Psychometrics is a field of study within psychology concerned with the theory and technique of measurement. Psychometrics generally refers to specialized fields within psychology and education devoted to testing, measurement, assessment, and related activities.
The word “psychometric” literally means “mind measurement” and to be strictly accurate psychometric assessments are a type of psychological test primarily concerned with abilities and aptitudes.
Psychological testing resources on the web
To use a test you will need to: Contact the current copyright holder for permission to use the test!
General
Finding information about Psychological tests (APA)
Testing and Assessment (APA)
About Psychological testing (BPS)
PsyToolkit (Includes a library of questionnaires).
PSYCH-TEL is a community to share questionnaires, research datasets, and teaching material for educational purposes.
ETS Tests collection: The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices
Links to Other Testing-Related Sites (APA)
Personality tests
HEXACO Personality Inventory-Revised
International Personality Item Pool
Social-Personality Psychology Questionnaire Instrument Compendium (QIC)
Attachment style: "Experiences in Close Relationships" - questionnaire diagnoses your attachment style
Big Five Personality Test: This test measures what many psychologists consider to be the five fundamental dimensions of personality
Emotional Intelligence Quiz: Turknett Leadership Group: Asks about how you relate to others and your organization, then gives you feedback about your virtues or how you might have to adjust your behavior in leadership situations
Typology Central Jung Personality Test: This personality test combines the Jungian Cognitive Functions and Personal Dichotomies. After completing the test you will be provided with the four-letter type for your personality.
Clinical
DSRM 5 TR Online Assessment Measures
Psychological Assessment Tools For Mental Health (UK)
Psychological tools (USA)
Autism Research Centre (Cambridge)
PsycINFO
Information on searching Psychology by Test or Measures in PsycINFO: https://youtu.be/0NshjwhoHSs
Tips: To search by a test or measure, enter your keywords, use the 'select a field' option, and choose 'Tests and Measures
Some articles include the full details of a test or measure used. To find these articles use the keyword 'Appended' as your search term when searching by 'Test and Measure'
CINAHL
CINAHL allows you to search for tests (or ‘research instruments’) in several ways.
To find a research instrument itself:
Search by Publication Type, and type Research Instrument into the search box. You can then undertake a search on your topic, using Subject Terms or keyword searches, and combine the two results sets with AND.
Alternatively, undertake your Subject Term/keyword search, and then refine the results using the Source Type refine option ( Click on ‘Show More’ to display the ‘Research Instruments’ tick box).
To find work that uses a specific research instrument:
Search using the Instrumentation Field. Enter the specific name of the research instrument into the search box and select ‘Instrumentation’ from the drop-down list. Click Search.
To find material about research instruments:
Untick the “Suggest Subject Terms” box, enter the specific name of the research instrument, and click search.
Other Databases
Many tests and questionnaires can be found in books, journal articles and databases. It may be possible for you to use them or adapt them, with the permission of the author.
One way to try and find these resources is to combine a topic search with descriptors: Examples of descriptors include "Test-Construction", "Measurement", "Questionnaires", "Personality-Measures", etc.
So you might search for "Empathy" AND "Personality-Measures" etc.
Adding the word append* will help you find articles that have an appended test
An Introduction to Psychological Tests and Scales by
A vital resource for those with little or no prior knowledge of computing or statistics to aid in the development of reliable and valid tests and scales for assessment or research purposes. It serves as a clear, concise and jargon-free primer for all those embarking in fieldwork or research analysis. The book contains detailed guidelines for locating and constructing psychological measures, including descriptions of popular psychological measures and step-by-step instructions for composing a measure, entering data and computing reliability and validity of test results. Advanced techniques such as factor analysis, analysis of covariance and multiple regression analysis are presented for the beginner. This new edition has been revised throughout and includes updated statistical test procedures in line with the new version of SPSS and the inclusion of current academic articles. An invaluable resource for undergraduates and postgraduates across the behavioral and social sciences, as well as professionals in related disciplines including those working in management, and medical sciences.
Assessing Children's Well-Being by
Behavioral medicine has now matured as a field to the point where all recognize that different populations are presented with different issues. Psychological reactions and patterns affect the health and well-being of children, as well as adults, and numerous standardized instruments for the assessment of a variety of areas of children's functioning are currently available. Yet, it can be difficult for practitioners and researchers searching through general compendia of resources for child assessment--which are frequently focused on general techniques rather than specific instruments--to identify the optimal ones to meet their particular needs and to choose among them. This practical and comprehensive reference guide is the first to sort, present, and review all the measures that can be used to evaluate the behavioral, cognitive, and emotional aspects of children's health. It organizes the measures under eight general headings, such as quality of life, adherence, pain management, and patient satisfaction. Each chapter begins with a leading authority's overview of the underlying theoretical construct and any concerns about how to measure it. Descriptions and reviews of relevant instruments follow; these include information on administration, scoring, psychometric properties, and ordering, as well as comments by the instruments' developers. Assessing Children's Well-Being: A Handbook of Measures will be welcomed by all those professionals and scientists who seek to assess and effectively address the complex interactions between physical health and mental health in children.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment by
Psychological assessment has always paralleled the growth of psychology and its specialties, and it is not an overstatement to say that measurement and assessment are the cornerstones of psychology, providing the tools and techniques for gathering information to inform our understanding of human behavior. However, the continued growth and new developments in the assessment literature requires an ongoing examination of the principles and practices of central importance to psychological assessment.The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment covers all areas of child and adolescent assessment. Leaders in the field summarize and synthesize state-of-the-science assessment theories, techniques, and applications. Placing an emphasis on clinical and psychoeducational assessment issues, chapters explore issues related to the foundations, models, special topics, and practice of psychological assessment. Appropriate as a desk reference or a cover-to-cover read, this comprehensive volume surveys fundamental principles of child assessment, including ability, achievement, behavior, and personality; covers the role of theory and measurement in psychological assessment; and presents new methods and data.
Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children by
The two volumes of the Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children, Second Edition, cover all aspects of child and adolescent assessment. Leading clinical scientists summarize the state of the science of assessment paradigms, instruments, and methods. With an emphasis on practical clinical considerations, chapters also delve into issues related to test development, psychometrics, and bias. Conveniently designed for reference or text use, this vast knowledge base has been synthesized into two volumes which may be purchased separately or together. INTELLIGENCE, APTITUDE, AND ACHIEVEMENT surveys assessment of intelligence, learning styles, and academic achievement; covers historical issues and psychometric methods; and addresses diversity issues, ethical concerns, and special topics in mental testing. PERSONALITY, BEHAVIOR, AND CONTEXT reviews the use of projective methods, interviewing and observation, and objective methods of assessing personality and behavior; discusses the assessment of specific syndromes and symptoms; and presents tools for assessing adaptive skills and the family context.
Psychological Assessment in Clinical Practice by
There have been numerous books published that have dealt with psychological assessment. These books have ranged from the theoretical to the clinical. However, most of the pragmatics involved in the day-to-day activities of the psychological assessor often have been neglected in the press. In light of the above, the primary objective of Psychological Assessment in Clinical Practice is to provide the reader(students and practitioners alike) with the realities of conducting psychological assessment in clinical settings where there is not the availability of a plethora of research assistants and staff. Indeed, most individuals end up being solo practitioners or at best work in settings where they must conduct assessment themselves. This multi-authored book, then, details the specifics as to how this is done.
Essentials of ADHD Assessment for Children and Adolescents by
A comprehensive approach to accurate ADHD diagnosis In Essentials of ADHD Assessment in Children and Adolescents, the authors provide a clear and informative road map for practitioners seeking to conduct state-of-the-art assessments for one of the most common disorders of childhood. Drawing upon years of experience in conducting diagnostic evaluations of ADHD following best-practice standards, they emphasize the importance of a comprehensive evaluation, incorporating data from multiple sources, using multiple methods, and interpreting findings within the appropriate developmental and cultural contexts. The major components of an ADHD evaluation (interviews, rating scales, cognitive testing, observation, record review) are reviewed in detail. Expert guidance is provided for resolving the most common challenges in assessing ADHD, including differentiating symptoms from normal development, dealing with discrepant data, differential diagnosis, and considering comorbidity. The latest scholarly literature is integrated with the authors' practical recommendations to provide clinicians with the concepts and tools needed for effective and accurate assessment of ADHD, addressing such topics as: When inattention is ADHD, and when it may be emotional or neurological Which disorders may masquerade as or present with ADHD The elements of accurate ADHD testing and the reasons behind them Integrating results of a multi-modal approach into an ADHD assessment An indispensable professional resource for practicing clinicians, Essentials of ADHD Assessment for Children and Adolescents is a reader-friendly guide to providing a thorough, responsible ADHD evaluation.
Individual Differences and Personality by
Colin Cooper's 'Individual Differences' has been a favorite amoung lecturers and students of differential psychology since it was published in 1997. It is unique in its comprehensive coverage of both personality theories and the methodeological issues associated with personality and psychometric testing. This new edition has been fully revised and expanded to include recent developments in the field. There is also a new chapter on Emotional Intelligence and explanded coverage of the Big 5 model personality and positive pschology. Cooper also discusses influential new fields such as cognitive epidemology and a new chapter on practical applications demostrates how what has been learned can be applied to everday life from recruitment to predicting whether psychopths will reoffend. The accompanying website provides comprehensive support for both students and lecturers, including MCQ's, sample exam questions, PowerPoint presentations, revision flashcards, interactive glossary, and revision summaries. An informative and enjoyable trip through personality and psychometrics, this book is essential reading for all students wishing to gain a broad understanding of this fascinating field.
