Subject & Study Guides: General Science: Science General Libguide

Science

undefined

Academic Source Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology

The Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)

CINAHL with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window A full text database of nursing & allied health journals. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Health Research Premium This link opens in a new window Over 4,500 full text health and medical journals Plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more Your single point of access for many types of content such as Business and Management

List of chemical databases

Medicines Complete This link opens in a new window MedicinesComplete is the Pharmaceutical Press’ e-platform providing access to Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference, Stockley's Drug Interactions, The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients and the British National Formulary (BNF)
Medline This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO (abstract database) This link opens in a new window American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

PubChem PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Each month our website and programmatic services provide data to several million users worldwide. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.

PubMed Central PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Search a database providing Scientific, Business, Accounting, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect is an excellent database providing access to fulltext and abstracts.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Coverage: Launched in 2004 by Elsevier. Peer-reviewed journals, books and conferences in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Plus tools to track, analyse and visualise research.

BioMed Central BioMed Central is a science, technology, and medicine (STM) publisher of 241 peer-reviewed, open access journals.
ERIC Open access education database
Ethos Search over 600,000 doctoral theses.
Google Scholar Scholarly materiel from google
JOVE complete science video collection Jove is a Science Video Education collection, fully searchable by topic or technique
Jove Science Education Videos Jove is a Science Video Education collection, fully searchable by topic or technique
JSTOR Access available to the Ireland Collection, Arts & Sciences Collection I – VII and the Life Science Collection
Medline plus Drugs Herbs and Supplements MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
OECD Testing of Chemicals
Oxfords Journal Collection The Oxford Journals Collection is the core of Oxford University Press (OUP) journals offering, containing over 417 prestigious journals in a variety of subject areas.
National library of medicine The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
PEDro The Physiotherapy Evidence Database, abbreviated PEDro, is a bibliographic database containing randomized trials, clinical practice guidelines and systematic reviews in the field of physical therapy.
Sage Premier 2021 Collection Provides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed journals with coverage across a range of disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
Sage Research Methods Methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.
Social Science Premier Collection ProQuest’s Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering all areas of social sciences including international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
Taylor & Francis Access available to approximately 1500 journal titles in Taylor & Francis’ Social Science and Humanities Collection, and over 200 journal titles in the Medical Collection. Literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies. Supplier has not provided direct links to subscription titles only; so your search may result in articles to which there is no access.
Wileys Journal Database Journal Access Only. Wiley provides access to over 8 million articles from approximately 1,600 journals. Half of which are published in partnership with prestigious international scholarly and professional societies. Titles cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.

BBC Science
Brain facts
ChemSpider ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Clinical Trial Regulation EMA
Drug Development Safety and Pharmacovigilance
Educational Science Games Recommend by Cora from the Science Club for K-12 students in Fullers Library
FDA: The Drug Development Process
How Stuff Works HowStuffWorks provides explanations for thousands of topics, allowing you to explore how the natural world works, as well as topics in engineering, space, military technology, and physics, among many others.
The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland he Institute of Chemistry of Ireland is the professional body representing chemists in Ireland. Its members are chemists who satisfy the requirements of the Institute with regard to qualifications and experience. The Institute promotes the study of chemistry, sets professional standards and organises lectures, meetings and social events for its members. It offers advice and comment to Government in areas relevant to the profession. Irish Chemical News, the official journal of the Institute is published twice yearly.
Ireland Open Data Portal
Learn Genetics
LENUS Open access Health Research Ireland
List of chemical databases
National Academy of Sciences The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.
National Geographic Science National Geographic supports exploration and discovery and groundbreaking scientific fieldwork and critical expeditions through grant programs and public projects.
New York Times Science News The New York Times has a special Science page that covers current scientific events about the environment and space and the cosmos.
NICE guidance
The Public Library of Science (PLoS) The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a nonprofit publisher of high-quality, high-profile scientific and medical journals in which scientists and physicians can publish their most important work
PubsChem PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Royal Society of Chemistry The chemical science community is making the world a better place. We're here to help. The community's impact is incredible. Developing medicines, vaccines and diagnostics when the world needs them most. Keeping our food and water safe, clean and in good supply. Creating revolutionary technologies to generate and store clean energy. Inspiring generations of young minds, helping them forge their paths to fulfilling careers and lives. And so much more.
Sci Central
Science.Gov Gateway to US Federal Science
ScienceDaily ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more
Science Foundation Ireland
sciencemag.org
ScienceNews Science News is an award-winning, news magazine that publishes concise, accurate, timely articles about all areas of science and covers important and emerging scientific research.
Science Nordic
Science Open
Scienceresearch.com
Understanding Science The Understanding Science website is a fun, free resource that aims to accurately communicate what science is and how it really works
The Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS) The Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS) is a science-based, nonprofit alliance of more than 400,000 citizens and scientists working on improving the environment and making the world a safer place.
WMA Declaration of Helsinki
Worldwide Science

