Advanced Therapeutics IrelandThe Cell and Gene Therapy Forum (CGT Forum) was established in 2018 to discuss, plan and coordinate Ireland’s approach to becoming a global leader in advanced therapeutics.
BioPharmaChemIrelandThe leading representative body
for the biopharma & chemical
sector in Ireland
Health Information and Quality AuthorityHIQUA are responsible for driving improvements in the quality and safety of healthcare on behalf of patients. We develop standards, monitor compliance with standards and carry out investigations where there are reasonable grounds to do so.
Health Products Regulatory AuthorityWe are the Health Products Regulatory Authority (HPRA) and we regulate medicines and devices for the benefit of people and animals. We are committed to excellence in health product regulation through science, collaboration and innovation. Our remit and regulatory functions include human and veterinary medicines, clinical trials, medical devices, controlled drugs, blood and blood components, tissues and cells, and cosmetic products.
Health Research BoardUseful for accessing relevant and up to date health data and research. It also includes links to HRB publications
Institute of Chemistry of IrelandThe Institute of Chemistry of Ireland is the professional body representing chemists in Ireland. Its members are chemists who satisfy the requirements of the Institute with regard to qualifications and experience. The Institute promotes the study of chemistry, sets professional standards and organises lectures, meetings and social events for its members. It offers advice and comment to Government in areas relevant to the profession. Irish Chemical News, the official journal of the Institute is published twice yearly
Irish Pharmaceutical Healthcare AssociationIPHA stands for innovation in medicines. We represent the inventors of medicines to prevent, treat and, sometimes, cure diseases. Through science, we extend how long people live and how well they can live.
Because many medicines are made at manufacturing sites around the country, we have a positive impact on economic life through jobs and investments.
Helping to give people faster access to our medicines means, together, we can raise standards of care. We have four priorities: Access, optimising the availability of innovative medicines in Ireland; Codes, building trust in our industry with actions and standards in our self-regulatory Codes; Innovation, building stakeholder understanding and support for biopharmaceutical innovation; and Investment; promoting the positive impact of the industry’s investment in Ireland and enablers such as intellectual property, trade and other policies.
We contribute to, and help to shape, policy and public debate in a wide range of areas such as regulation, access, pricing, health promotion, innovation policy environment and transparency through our storytelling, events, thought-leadership, publications, submissions and engagements with Government and healthcare stakeholders.
IPHA has 46 member companies in two divisions: prescription medicines and self-care. Members take an active part in policy development and implementation.
LenusLENUS the Irish health repository for the HSE. This gateway to health information is provided by the HSE Regional Library & Information Services in Ireland and includes archives of the old Irish Health Board and the HSE as well as other Irish health publications and research articles.
The Pharmacy RegulatorThe Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland (PSI) – The Pharmacy Regulator, is the statutory body responsible for regulating pharmacists and community pharmacies in the public interest.
UK & International Web sites
Academy of Pharmaceutical ScienceThe Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences (APS) is the UK-based professional membership body for Pharmaceutical Scientists.
We represent individuals and organisations from around the globe, throughout their development, in the delivery of excellence in the Pharmaceutical Science sector.
American Chemical SocietyAbout ACS
The American Chemical Society (ACS) is a non-profit founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress. We are one of the world’s largest scientific organizations. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and all its people. Our vision is to improve all people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI)The ABPI exists to make the UK the best place in the world to research, develop and access medicines and vaccines to improve patient care.
We represent companies of all sizes which invest in making and discovering medicines and vaccines to enhance and save the lives of millions of people around the world.
BindongDBThe first public molecular recognition database, BindingDB supports research, education and practice in drug discovery, pharmacology and related fields.
Bielefeld Academic Search EngineBASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 240 million documents from more than 8,000 content providers.
BioMedCentralBMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 1999 we made high quality research open to everyone who needed to access it – and in making the open access model sustainable, we changed the world of academic publishing.
We are committed to continual innovation in research publishing to better support the needs of our communities, ensuring the integrity of the research we publish and championing the benefits of open research for all.
British Pharmacological SocietyJoin our worldwide community of over 4,000 members from across academia, industry, policy and more!
British Toxicology SocietyThe British Toxicology Society (BTS) is a society for all fields of professional toxicologists and all those with an interest in toxicology. Within the site you will find details of Scientific Meetings, Continuing Professional Development, Job Vacancies, Careers Advice, News and items of interest to BTS members, as well as any professionals within the field of toxicology.
Cell Image LibraryThis library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research on cellular activity, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
Chemist+Druggist (C+D) UKChemist+Druggist (C+D) has proudly been providing the latest news and analysis to the UK’s community pharmacists and pharmacy staff for 160 years.
A weekly print magazine until 2016, C+D is now a digital-first publication, covering everything from breaking news and in-depth features, to CPD modules, interactive investigations and podcasts.
ChEMBLChEMBL is a database of bioactive drug-like small molecules, it contains 2-D structures, calculated properties (e.g. logP, Molecular Weight, Lipinski Parameters, etc.) and abstracted bioactivities (e.g. binding constants, pharmacology and ADMET data).