Ultimate Psychometric Tests by
The use of psychometric tests in selection and assessment procedures is on the rise. For unprepared interviewees tests represent a considerable challenge and many more people fail than pass. Ultimate Psychometric Tests will help you to stand out from the crowd. Designed for self-study, the range of questions provide an excellent opportunity for practice. They will help you to improve your technique as well as boosting your confidence prior to taking a test in a real-life assessment situation. Types of test include: verbal and numerical reasoning, personality questionnaires, non-verbal reasoning (including diagrammatic reasoning), mechanical comprehension and IQ tests. With over 1000 realistic practice questions, Ultimate Psychometric Tests is the ideal starting point if you are a school or college leaver but is also the perfect introduction to graduate level tests.
The Aptitude Test Workbook by
Many organisations and educational institutions use psychometric testing to uncover candidates' abilities and assess their potential. The Aptitude Test Workbook will help you prepare for these tests and give you an awareness of your strengths and where they could take you. A companion to Test Your Own Aptitude, it contains 16 tests with over 400 questions - verbal, numerical, perceptual, spatial and practical.With two new tests - Word Skills and Number Skills - based on 'real-life' assessments, this revised edition is an essential read. Packed with practical advice, help sections and expert tips it will help you to improve your key skills and find your career direction.
Understanding Psychological Assessment by
Understanding Psychological Assessment presents a comprehensive overview of the history of psychological assessment and its domains of application. It gives a realistic account of how psychological theory, measurement, and instruments can help the practitioner in understanding, explaining, and predicting a client's problem or question. Using a systematic framework, it also reflects on the history, needs, methods, and consequences of psycho-diagnosis. Using this book as a guide, the practitioners and the students will be able to conduct a comprehensive assessment of the client.
Psych Experiments by
Psychology's most famous theories--played out in real life! Forget the labs and lecture halls. You can conduct your very own psych experiments at home! Famous psychological experiments--from Freud's ego to the Skinner box--have changed the way science views human behavior. But how do these tests really work? In Psych Experiments, you'll learn how to test out these theories and experiments for yourself...no psychology degree required! Guided by Michael A. Britt, creator of popular podcast The Psych Files, you can conduct your own experiments when browsing your favorite websites (to test the "curiosity effect"), in restaurants (learning how to increase your tips), when presented with advertisements (you'd be surprised how much you're influenced by the color red), and even right on your smartphone (and why you panic when you can't find it). You'll even figure out how contagious yawning works! With this compulsively readable little book, you won't just read about the history of psychology--you'll live it!
Essentials of Rorschach Assessment by
Essentials of Rorschach Assessment provides an invaluable resource for clinicians, offering the only step-by-step guidance toward all aspects of the Rorschach Comprehensive System and Rorschach Performance Assessment System (R-PAS). Beginning with an overview of the tests' history and development, the discussion delves into each test separately before placing the two side by side for direct comparison of administration, coding, and interpretation. The same case study is used for both tests, providing a start-to-finish example of how the Comprehensive System and R-PAS differ, and practical resources including checklists, charts, and sample forms help ease implementation, use, and transition. Thorough explanations break down the jargon and technical language to give clinicians a clearer understanding of both tests without sacrificing precision or depth of information, providing a quick and easy reference for Rorschach personality assessment.
Essentials of Intellectual Disability Assessment and Identification by
Brue's Essentials Intellectual Disability is a concise, up-to-date overview of intellectual disability evaluation and assessment. This text offers a practical, concise overview of the nature of intellectual disability and adaptive skills functioning in children, adolescents, and adults. Coverage includes the latest information on prevalence, causes, differential diagnoses, behavioral and social concerns, test instruments, and the new DSM-5 diagnostic criteria. The discussion promotes a deeper understanding of the use of assessment data to inform interventions in clinical practice. Designed for easy navigation, each chapter highlights important points and key cautions to allow quick reference without sacrificing depth. A sample assessment report illustrates how findings should be communicated to better inform treatment, giving you a practical reference to ensure comprehensive reporting. In 2013, the DSM-5 conceptualization of intellectual disabilities was significantly changed. It's important for professionals to have access to the most current guidelines from a variety of sources, and this book compiles them all into a single reference.
Psychometric Testing by
Psychometric Testing offers an in-depth examination of the strengths and limitations psychometric testing, with coverage of diverse methods of test development and application. A state-of-the-art exploration of the contemporary field of psychometric testing, bringing together the latest theory and evidence-based practice from 21 global experts Explores a variety of topics related to the field, including test construction, use and applications in human resources and training, assessment and verification of training courses, and consulting Includes applications for clinical psychology, performance psychology, and sport and exercise psychology across a range of professions (research, teaching, coaching, consulting, and advising) Acknowledges the dynamic nature of the field and identifies future directions in need of more research, including Internet and smart phone testing