Disclaimer: We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions

Academy of Pharmaceutical Science The Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences (APS) is the UK-based professional membership body for Pharmaceutical Scientists. We represent individuals and organisations from around the globe, throughout their development, in the delivery of excellence in the Pharmaceutical Science sector.
Advanced Therapeutics Ireland The Cell and Gene Therapy Forum (CGT Forum) was established in 2018 to discuss, plan and coordinate Ireland’s approach to becoming a global leader in advanced therapeutics.
American Chemical Society About ACS The American Chemical Society (ACS) is a non-profit founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress. We are one of the world’s largest scientific organizations. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and all its people. Our vision is to improve all people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
Be Part of Research We are here to help you find out about health and social care research that is taking place across the UK.
British Pharmaceutical Students Association
The Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER)
Chemist & Druggist UK News, education and training tools for community pharmacists
Clinical Trials ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Drug development tools
Eurachem Welcome to Eurachem, a network of organisations in Europe having the objective of establishing a system for the international traceability of chemical measurements and the promotion of good quality practices. It provides a forum for the discussion of common problems and for developing an informed and considered approach to both technical and policy issues. It provides a focus for analytical chemistry and quality related issues in Europe
European medicines agency
Food and Drug Administration (USA)
Health Products Regulatory Authority We are the Health Products Regulatory Authority (HPRA) and we regulate medicines and devices for the benefit of people and animals. We are committed to excellence in health product regulation through science, collaboration and innovation. Our remit and regulatory functions include human and veterinary medicines, clinical trials, medical devices, controlled drugs, blood and blood components, tissues and cells, and cosmetic products.
The Health Research Board Ireland
Herbs Med Provided by the Alternative Medicine Foundation: information about the twenty most popular herbs
Institute of Chemistry of Ireland The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland is the professional body representing chemists in Ireland. Its members are chemists who satisfy the requirements of the Institute with regard to qualifications and experience. The Institute promotes the study of chemistry, sets professional standards and organises lectures, meetings and social events for its members. It offers advice and comment to Government in areas relevant to the profession. Irish Chemical News, the official journal of the Institute is published twice yearly
International Clinical Trials This database was established as "a voluntary platform to link clinical trials registers in order to ensure a single point of access and the unambiguous identification of trials with a view to enhancing access to information by patients, families, patient groups and others
International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH)
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry he International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) is the world authority on digital standards in chemistry; chemical nomenclature and terminology, including the naming of new elements in the periodic table; on standardized methods for measurement; and on atomic weights. Founded in 1919, IUPAC has been creating the common language of chemistry for more than a century. IUPAC is a leader in the provision of objective scientific expertise for the resolution of critical global issues that involve every aspect of chemistry, all of which have societal impact. Our scientific work is conducted largely through a formal project system, in which proposals from chemists around the world are peer-reviewed and, if meritorious, are approved and supported. In addition, IUPAC is involved in a wide range of diverse activities that ultimately impact both the chemical profession and society as a whole. IUPAC unites chemists worldwide and we fulfill our mission by fostering sustainable development, providing a common language for chemistry, and advocating the free exchange of scientific information.
The Irish Pharmaceutical Healthcare Association
Khan Academy Chemistry
LENUS Irish Open Access Health Repository
MedlinePlus Drug Information Drug information via Medline Plus, via the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
NICE Medicines and Prescribing Community Provides guidance, advice, and support for delivering quality, safety, and efficiency in the use of medicines
Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland
PubChem PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Each month our website and programmatic services provide data to several million users worldwide. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
Royal Pharmaceutical Society
Royal Society of Chemistry Our education policy team has two main aims: first, to ensure a consistent supply of chemistry educators in the future, through policy work relating to the recruitment, retention and development of specialist chemistry teachers. And second, to influence the advancement of the chemistry curriculum, along with related assessment and qualifications.
UK General Pharmaceutical Council
United States Pharmacopoeia USP is an independent, scientific nonprofit organization focused on building trust in the supply of safe, quality medicines. We are working to strengthen the global supply chain so that the medicines people rely on for health are available when needed and work as expected. For over 200 years, USP has worked to build trust where it matters most: in the world's medicines, dietary supplements and foods. Through our rigorous science and the public quality standards we set, USP helps protect patient safety and improve the health of people around the world.