The data is abstracted and curated from the primary scientific literature, and cover a significant fraction of the SAR and discovery of modern drugs
We attempt to normalise the bioactivities into a uniform set of end-points and units where possible, and also to tag the links between a molecular target and a published assay with a set of varying confidence levels. Additional data on clinical progress of compounds is being integrated into ChEMBL at the current time.
Clinical TrialsClinicalTrials.gov is a website and online database of clinical research studies and information about their results. The purpose of ClinicalTrials.gov is to provide information about clinical research studies to the public, researchers, and health care professionals. The U.S. government does not review or approve the safety and science of all studies listed on this website.
ClinicalTrials.gov:
Relies on sponsors or investigators to submit and update information about studies
Lists up-to-date information on clinical research studies and their results with new studies added almost every day
Includes studies that take place in all 50 states and over 200 countries
Supports laws, regulations, and policies that require sponsors and investigators to publicly share information about clinical trials, including results
Cochrane libraryThe Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library is owned by Cochrane and published by Wiley
DrugbankThe DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
EurachemWelcome to Eurachem, a network of organisations in Europe having the objective of establishing a system for the international traceability of chemical measurements and the promotion of good quality practices. It provides a forum for the discussion of common problems and for developing an informed and considered approach to both technical and policy issues. It provides a focus for analytical chemistry and quality related issues in Europe
European Medicines Agencyhe European Medicines Agency (EMA) is a decentralised agency of the European Union (EU). It is responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision and safety monitoring of medicines.
General Pharmaceutical CouncilOur main job is to protect, promote and maintain the health, safety and wellbeing of members of the public by upholding standards and public trust in pharmacy.
We are a statutory organisation set up by the UK and Scottish parliaments, and we are independent from government and those we regulate. Our role and functions are set out in legislation called the Pharmacy Order.
We are funded by fees paid by the pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and pharmacies that register with us.
We have a governing council made up of pharmacy professionals and members of the public
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistryhe International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)
The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) is the world authority on digital standards in chemistry; chemical nomenclature and terminology, including the naming of new elements in the periodic table; on standardized methods for measurement; and on atomic weights. Founded in 1919, IUPAC has been creating the common language of chemistry for more than a century.
IUPAC is a leader in the provision of objective scientific expertise for the resolution of critical global issues that involve every aspect of chemistry, all of which have societal impact. Our scientific work is conducted largely through a formal project system, in which proposals from chemists around the world are peer-reviewed and, if meritorious, are approved and supported. In addition, IUPAC is involved in a wide range of diverse activities that ultimately impact both the chemical profession and society as a whole.
IUPAC unites chemists worldwide and we fulfill our mission by fostering sustainable development, providing a common language for chemistry, and advocating the free exchange of scientific information.
IUPHAR/BPS guide to pharmacologyThe IUPHAR database (https://www.iuphar-db.org), which is now accessible via the Guide to PHARMACOLOGY portal (https://www.guidetopharmacology.org), with a remit to:
provide access to data on all known biological targets;
enable students and scientists in academia and industry, working in areas related to pharmacology and drug/target research, to exploit the full potential of the considerable amount of information on drug action available in the published literature;
provide an entry point into the pharmacological literature for basic and clinical scientists from other disciplines;
provide an integrated educational resource with access to high quality training in the principles of basic and clinical pharmacology and techniques;
foster innovative drug discovery.
NICE Medicines and prescribingNICE helps practitioners and commissioners get the best care to patients, fast, while ensuring value for the taxpayer.
We do this by:
producing useful and usable guidance for health and care practitioners
providing rigorous, independent assessment of complex evidence for new health technologies
developing recommendations that focus on what matters most and drive innovation into the hands of health and care practitioners
encouraging the uptake of best practice to improve outcomes for everyone.
PubChemPubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Each month our website and programmatic services provide data to several million users worldwide.
PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
PubmedPubMed is a free database accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. The United States National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health maintains the database
Royal Pharmaceutical SocietyOur mission is to put pharmacy at the forefront of healthcare.
Our vision is to become the world leader in the safe and effective use of medicines.
Since the Society was founded in 1841 we have championed the profession, and are internationally renowned as publishers of medicines information. Our Royal Charter gives us a unique status in pharmacy.
We promote pharmacy in the media and government, lead the way in medicines information, and support pharmacists in their education and development.
Royal Society of ChemistryOur education policy team has two main aims: first, to ensure a consistent supply of chemistry educators in the future, through policy work relating to the recruitment, retention and development of specialist chemistry teachers. And second, to influence the advancement of the chemistry curriculum, along with related assessment and qualifications.
The British Toxicology SocietyA site for all fields of professional toxicologists. Within the site you will find details of Scientific Meetings, Continuing Professional Development, Job Vacancies, Careers Advice, News and items of interest to BTS members
PubChemTOXNET - Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases
United States PharmacopoeiaUSP is an independent, scientific nonprofit organization focused on building trust in the supply of safe, quality medicines. We are working to strengthen the global supply chain so that the medicines people rely on for health are available when needed and work as expected.
For over 200 years, USP has worked to build trust where it matters most: in the world's medicines, dietary supplements and foods. Through our rigorous science and the public quality standards we set, USP helps protect patient safety and improve the health of people around the world.
WorldwideScience.orgWorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Disclaimer
We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions
