Psychological Society of Ireland (PSI), Cumann Síceolaithe Éireann, is the learned and professional body for psychology and psychologists in the Republic of Ireland. Since its birth in 1970, the Society has grown from a mere 17 members and now represents circa 4,000 members.
3TS3Ts (Turn the Tide of Suicide) is a registered charity in Ireland (no. CHY15710), founded in 2003 to raise awareness of the issue of suicide and to raise funds to help prevent future deaths by Suicide through dedicated research, intervention & support.
AwareAware is the national organisation providing free support, education and information services to those impacted by anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder and related mood conditions. Select an option below to find out more about the organisation.
GROW IrelandThe essential GROW Program is summarised in the 12 Steps of Personal GROWth. These steps take us from disorder in varying degrees to a kind of ideal order that is necessary for personal development.
Ireland's Open Data PortalThe concept of Open Data is about making data held by public bodies available and easily accessible online for reuse and redistribution.
Open Data gives everyone access to non-personal government data which can deliver enhanced economic, social, environmental and democratic benefits to all. The Open Data Initiative is designed to benefit society by increasing the amount of governmental data available to the public, promoting enhanced innovation and fair competition.
Health Research BoardUseful for accessing relevant and up to date health data and research. It also includes links to HRB publications
HSE Reports and PublicationsIncluding: Corporate Reports; Children and Young People; Disability Services;
Environmental Health; Health Protection & Public Health; Health Topics and Conditions; Hospitals; Non Statutory Sector; Human Resources; Mental Health and Suicide Prevention; Older People Services; Policies and Procedures; Primary Care; Social Inclusion, Asylum Seekers, Travellers;
Irish Social Science Data ArchiveThe Irish Social Science Data Archive (ISSDA) is Ireland’s leading centre for quantitative data acquisition, preservation, and dissemination. Based at UCD Library, its mission is to ensure access to quantitative datasets in the social sciences, and to advance the promotion of international comparative studies of the Irish economy and Irish society.
Look after your mental healthLook after your mental health:
This website has been developed by the HSE National Office for Suicide Prevention (www.nosp.ie) as part of the ‘Your Mental Health’ awareness campaign,
SamaritansEstablished in Ireland in 1961, there are now 21 Samaritans branches across Ireland with more than 2,000 active volunteers.
Institute of Work PsychologySUMS Vision: “To be recognised as a leading international management school known for delivering an outstanding student experience and impactful socially-responsible research in a collegiate learning environment.”
IWP Vision: “Organisations that make workplaces safer, more effective, innovative and nicer places to be.”
UK data archivesBased at the University of Essex, we are the lead partner of the UK Data Service, providing researchers with support, training and access to the UK’s largest collection of social, economic and population data.
VerywellmindWelcome to Verywell Mind, an award-winning resource for reliable, compassionate, and up-to-date information on the mental health topics that matter most to you. We are dedicated to empowering you with the trustworthy evidence-based information you need for your mental and emotional well-being. Our mission is to help you prioritize your mental health and find balance amid the chaos of daily life.
Critical Thinking about Research by Julian Meltzoff; Harris M. CooperTo become informed consumers of research, students need to thoughtfully evaluate the research they read rather than accept it without question. This second edition of a classic text gives students what they need to apply critical reasoning when reading behavioral science research. It updates the original text with recent developments in research methods, including a new chapter on meta-analyses. Part I gives a thorough overview of the steps in a research project. It focuses on how to assess whether the conclusions drawn in a behavioral science report are warranted by the methods used in the research. Topics include research hypotheses, sampling, experimental design, data analysis, interpretation of results, and ethics. Part II allows readers to practice critical thinking with a series of fictitious journal articles containing built-in flaws in method and interpretation. Clever and engaging, each article is accompanied by a commentary that points out the errors of procedure and logic that have been deliberately embedded in the article. This combination of instruction and practical application will promote active learning and critical thinking in students studying the behavioral sciences.