Disclaimer: We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions

APA American Psychological Association
Applied Psychology Library Guide
British Journal of Psychology
The British Psychology Society
Counselling and Addictions Libguide
Irish Council for Psychotheray The mission of the Irish Council for Psychotherapy is to consolidate and promote psychotherapy as a free and independent profession. We do this by promoting the widest provision of psychotherapy for the public and encouraging high standards of training, practice and ongoing education of our psychotherapists so as to contribute to public health.
Jung Centre Ireland The C. G. Jung Centre was founded in 1990 and offers lectures and practical workshops related to Jungian/analytical psychology
National Institute of Mental Health
The Psychological Society of Ireland
The Psychologist
Psychcentral provides mental health information as well as annotated guides to the most useful online resources today in mental health, psychology, social work, and psychiatry

Disclaimer: We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions

American Microbiology Society Established in 1899, ASM is the home for microbial scientists from around the globe to connect, learn, discover and prepare for the future. ASM and its 30,000 members partner with global organizations to solve the world’s most pressing challenges. We connect with millions of experts and harness their science to serve humanity. From climate change, antimicrobial resistance, industrial, basic and applied microbiology, ASM is a leader in scientific publishing, stands for open science and advocates for evidence-based public policies.
Irish Society of Clinical Microbiologists The ISCM objectives are to advance and disseminate the scientific and clinical knowledge of infection including laboratory diagnosis, patient management and treatment, surveillance and epidemiology, infection prevention and control, antimicrobial resistance, antimicrobial stewardship and advisory consultation services
Jove Microbiology Videos JoVE is the world-leading producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. Millions of scientists, educators and students at thousands of universities, colleges, hospitals and biopharmaceutical companies worldwide use JoVE for their research, teaching and learning.
Microbiology Society The Microbiology Society is a membership charity for scientists interested in microbes, their effects and their practical uses. It is one of the largest microbiology societies in Europe with a worldwide membership based in universities, industry, hospitals, research institutes and schools.
PubMed PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Science Direct Search a database providing Scientific, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect offers immediate access to the abstracts, journal and reference work articles needed for research. It contains over 6 million articles and 60 million abstracts from over 1,800 journals.
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.

e-book central Over 80,000 electronic books on a variety of subjects.
e-books collections / resources page Please check our 'Currently Freely available ' and Subscription titles links all here!

Ebsco Ebook collection This link opens in a new window EBook Collection from EBSCOhost contains 19 ebooks.

Assignment writing some tips
JOVE Science Education Jove is a Science Video Education collection, fully searchable by topic or technique
Jove Video Journal Jove is a Science Video Education collection, fully searchable by topic or technique
Kanopy: Video documentaries database Provides access to streaming video supporting classes in the arts, business, health, media/communication, science, humanities and education.
Library Nursing & Health Blog
Library Science Blog
NOVA NOVA is the most watched documentary series on public television and the highest rated science series on television and has won many major television awards, some multiple times.
Open DIssertations OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.

Copyright

This Libguide is licensed under Creative Commons as