Giving Voice:Mobile Communication, Disability, and Inequality by
How communication technologies meant to empower people with speech disorders--to give voice to the voiceless--are still subject to disempowering structural inequalities. Mobile technologies are often hailed as a way to "give voice to the voiceless." Behind the praise, though, are beliefs about technology as a gateway to opportunity and voice as a metaphor for agency and self-representation. In Giving Voice, Meryl Alper explores these assumptions by looking closely at one such case--the use of the Apple iPad and mobile app Proloquo2Go, which converts icons and text into synthetic speech, by children with disabilities (including autism and cerebral palsy) and their families. She finds that despite claims to empowerment, the hardware and software are still subject to disempowering structural inequalities. Views of technology as a great equalizer, she illustrates, rarely account for all the ways that culture, law, policy, and even technology itself can reinforce disparity, particularly for those with disabilities. Alper explores, among other things, alternative understandings of voice, the surprising sociotechnical importance of the iPad case, and convergences and divergences in the lives of parents across class. She shows that working-class and low-income parents understand the app and other communication technologies differently from upper- and middle-class parents, and that the institutional ecosystem reflects a bias toward those more privileged. Handing someone a talking tablet computer does not in itself give that person a voice. Alper finds that the ability to mobilize social, economic, and cultural capital shapes the extent to which individuals can not only speak but be heard.
Autism Spectrum Disorder by
What are the historical foundations of autism and what precisely is meant by the ′autistic spectrum′? How can we explain behavioural patterns of people with autism, young or old, and what are the major theoretical bases for understanding these? What is the latest thinking regarding diagnosis, and what are the most effective strategies for assessment, education and care for people with this condition?Following on from the popular provocative first edition, the Second Edition answers these questions with the latest research on autistic spectrum disorders, exploring theories at the psychological, neurobiological and ′first cause′ levels to methods of assessment, intervention, education and support. Already popular as an introductory text for those wanting to know more about autism as well as a source of basic information and references for those familiar with the field, this newly updated and enhanced book is invaluable for students, professionals and even families.
Dyslexia: Surviving and succeeding with dyslexia at college by
Dyslexia: Surviving and Succeeding at College is a practical and easy-to-read guide for dyslexic and dyspraxic students. Clearly and simply written, in a dyslexia-friendly format, it addresses not just study skills, but also more general aspects of coping with student life. Each chapter includes step-by-step strategies which can be put into practice from the very first day at college. You will learn how to develop effective study skills such as: reading strategies to improve your accuracy and comprehension skills how to make your note-taking efficient and useful for essay writing feeling confident in contributing to seminars memory strategies for study and everyday life how to organise your time and plan your work. Sylvia Moody recognises that adapting to student life generally is as important as developing study skills. Guidance is given to assist you in finding your way around campus, building relationships with tutors, managing emotional development and preparing for the world of work. Full of invaluable self-help strategies, this book will empower you to improve your skills in all areas. The book will also be useful to subject tutors who wish to learn about dyslexia, and to dyslexia tutors and co-ordinators who want to give practical advice to their students. Dr Sylvia Moody is a freelance writer and psychologist specialising in adult dyslexia.
Dyslexia and Other Learning Difficulties by
Dyslexia and other learning difficulties: The Facts addresses problems many intelligent children face who, while having normal IQ levels, still struggle to learn in the classroom setting. A short attention span, restlessness, an inability to write clearly, and reading comprehension well belowage level are all indicators of learning disabilities, and this book offers a clear and sympathetic guide to the difficulties that parents and teachers face when working with a child with these sorts of obstacles to learning.The book deals with difficulties in traditional academic areas such as reading, spelling, and arithmetic, but also looks into lesser known conditions like clumsiness, social unease, and hyperactivity. Providing practical advice to parents to help understand their children's difficulties and to helpthem overcome problems and improve their self-esteem, Dyslexia and other learning difficulties: The Facts also offers a number of suggestions for managing difficult behaviour.This new edition has been fully updated and draws on the most recent research on learning difficulties and some associated disorders and their treatments. It also provides information about electronic and computer aids that are now available to help individuals with learning difficulties. Thisencouraging approach and easy-to-read style will appeal to parents as well as to professionals who work with children with learning disabilities.
Managing Dyslexia at University by
A thorough and comprehensive guide for both education professionals and those affected by dyslexia, this book is predominantly a guidebook. It includes lots of practical advice and is based on the authors' sound knowledge of current theory and practice. It includes: photocopiable materials contact and reference details personal organisation advice ways forward for potential problems information on secondary or associated difficulties.
Special Educational Needs by
Covering contemporary policy issues, perspectives from practice and a range of common syndromes and barriers Special Educational Needspresents a wealth of information and guidance for students and professionals on how to achieve effective, inclusive practice. Second edition features include: · fully revised annotated further readings and links to useful websites; · a new chapter on Autism and Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA) · a new chapter on Down Syndrome · updated reference to legislation, including the SEND Code of Practice (2014) · updated case studies covering 0-18 age range Thiscomprehensive course text is ideal for students, teachers, practitioners and specialists, and provides a solid foundation for understanding and supporting learners with additional needs.
