Academic Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
CINAHL with Full Text (Ebsco)This link opens in a new windowA full text database of nursing & allied health journals. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
Health Research PremiumThis link opens in a new windowOver 4,500 full text health and medical journals
Plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more
Your single point of access for many types of content such as Business and Management
Medicines CompleteThis link opens in a new windowMedicinesComplete is the Pharmaceutical Press’ e-platform providing access to Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference, Stockley's Drug Interactions, The Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients and the British National Formulary (BNF)
MedlineThis link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals
PsycArticlesThis link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO (abstract database)This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowSearch a database providing Scientific, Business, Accounting, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect is an excellent database providing access to fulltext and abstracts.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowCoverage: Launched in 2004 by Elsevier. Peer-reviewed journals, books and conferences in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Plus tools to track, analyse and visualise research.
BioMed CentralBioMed Central is a science, technology, and medicine (STM) publisher of 241 peer-reviewed, open access journals.
JSTORAccess available to the Ireland Collection, Arts & Sciences Collection I – VII and the Life Science Collection
Oxfords Journal CollectionThe Oxford Journals Collection is the core of Oxford University Press (OUP) journals offering, containing over 417 prestigious journals in a variety of subject areas.
PEDroThe Physiotherapy Evidence Database, abbreviated PEDro, is a bibliographic database containing randomized trials, clinical practice guidelines and systematic reviews in the field of physical therapy.
Sage Premier 2021 CollectionProvides access to over 1100 peer-reviewed journals with coverage across a range of disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.
Sage Research MethodsMethods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.
Social Science Premier CollectionProQuest’s Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering all areas of social sciences including international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.
Taylor & FrancisAccess available to approximately 1500 journal titles in Taylor & Francis’ Social Science and Humanities Collection, and over 200 journal titles in the Medical Collection.
Literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Supplier has not provided direct links to subscription titles only; so your search may result in articles to which there is no access.
Wileys Journal DatabaseJournal Access Only. Wiley provides access to over 8 million articles from approximately 1,600 journals. Half of which are published in partnership with prestigious international scholarly and professional societies. Titles cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities, and include many titles ranked at the forefront of their field.
ChemSpiderChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
How Stuff WorksHowStuffWorks provides explanations for thousands of topics, allowing you to explore how the natural world works, as well as topics in engineering, space, military technology, and physics, among many others.
The Institute of Chemistry of Irelandhe Institute of Chemistry of Ireland is the professional body representing chemists in Ireland. Its members are chemists who satisfy the requirements of the Institute with regard to qualifications and experience. The Institute promotes the study of chemistry, sets professional standards and organises lectures, meetings and social events for its members. It offers advice and comment to Government in areas relevant to the profession. Irish Chemical News, the official journal of the Institute is published twice yearly.
National Academy of SciencesThe National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.
National Geographic ScienceNational Geographic supports exploration and discovery and groundbreaking scientific fieldwork and critical expeditions through grant programs and public projects.
New York Times Science NewsThe New York Times has a special Science page that covers current scientific events about the environment and space and the cosmos.
The Public Library of Science (PLoS)The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a nonprofit publisher of high-quality, high-profile scientific and medical journals in which scientists and physicians can publish their most important work
PubsChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Royal Society of ChemistryThe chemical science community is making the world a better place. We're here to help.
The community's impact is incredible. Developing medicines, vaccines and diagnostics when the world needs them most. Keeping our food and water safe, clean and in good supply. Creating revolutionary technologies to generate and store clean energy. Inspiring generations of young minds, helping them forge their paths to fulfilling careers and lives. And so much more.
ScienceNewsScience News is an award-winning, news magazine that publishes concise, accurate, timely articles about all areas of science and covers important and emerging scientific research.
Understanding ScienceThe Understanding Science website is a fun, free resource that aims to accurately communicate what science is and how it really works
The Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS)The Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS) is a science-based, nonprofit alliance of more than 400,000 citizens and scientists working on improving the environment and making the world a safer place.
Herbs MedProvided by the Alternative Medicine Foundation: information about the twenty most popular herbs
International Clinical TrialsThis database was established as "a voluntary platform to link clinical trials registers in order to ensure a single point of access and the unambiguous identification of trials with a view to enhancing access to information by patients, families, patient groups and others
American Microbiology SocietyEstablished in 1899, ASM is the home for microbial scientists from around the globe to connect, learn, discover and prepare for the future.
ASM and its 30,000 members partner with global organizations to solve the world’s most pressing challenges. We connect with millions of experts and harness their science to serve humanity. From climate change, antimicrobial resistance, industrial, basic and applied microbiology, ASM is a leader in scientific publishing, stands for open science and advocates for evidence-based public policies.
Irish Society of Clinical MicrobiologistsThe ISCM objectives are to advance and disseminate the scientific and clinical knowledge of infection including laboratory diagnosis, patient management and treatment, surveillance and epidemiology, infection prevention and control, antimicrobial resistance, antimicrobial stewardship and advisory consultation services
Jove Microbiology VideosJoVE is the world-leading producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. Millions of scientists, educators and students at thousands of universities, colleges, hospitals and biopharmaceutical companies worldwide use JoVE for their research, teaching and learning.
Microbiology SocietyThe Microbiology Society is a membership charity for scientists interested in microbes, their effects and their practical uses.
It is one of the largest microbiology societies in Europe with a worldwide membership based in universities, industry, hospitals, research institutes and schools.
PubMedPubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Science DirectSearch a database providing Scientific, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect offers immediate access to the abstracts, journal and reference work articles needed for research. It contains over 6 million articles and 60 million abstracts from over 1,800 journals.
ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
e-book centralOver 80,000 electronic books on a variety of subjects.
JOVE Science EducationJove is a Science Video Education collection, fully searchable by topic or technique
Jove Video JournalJove is a Science Video Education collection, fully searchable by topic or technique
Kanopy: Video documentaries databaseProvides access to streaming video supporting classes in the arts, business, health, media/communication, science, humanities and education.
NOVANOVA is the most watched documentary series on public television and the highest rated science series on television and has won many major television awards, some multiple times.
Open DIssertationsOpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Copyright
This Libguide is licensed under Creative Commons as
