To search the library catalogue for books, just go to the library hompage and click on Library Catalogue. From here, you can search via author, title of the book, or conduct a keyword search. When you click on a result, you will get all the information about the item. This includes the author, title, publisher, edition, a brief description or contents, the general subject area, and location number which will tell you where to find the item on the library shelves.
Books in the Library are categorised by their subject using the Dewey Classification System. Each book is given a Dewey shelf number that indicates its topic, and this number is typically located on the book's spine. Below is a general overview of Dewey numbers associated with Law and Legal Studies:
| Subject | Location number |
| Jurisprudence | 340 |
| International Law | 341 |
| Constitutional & Administrative Law | 342 |
| Military, Tax, Trade & Industrial Law | 343 |
| Labour, Social & Welfare Law | 344 |
| Criminal Law | 345 |
| Torts; Family Law; Land Law; Company Law | 346 |
| Civil Procedure & Courts | 347 |
| Law making & Legislation | 348 |
| Laws of Specific Jurisdictions & areas | 349 |
E-books are digital counterparts of printed books, and are accessible on your computer or handheld device.
To search the library catalogue for e-books, just go to the library hompage and click on Library Catalogue. From here, you can search via author, title of the book, or conduct a keyword search. To access any of our e-books, you will be required to log in with your student e-mail and password. Make sure to select the e-book as seen below:
Alternatively, you can check out our e-book collections on TUS Midlands Library homepage under Collections.
Even better, be more efficient and check out the best e-book platforms recommended by us for Law and Legal Studies below! Log on using your student e-mail and password.
Torts in Ireland by
Part I.Causes of actions -- Section A: Umbrella torts -- 1.Negligence: general principles -- 2.Negligence: specific applications -- 3.Statutory duties -- Section B: Specific torts -- 4.Trespass -- 5.Nuisance -- 6.Strict duties -- 7.Economic torts -- 8.Personality rights: defamation and privacy -- 9.Breach of constitutional and EU rights -- 10.Miscellaneous torts -- Part II - General issues -- 11.From obligation to liability I: causation and remoteness -- 12.From obligations to liability II: defences, proof and limitations -- 13.Parties to tort actions -- 14.Responsibility for others -- 15.Remedies -- Afterword - The role of tort law: development and appraisal.
An introduction to Irish family law by
Part I - The family and marriage -- 1.The family -- 2.Marriage -- 3.Jurisdiction and related matters -- Part II - Marriage breakdown -- 4.Nullity -- 5.Separation by agreement -- 6.Judicial separation -- 7.Divorce -- 8.Financial and property provision on divorce and judicial separation -- 9.Financial support for spouses and children -- 10.Prpoerty disputes between spouses -- 11.Statutory protection for the family home -- 12.Domestic violence -- Part III.Civil partnership and cohabitation -- 13.Civil partnership -- 14.Cohabitation -- Part IV.The status and welfare of children -- 15.The status of children -- 16.Adoption -- 17.Guardianship and custody of children -- 18.Child abduction -- 19.Protection of children - state intervention and wardship.
Constitutional Law of Ireland by 
Child Law in Ireland by
Child Law in Ireland provides a comprehensive and accessible analysis of the Irish child law system. It incorporates an examination of Ireland's international obligations in this area arising under the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and the European Convention on Human Rights, as well as an examination of the Irish Constitution and the domestic legislative framework. The book addresses a wide range of child law topics, including: children's rights; parentage; donor-assisted human reproduction and surrogacy; guardianship, custody and access; child protection; representation and participation; and education. Child Law in Ireland includes a discussion of timely legal developments, such as: the Assisted Reproduction Bill 2017; the Children and Family Relationships Act 2015; the Adoption (Amendment) Act 2017; the Adoption (Information and Tracing) Bill 2016; the Children First Act 2015; and the Education (Admission to Schools) Bill 2016, among others.
EU Law by
**This version of the textbook is only available in the UK. If you are studying law outside of the UK please see EU Law: Text, Cases, and Materials, ISBN 9780198856641.**Building on its unrivalled reputation as the definitive EU law textbook, the seventh edition provides clear and comprehensive analysis of all aspects of European Union law.Drawing on their wealth of experience, Paul Craig and Grainne de Burca succeed in bringing together a unique mix of illuminating commentary and well-chosen extracts from a wide range of cases, legislation and academic publications.Chapters have been carefully structured and designed to enhance student learning at all levels, laying the foundations of the subject while building analysis of more complicated areas and cutting edge debates.All chapters have been comprehensively updated to reflect the extensive legal developments that have taken place since the publication of the sixth edition, including a new chapter on Brexit and other challenges taking place within the EU. This UK version also includes sections at the end ofrelevant chapters covering how the principles apply or don't apply to the UK post-Brexit.Online resourcesThe book is accompanied by online resources which include the following:- Updates to the law post-publication- A timeline of key events in the development of the EU
Murdoch's Dictionary of Irish Law by
This definitive dictionary of Irish law defines the principal words, concepts and phrases, their legal source, whether statutory or judicial, and gives a brief introduction to the law.
A Dictionary of Law by
Adoption law -- The appeals system -- Bankruptcy law -- Steps in conveyancing -- The Data Protection Act 1998 -- Rules and principles of statutory interpretation -- The Obscene Publications Acts -- The Official Secrets Acts -- Theories of punishment -- Aspects of service alw -- The Terrorism Acts -- Statement of terms of employment.