Introduction to Psychology by James W. KalatJames Kalat's best-selling INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOLOGY does far more than cover major theories and studies; it teaches you how to become better at evaluating information. Hands-on "Try It Yourself" activities and summaries of real research encourage you to ask yourself, "How was this conclusion reached?" and "Does the evidence really support it?" Students praise this streamlined, visually appealing text, which invites you to interact with psychological ideas and expands your preconceived ideas about the field of psychology. As a result, you'll become a savvier consumer of information, not only during your college experience but also as you venture into your post-college life. With his friendly writing style and many learning tools, Kalat puts you at ease and enables you to participate actively in what you are studying.
Call Number: 150 KAL
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Psychology Applied to Modern Life by Wayne Weiten; Dana S. Dunn; Elizabeth Yost HammerFilled with comprehensive, balanced coverage of classic and contemporary research, relevant examples, and engaging applications, this text shows you how psychology helps you understand yourself and the complex social world around you. It also uses psychological principles to illuminate the variety of opportunities you have in your life and your future career. While professors cite this bestselling book for its academic credibility and the authors' ability to stay current with ''hot topics,'' students say it's one text they just don't want to stop reading. The text and associated workbook are highly readable, engaging, and visually appealing, providing you with a wealth of material you can put to use every day. Also available: the MindTap online learning experience, featuring an eBook, activities that engage you in thinking about common misconceptions about psychology, animations that introduce key concepts, cool apps (including a text-to-speech reader), and more.
Call Number: 158 WEI
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Essential Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by Matt Field; Sam Cartwright-HattonInstructors - Electronic Inspection Copies are available or contact your local sales representative for an Inspection Copy of the print version. This essential introduction to abnormal and clinical psychology explores the key areas, controversies and debates in the field and encourages students to think critically. Key features of this textbook include: The latest updates from DSM-5 and ICD-10 and a balanced critique of the diagnostic approach, keeping students at the forefront of the developments and debates in the field "Essential Debate" and "Essential Experience" boxes that encourage critical thinking and provide case study examples to help students critique the findings and apply them in practice Concise chapters providing students with the essentials they need to get a good grade in their module in Abnormal and Clinical Psychology Additional student resources available on the companion website (https: //study.sagepub.com/fieldcartwrighthatton). Suitable for all students taking Abnormal and Clinical Psychology modules.
Publication Date: 2015-09-26
Applied Positive Psychology by Tim Lomas; Kate Hefferon; Itai IvtzanThis new textbook -- written by the leaders of Europe's pre-eminent MSc in Applied Positive Psychology -- offers the very latest cutting-edge theory and research in applied positive psychology. Structured around a pioneering multidimensional model of wellbeing, the book outlines a comprehensive array of practices for improving life. These range from interventions aimed at developing mental and physical functioning, to recommendations for enhancing relationships and reshaping organisational structures. Moreover, the book shows how these practices can be successfully deployed in diverse real-world settings, from the classroom to the workplace.
An Introduction to Cyberpsychology by Irene Connolly (Editor); Marion Palmer (Editor); Hannah Barton (Editor); Gráinne Kirwan (Editor)An Introduction to Cyberpsychology is the first book to provide a student-oriented introduction to this rapidly growing and increasingly studied topic. It is designed to encourage students to critically evaluate the psychology of online interactions, and to develop appropriate research methodologies to complete their own work in this field. The book is comprised of four main sections: An overview of cyberpsychology and online research methodologies Social psychology in an online context The practical applications of cyberpsychology The psychological aspects of other technologies. Each chapter includes: Explanations of key terms and a glossary to facilitate understanding Content summaries to aid student learning Activity boxes, discussion questions and recommended reading to guide further study. Further resources for students and instructors are available on the book's companion website, including audio and video links, essay questions, a multiple-choice test bank, and PowerPoint lecture slides. Uniquely combining a survey of the field with a focus on the applied areas of psychology, the book is designed to be a core text for undergraduate modules in cyberpsychology and the psychology of the internet, and a primer for students of postgraduate programs in cyberpsychology.
Website evaluation LibguideThanks to the Mount St Vincent University Libguide for permission to link to their resource.
Note: This resource originated with the University of Oregon and the University of Louisville