People of Print by
In a world where screen-based graphics and digital design dominate the mainstream, an international community of independent designers has embraced traditional printmaking techniques to create some of the most innovative graphics ever. For People of Print, Marcroy Smith, founder of the website Marcroy, and Andy Cooke, his longtime collaborator, have brought together the work of more than forty-five of the hottest designers, illustrators, and collectives currently committed to the tactility, materiality, and visible craft of print, alongside the gallerists and promoters who are key figures in this creative scene. A dazzling array of work is presented, made to adorn paper, posters, flyers, packaging, fanzines, self-published books, textiles and fashion, and exhibition design, accompanied by profiles of each printer, in-depth interviews, information on innovative design techniques, and a comprehensive reference section. With a broad range of designers from the United States, Brazil, Denmark, Germany, France, Spain, Singapore, and beyond, People of Print will be an essential and inspirational resource for graphic designers and illustrators as well as anyone who appreciates that print is the future.
A Typographic Workbook by
Lavishly illustrated with more than 450 images, A Typographic Workbook, Second Edition explains the process successful designers use to select, space, and creatively integrate fonts. This essential text demonstrates the use of type as a dynamic and expressive communication tool. This edition provides new and updated coverage of a broad range of topics?from a logical, clear historical overview of the craft to the latest digital technologies. Known for its highly interactive format, this Second Edition continues to include helpful review questions and multiple-choice quizzes, as well as many new projects and skill-building exercises that help readers immediately apply what they have learned. A Typographic Workbook, Second Edition is a valuable professional resource for working designers and an indispensable training tool for graphic design students.
Graphic Design: the New Basics by
How do designers get ideas? Many spend their time searching for clever combinations of forms, fonts, and colors inside thedesign annuals and monographs of other designers' work. For those looking to challenge the cut-and-paste mentality thereare few resources that are both informative and inspirational. InGraphic Design: The New Basics, Ellen Lupton, best-selling author of such books asThinking with Type andDesign It Yourself, and design educator Jennifer Cole Phillips refocus design instruction on the study of the fundamentals of form in a critical, rigorous way informed by contemporary media, theory, and software systems. Through visual demonstrations and concise commentary,The New Basics shows students and professionals how to build interest and complexity around simple relationships between formal elements of two-dimensional design such as point, line, plane, scale, hierarchy, layers, and transparency.The New Basics explains the key concepts of visual language that inform any work of designfrom a logo or letterhead to a complex web site. It takes a fresh approach to design instruction by emphasizing visually intensive, form-based thinking in a manner that is in tune with the latest developments in contemporary media, theory, art, and technology. Colorful, compact, and clearly written,The New Basics is the new indispensable resource for anyone seeking a smart, inspiring introduction to graphic design and destined to become the standard reference work in design education.
Visual Literacy by
Now in a more affordable format for students, this stimulating hands-on course in creative thinking gets right down to specific design problems and offers viable solutions to them. Nineteen challenging assignments and over one thousand pieces of solution art executed by the authors’ students are presented. Each visual problem shows the actual assignment sheet given to the students and includes an analysis of the problem’s underlying intent, addressing principles such as framal reference, negative-positive relationships, cropping techniques, and other important issues.
New Book Design by
New Book Design showcases the most interesting, influential, and accomplished book designs from the last ten years.It features over 100 titles published around the world, each chosen for their outstanding design qualities, from the publications of large mainstream publishers to those of small independent companies -- and even those from individual artists. Included in its pages are lavishly produced books with unconventional formats and unusual print techniques as well as less flamboyant publications produced for various different markets. A wide variety of books are featured, from paperback novels to architectural monographs, from text-based to profusely-illustrated books. Divided into four main sections -- "Packaging," "Navigation," "Layout," and "Specification" -- the book examines each facet of book design: cover design; contents and structure; image usage; grids; typography; paper; printing; and binding. Clear photography captures each featured book, and interviews with prominent book designers, art directors, and publishers provide extra insight. New Book Design is sure to provide a rich source of inspiration to book designers and bibliophiles alike.
Motion by Design by
The advent of new software and the blurring of disciplinary boundaries have given rise to an entirely new creative categorymotion graphics.Motion by Design is the first combined book and interactive DVD package to present the works of some of the worlds leading motion graphic studios. The book showcases new work by over 30 international studios, grouped according to genre: Opening Credits, Commercial/Installation and Web, each introduced by a leading motion graphic designer: Garson Yu, Why Not Associates and Hillman Curtis. A main introduction provides a history of motion graphics and a glossary explains the key terms. The accompanying DVD contains not only full samples and reels of almost all of the featured work, but also an interactive historical timeline tracing the development of notion graphic styles. Most importantly, these impressive works will be represented in their elementin motion.
Album: style and image in sleeve design / Nick De Ville. by
An account of the extensive creative cross-fertilization between designers, art directors, photographers, musicians and record labels, this chronological visual history of the style and image in design of album and CD covers stretches from the 1940s to the present day.
