Subject & Study Guides: Social Studies/Practice: Databases & E journals

Databases and other online resources

Databases
Other Resources Online

Academic Source Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology

EPPI (Evidence for policy & Practice) The EPPI Centre provides and is involved in supporting a number of databases containing primary research studies and evidence reviews, many of which have been used in EPPI Centre systematic reviews. The databases give access to full references for primary data studies on which our research synthesis is based along with a basic description of study characteristics. Results of individual studies should be considered in light of study quality. Information on and links to each of these databases is provided below. The database of EPPI Centre systematic reviews can be searched in the evidence library.

ERIC: Educational Resources Information Centre This link opens in a new window The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.

Europe PCM Europe PMC is at the heart of open science. We partner with other organisations to build robust public tools to provide access to open content and data, and to advance life sciences research.

Health Research Premium This link opens in a new window Over 4,500 full text health and medical journals Plus instructional videos, grey literature, and more Your single point of access for many types of content such as Business and Management

JSTOR

Lenus This link opens in a new window LENUS is the Irish health repository for the HSE. It contains reports, research and other Irish health publications produced by the Department of Health, the former Health Boards, the HSE, Irish hospitals and other Irish health organisations
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO (abstract database) This link opens in a new window American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.

Sage Business & Management Trial until 12th May 2021

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Search a database providing Scientific, Business, Accounting, Technical and Medical information. ScienceDirect is an excellent database providing access to fulltext and abstracts.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Coverage: Launched in 2004 by Elsevier. Peer-reviewed journals, books and conferences in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Plus tools to track, analyse and visualise research.

SSOAR (Social Science Open Access Repository) The full-text server SSOAR, which is maintained at GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, collects and archives literature of relevance to the social sciences and makes it available in open access on the Internet in accordance with the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities. By archiving works in SSOAR, authors and publishers support free access to scientific information and optimised visibility of social science research results. SSOAR primarily pursues the so-called “Green Road to Open Access” (OA) and sees itself as a secondary publisher of quality-controlled literature.
Social Science Premium Collection ProQuest’s Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering all areas of social sciences including international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education.

SocIndex This link opens in a new window Coverage: Journals, books and conference papers in sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines: abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions.

Taylor & Francis Access available to approximately 1500 journal titles in Taylor & Francis’ Social Science and Humanities Collection, and over 200 journal titles in the Medical Collection. Literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Westlaw.ie This link opens in a new window Coverage: Irish Legal research service case law, legislation, court rules, journals, current awareness, and access to selected commentary titles.
Westlaw.uk This link opens in a new window Coverage: EU and international material, UK case law, legislation, court rules, journals, current awareness, and access to selected commentary titles.

Central Statistics Office
Economic & Social Research Institute
ERIC The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
ETHOS
Google Scholar
Ireland Open Data Portal Promoting innovation and transparency through the publication of Irish Public Sector data in open, free and reusable formats
Jove Videos
Open Access Textbooks
SSRN (Social Science Research Network) SSRN´s eLibrary provides 950,733 research papers from 503,172 researchers in more than 60 disciplines.
UK Data Archives Home to the UK's largest collection of social, economic and population data for over 50 years, we provide researchers with training, support and data access as lead partner of the UK Data Service.

Peer review

Articles in peer reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the 'gold' standard in academic articles. You will be expected to use peer reviewed journal articles in your assignments

Copyright

This Libguide is licensed under Creative Commons as