Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Preparing Reading Lists: Guide for Academics

This is a step by step guide for preparing your reading lists for 2021

Search our Collections

This 5-step guide will provide you with all the information you need to review our collections and our latest book and eBook purchases in your subject area.

1. Review our Latest Collections

2. Check what Open Educational Resources we have identified in your area 

3. Book in a Reading List Review

4. Request a Title/Resource 

5. Preparing a Book List: Library support on best practice


Library Clinic on Preparing Reading Lists for Staff - No booking necessary
Every Tuesday and Thursday, beginning Tuesday 31st of August and ending Thursday 16th of September inclusive.
Zoom Link: 
https://ait-ie.zoom.us/j/83576555863?pwd=S1ZlbmRjS2lBak1wL2dLZ2xGRitDZz09 
Meeting ID: 823 4922 8009
Passcode: Library21

The first of these short video tutorials will show you how to link students to e-resources such a e-books and online journal articles that you find using our Discover@AIT searching tool using persistent links. Persistent links can also be referred to as permalinks or stable URLs, and these are durable links that will not expire or disappear after a certain length of time.

The second video tutorial will show you how to use a persistent link to access an e-book in Ebook Central. It's important to note that the Library provides access to many titles in Ebook Central via subscription. If a title is part of a subscription, it may be removed and access discontinued.

 

All off campus access to AIT Library online resources (ejournals, ebooks and databases) is available to AIT Students and Staff via the library website https://library.ait.ie/.

To access our resources you will need your AIT username and password (the same username and password you use to access Moodle).

Access Journal Titles through the library website, click on the link 'Journal Title Search' https://library.ait.ie/

AIT research repository can be accessed here: https://research.thea.ie/

Access the library's print collection and eBooks through the library catalogue here; to search for eBooks only, go to advanced search and choose eBooks to narrow it down:  https://libsearch.ait.ie. 

Alternatively, you can search through the various Ebook databases at https://library.ait.ie/collections/ebooks/

Some resources to read and download eBooks online freely:

You can consult our Open Access Textbooks libguide, it is specially curated to reflect the disciplines taught in AIT:

Open Access Textbooks