Logo Design Love: a guide to creating iconic brand identities by
In 'Logo Design Love', graphic designer David Airey brings the best parts of his popular blog of the same name to the printed page. Just as in the blog, David fills each page of this simple, modern-looking book with gorgeous logos & real world anecdotes that illustrate best practices for designing brand identity systems that last.
How to Design Logos, Symbols and Icons by
This book steps into the studios of top designers as their ideas happen. Case studies trace the evolution of great logos, symbols and icons, illustrating the process with initial roughs and intermediary sketches that lead up to the final designs for companies including Nike and IBM. In addition, this book expands its boundaries to include symbols and icons, two rarely covered yet increasingly vital areas of design. Gregory Thomas is the owner and principal of Gregory Thomas Associates, a Santa Monica-based design consultancy. the award-winning company boosts an international client list that includes CBS, IBM, Levi Strauss & Company, Yale University, and MCA/Universal Pictures.
Stop, Think, Go, Do by
This revolutionary guide is not only the first to look at how typography in design creates a call to action, but it also explores type and image as language. The book is packed with arresting imagery from around the world that influences human behaviour.
Synesthetic Design by
Synästhetisches Design bemüht sich um eine Produktentwicklung, die alle Sinne systematisch mit einbezieht. Die Fülle aktueller medizintechnischer Erkenntnisse in psychologischer, physiologischer, motorischer und neuronaler Hinsicht sowie die Entwicklung innovativer Materialien mit erstaunlichen neuen Eigenschaften eröffnen zukünftig der Designer-Kreativität fast unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten. Haverkamp hat seine Darstellung so aufgebaut, dass sie das Wesentliche dieses Grundlagenwissens aus den verschiedensten Bereichen erstmals speziell für Designer zusammenfasst. Designer aller Richtungen erhalten so ein übersichtliches Praxis-Handbuch, die solide Basis für ihr eigenes Gestalten.
Design for Information by
The visualization process doesn't happen in a vacuum; it is grounded in principles and methodologies of design, cognition, perception, and human-computer-interaction that are combined to one's personal knowledge and creative experiences. "Design for Information "critically examines other design solutions -current and historic- helping you gain a larger understanding of how to solve specific problems. This book is designed to help you foster the development of a repertoire of existing methods and concepts to help you overcome design problems. Learn the ins and outs of data visualization with this informative book that provides you with a series of current visualization case studies. The visualizations discussed are analyzed for their design principles and methods, giving you valuable critical and analytical tools to further develop your design process. The case study format of this book is perfect for discussing the histories, theories and best practices in the field through real-world, effective visualizations. The selection represents a fraction of effective visualizations that we encounter in this burgeoning field, allowing you the opportunity to extend your study to other solutions in your specific field(s) of practice. This book is also helpful to students in other disciplines who are involved with visualizing information, such as those in the digital humanities and most of the sciences.
A History of Graphic Design by
Critical acclaim for previous editions of A History of Graphic Design "I expect it to become a foundation and keystone of serious study . . . it is a fortress work." -Communication Arts "[It] traces the role of the designer as a messenger of culture." -STA Journal "Now . . . a hefty, yet concise, documentation of the entire field exists." -Print "It is a noble and formidable undertaking." -he Artist's Magazine "An excellent and invaluable work." -Library Journal "This is a reference work that reads like a novel. It's comprehensive, authoritative, graphic, and exciting." -U&lc: The Journal of Typographics "[This book] establishes graphic design as a profession. Bravo!" -Design Issues "A significant attempt at a comprehensive history of graphic design . . . it will be an eye-opener not only for general readers, but for designers who have been unaware of their legacy." -The New York Times "Mr. Meggs enthusiastically conveys these excitements to us, from the invention of photography and 'popular graphics of the Victorian era' through the Arts and Crafts movement, Art Nouveau, the Secession, the isms . . . to the Modern Movement. . . . More importantly, he shows us the joins as well as the parts."-rinting World After a decade of research by the author, the first edition of A History of Graphic Design was heralded as a publishing landmark by the Association of American Publishers, who awarded it a coveted award for publishing excellence. Now, after fifteen years of development in graphic design, this expanded and updated Third Edition includes hundreds of full-color images and new material in many areas, including alphabets, Japanese and Dutch graphics, and the computer revolution which has impacted all aspects of contemporary design and communications. With its approximately 1,200 illustrations, lucid text, and interpretive captions, the book reveals a saga of creative innovators, breakthrough technologies, and important design innovations. Graphic design is a vital component of each culture and period in human history, and in this account, an extraordinary panorama of people and events unfolds, including: * The Invention of Writing and Alphabets * Medieval Manuscript Books * The Origins of Printing and Typography * Renaissance Graphic Design * The Arts and Crafts Movement * Victorian and Art Nouveau Graphics * Modern Art and Its Impact on Design * Visual Identity and Conceptual Images * Postmodern Design * The Computer Graphics Revolution A History of Graphic Design is recognized as a seminal work; this Third Edition surpasses in detail and breadth the content, design, and color reproduction of previous editions. It is required reading for professionals, students, and everyone who works with or loves the world of graphic design. This comprehensive reference tool is an invaluable visual survey that you will turn to again and again.