Can We Read Letters? by
"In their new book, Finn Egil Tønnessen and Per Henning Uppstad provide a set of theoretical and philosophical reflections on research in reading and dyslexia. It is a pleasure to welcome this book, which reflects the many contributions made by researchers at the National Centre for Reading Education and Research in Stavanger, Norway." - Professor Usha Goswami, University of Cambridge. Careful reflection on the concepts and methods used is a prerequisite for further development in any field of research. The authors think cognitive psychology has become too dominant in reading and dyslexia research, arguing that it should be combined with behaviourism and connectionism - in part by focusing on the concept of 'skill'. The key components of a skill are claimed to be automaticity, awareness and shifts between them. Reading is defined as an interpretative skill, which should be viewed from the perspective of hermeneutics. The authors use these fundamental analyses and definitions to shed new light on the 'balanced approach to reading instruction', 'reading fluency' and other key concepts. The book also deals with problems in the definition of 'dyslexia' and proposes a method to arrive at clear and fruitful definitions. It concludes with a chapter trying to answer the question of in what sense, or to what extent, it can be claimed that reading and dyslexia research has made progress. The book mainly builds on articles published over the past 25 years by Professor Finn Egil Tønnessen at the National Centre for Reading Education and Research, Stavanger, Norway.
Dyspraxia 2nd Edition by
Up to ten per cent of the population is believed to suffer from some form of dyspraxia. Accessible and engaging, this practical guide provides teachers with tips and techniques for teaching students with dyspraxia."There are symptoms, there are problems, there are frustrations, there are tears. But there are strategies that can lead to positive outcomes. And while it is important to understand where it comes from, providing support and guidance is what this book is all about." From the introduction This book will prove invaluable reading for everyone who works with young people.This new edition contains new chapters on cures and adolescence.
Essentials of Dyslexia Assessment and Intervention by
Quickly acquire the knowledge and skills you need to effectively understand, assess, and treat individuals struggling with dyslexia Essentials of Dyslexia Assessment and Intervention provides practical, step-by-step information on accurately identifying, assessing, and using evidence-based interventions with individuals with dyslexia. Addressing the components that need to be considered in the assessment of dyslexia--both cognitive and academic--this book includes descriptions of the various tests used in a comprehensive dyslexia assessment along with detailed, evidence-based interventions that professionals and parents can use to help individuals struggling with dyslexia. Like all the volumes in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series, each concise chapter features numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as test questions that help you gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered. Providing an in-depth look at dyslexia, this straightforward book presents information that will prepare school psychologists, neuropsychologists, educational diagnosticians, special education teachers, as well as general education teachers, to recognize, assess, and provide effective treatment programs for dyslexia. The book is also a good resource for parents who are helping a child with dyslexia. A practical guide to understanding, assessing, and helping individuals who have dyslexia Expert advice and tips throughout Conveniently formatted for rapid reference Other titles in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series: Essentials of Assessment Report Writing Essentials of School Neuropsychological Assessment Essentials of Evidence-Based Academic Interventions Essentials of Response to Intervention Essentials of Processing Assessment Essentials of Conners Behavior Assessments Essentials of Cross-Battery Assessment, Second Edition Essentials of WISC-IV Assessment, Second Edition
Handbook of Educational Psychology and Students with Special Needs by
Handbook of Educational Psychology and Students with Special Needs provides educational and psychological researchers, practitioners, policy-makers, and graduate students with critical expertise on the factors and processes relevant to learning for students with special needs. This includes students with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, other executive function difficulties, behavior and emotional disorders, autism spectrum disorder, intellectual disabilities, learning disabilities, dyslexia, language and communication difficulties, physical and sensory disabilities, and more. With the bulk of educational psychology focused on "mainstream" or "typically developing" learners, relatively little educational psychology theory, research, measurement, or practice has attended to students with "special needs." As clearly demonstrated in this book, the factors and processes studied within educational psychology--motivation and engagement, cognition and neuroscience, social-emotional development, instruction, home and school environments, and more--are vital to all learners, especially those at risk or disabled. Integrating guidance from the DSM-5 by the American Psychiatric Association and the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-10) by the World Health Organization, this book synthesizes and builds on existing interdisciplinary research to establish a comprehensive case for effective psycho-educational theory, research, and practice that address learners with special needs. Twenty-seven chapters by experts in the field are structured into three parts on diverse special needs categories, perspectives from major educational psychology theories, and constructs relevant to special needs learning, development, and knowledge building.
Outside the Box: Rethinking ADD/ADHD in Children and Adults
Outside the Box: Rethinking ADD/ADHD in Children and Adults -- A Practical Guide identifies assumptions about ADD/ADHD that demand reevaluation in light of recent research. Building upon a current, science-based foundation, the book describes in practical terms how ADHD can be recognized at various ages; how it differs from more typical brain development; how it can significantly impair those affected; and how it can safely, and in most cases effectively, be treated in children and adults. The book is based upon current scientific research but also on the experience and perspective of the author, a clinician who has devoted more than 35 years to studying this disorder formally and countless hours to engaging with and providing treatment for a diversity of children, teenagers, and adults with ADHD and related problems. The book's audience is the wide variety of clinicians involved in assessing, treating, and/or monitoring the care of children and adults with this disorder (e.g., pediatricians, primary care physicians, psychologists, psychiatrists, neurologists, physician assistants, advanced practice nurses, and clinical social workers) and also educators, disability service providers, human resource specialists, and the adolescents and adults who seek more information about ADHD assessment and treatment for themselves or for family or friends. The book offers practical, accessible information that is grounded in the latest research: * The book is focused not primarily on details of academic arguments but on practical aspects of ADHD -- how it varies from one person to another, how it changes over the life span, how treatments need to be adjusted for different individuals, and how it sometimes gets worse and sometimes gets better.* Emphasizing that ADHD is not a simple problem of failing to listen or staying focused on a task, the author examines research demonstrating that ADHD results from impairment of a complex syndrome of brain functions essential for self-management, the "executive functions." * While DSM-5 is acknowledged as a valuable source of information about ADHD, this book draws upon a wider range of scientific research and perspectives not yet incorporated into DSM. * Although accessible to the general reader, the text includes citations to sources that can be used to obtain additional, more technical information. Utterly current and scientifically based, Outside the Box: Rethinking ADD/ADHD in Children and Adults -- A Practical Guide challenges old thinking and provides much-needed information and support to clinicians, educators, patients, and families.
Principles and Practices of Working with Pupils with Special Educational Needs and Disability by
Providing insight into current research, and comprehensive guidance on recent legislation and policy, this key text offers anyone working or preparing to work with children with SEND with essential academic and theoretical understanding to underpin and inform existing and future practice. Exploring prime areas in which professionals work directly with children with SEND, chapters broach current issues and debates relating to practice, and examine recent advances in research, policy and legislation in areas including education, health and social care. This interdisciplianry approach, coupled with case studies, points for reflection and clearly signposted activities throughout, gives readers the opportunity to develop a thorough understanding of the complexities surrounding SEND and enables them to relate these to their own practice. Packed with practical tips and examples of best practice, topics discussed include: approaches to inclusion, integration and segregation competing discourses surrounding SEND and their impacts on children, families and professionals safeguarding and the voice of the child multi-agency work and the changing role of the SEND practitioner working in partnership with parents and families research and practice in relation to issues such as Autistic Spectrum Disorder, chromosomal and gestational diversity, ADHD and Profound and Multiple Learning Disabilities and Difficulties. Demystifying changes to policy, exploring legislation, and identifying best practice, this invaluable resource will support students, SEND practitioners and professionals to develop and enhance practice with children with SEND.
Smart but Stuck by
Compelling stories that present a new view of ADHD Smart but Stuck offers 15 true and compelling stories about intelligent, capable teens and adults who have gotten "stuck" at school, work, and/or in social relationships because of their ADHD. Dr. Brown highlights the often unrecognized role that emotions play in this complex disorder. He explains why even very bright people with ADHD get stuck because they can focus well on some tasks that interest them, but often can't focus adequately on other important tasks and relationships. The first book to explain and illustrate the crucial role of emotions in the daily functioning of those living with ADHD Brown, Associate Director of the Yale Clinic for Attention & Related Disorders, is an internationally known authority on ADHD Drawing on the latest research findings, the book describes strategies and treatments for getting "unstuck" to move on to a more rewarding and productive life.
Special Brothers and Sisters
Special Brothers and Sisters is a collection of real-life accounts from the brothers and sisters of children with special needs, disability or serious illness, ranging in age from 3 to 18 years. They explain, in their own words, what it's like to live with their siblings. There is a lot of advice available for parents of a child with a disability or illness, but very little about the important issue of educating their siblings about how they feel, and why they may behave differently from other children. These stories - from 40 different families - come with related tips to help siblings deal with some of the things that happen in their family lives. The book also provides a helpful glossary to explain, in child-friendly language, the disabilities and medical conditions mentioned, including: * ADHD * autism * cerebral palsy * cystic fibrosis * Down syndrome Special Brothers and Sisters is an engaging and educational collection that will enable young people and adults to share in the extraordinary experience of being a sibling of a child with special needs, a disability or serious illness.
Special Education Transition Services for Students with Disabilities
While services for students with disabilities have been vastly improved in recent years, and research has created far greater awareness for the issues they face, there are still many obstacles to overcome as these students progress through the education system. This book discusses the considerable challenges these students conquer in education, varying relationships with teachers and academics, learning resources, and everyday social situations. Beginning with an introduction to transition services and students with disabilities, this invaluable text goes on to discuss a wide range of disability topics. Leaders in the field of transition services present recent research on students with learning disabilities, deaf/hard of hearing students, those who have visual impairments, autistic students, those with extensive support needs, physical disabilities, and more. This book is an excellent resource for special education researchers, scholars, practitioners, and professionals who teach and serve students with disabilities.