Meggs' History of Graphic Design by
Now in its Fourth Edition, this unrivaled, seminal work continues its long tradition of providing balanced insight and thorough historical background. Under the new authorial leadership of Alston Purvis, this authoritative book offers more than 450 new images, along with expansive coverage of such topics as Italian, Russian, and Dutch design. It reveals a saga of creative innovators, breakthrough technologies, and important design innovations.
Visual Methodologies: an introduction to the interpretation of visual materials by
An introduction to reading visual culture. It investigates the different methods for interpreting visual images. It discusses the strengths and weaknesses of each method in relation to a detailed case study. It is intended for any undergraduate in the social sciences beginning research.
Design Studies by
In an age of globalization and connectivity, the idea of "mainstream culture" has become quaint. Websites, magazines, books, and television have all honed in on ever-diversifying subcultures, hoping to carve out niche audiences that grow savvier and more narrowly sliced by the day. Consequently, the discipline of graphic design has undergone a sea change. Where visual communication was once informed by a designer's creative intuition, the proliferation of specialized audiences now callsfor more research-based design processes. Designers who ignore research run the risk of becoming mere tools for communication rather than bold voices.Design Studies, a collection of 27 essays from an international cast of top design researchers, sets out to mend this schism between research and practice. The texts presented here make a strong argument for performing rigorous experimentation and analysis. Each author outlines methods in which research has aided their designwhether by investigating how senior citizens react to design aesthetics, how hip hop culture can influence design, or how design for Third World nations is affected by culturaldifferences. Contributors also outline inspired ways in which design educators can teach research methods to their students. Finally,Design Studies is rounded out by five annotated bibliographies to further aid designers in their research. This comprehensive reader is the definitive reference for this new direction in graphic design, and an essential resource for both students and practitioners.
Graphic Design for the 21st Century by
Covering a vast range of cutting-edge graphics, with politically charged anti-commercial work placed in the same context as Nike's latest ads, this book presents a sweeping look at today's most progressive graphic currents - from signage at packaging to branding and web design.
How to Use Images by
Fundamental to the study of graphic design is the creative use of images in a design context. This book teaches you how to select and use images for a range of applications, including: magazines and newspapers, posters, booklets, books, leaflets, stationary, book and CD covers, advertising and promotional material, packaging, point of purchase, web pages, and digital advertisements. It explores methodologies for choosing, placing, combining, manipulating, and montagingimagery and the relationship of image to text, with chapters on: Selection Structure and layout Composition Communication Color Image potential Production Using fully illustrated case studies from leading graphic designers and practical exercises, the book provides professional insights and tips into ways of using pictures to maximum effect.
Printmaking Unleashed by
Unleash your inner artist and join Traci Bautista as she shares inventive ideas for making marks with handmade tools, nontraditional materials and simple DIY printmaking techniques. Pulsing with exploration and whimsy, Printmaking Unleashed features 60+ step-by-step demonstrations and countless possibilities for creating original prints, fabrics, art journal pages, mixed-media collage, and so much more. WHAT'S INSIDE... Tools Galore! Create a variety of handmade mark-making tools and texture plates using everything from encaustic paints, Collage Pauge and chipboard letters to modeling compound, needlepoint canvas and recycled cardboard. Mix-and-Match Techniques! Discover digital and traditional techniques for producing one-of-a-kind monoprints. Start with the basics, then build up layer after luscious layer of color and texture. Pure inspiration! Every page offers new ideas, original artwork and creative jumpstarts. Flip through the pages and learn how anything with interesting texture or shape (rubber bands, vintage lace, the bottom of a bottle) can be incorporated into printmaking for exciting, unique effects. You will never look at a toothpick, freezer bag or plastic zip tie in the same way again!
Understanding Illustration by
No Marketing Blurb
Advertising Now. Print by
Ideas that sell: today's most effective and original ads The world's sharpest creative minds are in high demand in the advertising world, because making effective ads takes a whole lot more than just marketing know-how. A great ad grabs the viewer's attention and gets the point across in an original, surprising, funny, touching, or even shocking way. Because ads reflect global and regional mentalities, studying them is interesting not only for their selling points but also for what they have to say about their clients and target audiences. This mega-roundup of the world's best contemporary advertisements highlights the work of designers in over 40 countries. Organized by subjects, such as socio-political, food and beverage, cars, technology, and media, the ads are dated and annotated with information on the design agencies, clients, and products. Also included are case studies illustrating, for example, how an ad campaign can be made on a small budget or how an advertisement can be adapted for different cultures. This guide is a must-have for advertising students and professionals, graphic designers, and anyone who's interested in the different ways products are advertised around the world.
We Make Magazines by
Explores and celebrates magazine culture through cutting-edge visuals and editorial contributions from around the world.
Contemporary Newspaper Design by
The look, feel and presentation of information in newspapers has changed enormously over the last decade or so. This volume takes examples from around the world and analyses them in depth. Structure, layout, use of illustration and typography are all reviewed. In addition there is commentary on the effect and use of software and hardware technologies. The individual examples are compared, contrasted and put into historical and contemporary context.
