Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purchase Suggestions Welcome
Search the Library Catalogue
Book of the Month - May 2022
Summer by From Heather Morris, the New York Times bestselling author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilka's Journey: a story of family, courage, and resilience, inspired by a true story. Against all odds, three Slovakian sisters have survived years of imprisonment in the most notorious death camp in Nazi Germany: Auschwitz. Livia, Magda, and Cibi have clung together, nearly died from starvation and overwork, and the brutal whims of the guards in this place of horror. But now, the allies are closing in and the sisters have one last hurdle to face: the death march from Auschwitz, as the Nazis try to erase any evidence of the prisoners held there. Due to a last minute stroke of luck, the three of them are able to escape formation and hide in the woods for days before being rescued. And this is where the story begins. From there, the three sisters travel to Israel, to their new home, but the battle for freedom takes on new forms. Livia, Magda, and Cibi must face the ghosts of their past--and some secrets that they have kept from each other--to find true peace and happiness. Inspired by a true story, and with events that overlap with those of Lale, Gita, and Cilka, The Three Sisters will hold a place in readers' hearts and minds as they experience what true courage really is.
Publication Date: 2021-10-05
New Book Arrivals
Applied Data Science in Tourism by Access to large data sets has led to a paradigm shift in the tourism research landscape. Big data is enabling a new form of knowledge gain, while at the same time shaking the epistemological foundations and requiring new methods and analysis approaches. It allows for interdisciplinary cooperation between computer sciences and social and economic sciences, and complements the traditional research approaches. This book provides a broad basis for the practical application of data science approaches such as machine learning, text mining, social network analysis, and many more, which are essential for interdisciplinary tourism research. Each method is presented in principle, viewed analytically, and its advantages and disadvantages are weighed up and typical fields of application are presented. The correct methodical application is presented with a "how-to" approach, together with code examples, allowing a wider reader base including researchers, practitioners, and students entering the field. The book is a very well-structured introduction to data science - not only in tourism - and its methodological foundations, accompanied by well-chosen practical cases. It underlines an important insight: data are only representations of reality, you need methodological skills and domain background to derive knowledge from them - Hannes Werthner, Vienna University of Technology Roman Egger has accomplished a difficult but necessary task: make clear how data science can practically support and foster travel and tourism research and applications. The book offers a well-taught collection of chapters giving a comprehensive and deep account of AI and data science for tourism - Francesco Ricci, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano This well-structured and easy-to-read book provides a comprehensive overview of data science in tourism. It contributes largely to the methodological repository beyond traditional methods. - Rob Law, University of Macau
Publication Date: 2022-02-01 / Book
Bacterial Viruses by The potential of bacterial viruses (bacteriophages or phages) as antibacterial agents was recognised over a century ago. However, the success of antibiotic therapy from the 1940s onwards caused a general decline in the applications of phages as therapeutics. Nonetheless, recent decades have seen a disquieting proliferation of pathogenic bacteria resistant to multiple antibiotics commonly used in human and veterinary medicine, in turn leading towards a crisis in public health. The renewed exploration of phages and their molecular components for biocontrol and therapeutics offers a complementary approach for eliminating problematic bacteria across a range of sectors where bacterial infections and contaminations are a persistent problem. Written by internationally-recognised scientists involved in the exploitation of bacterial viruses in diverse areas from around the world, this book provides comprehensive coverage of the current research in several phage applications for biocontrol of undesirable bacteria in human and veterinary medicine, horticulture, aquaculture and food. Chapters from the famous centres of phage therapy in Wroclaw and Tbilisi detail some of the pioneering historical contributions to the topic. The book also examines the impact of phages on the human microbiome as well as the progress of research in phage engineering, phage enzymes, phage delivery systems, biodetection as well as intellectual property aspects. Aimed at research scientists, advanced students and other professionals, this informative and up-to-date book is a recommended acquisition for all science and medical libraries.
Publication Date: 2020-06-01
Business Information by Strauss's Handbook of Business Information serves a primary source for finding and understanding business information. It contains explanation and instruction on the key facets of business information and provides detailed descriptions of key resources within both broad and specific categories. It can be used as a guide to further understanding the what, how, and why of business information research. The changing arena of business information requires regular updating and awareness. This new edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded with four new chapters: Entrepreneurship, Competitive Intelligence, Corporate Social Responsibility, and Non-Profit Organizations. Other additions of note include subsections on internet and mobile marketing, tax havens and related issues, coverage of new legislations (e.g., Dodd-Frank), subsections on index funds, investment communities, regulatory bodies and laws, hedge funds, venture capital companies, assessing risks, robo-advisors, and more. The Handbook is for students, faculty, librarians, and information professionals looking to gain a broader and deeper understanding of business information. Anyone needing to gain quick exposure to specific business information needs, and possible information resources for solutions, will benefit from the volume as well.
Publication Date: 2020-08-24 / Book
Contract Law by Unfold the problem >Reveal the law > Apply to life: A uniquely practical approach to contract law. Engaging and innovative, this text uses problems and illustrations to help students quickly grasp core concepts, identify relevant issues, engage with key debates, and apply their learning to real-life contexts. Unfold the problem - Each chapter starts with a problem scenario to set the law into its real world context and help students to think about the relevant issues; illustrations throughout the chapter build on the problem, developing understanding of the topic. Reveal the law - As students explore the problem, the core concepts in the subject area are clearly set out and explained to give them a thorough knowledge of the law. - 'Case in depth' boxes provide more detailed commentary on the most influential cases to enable students to understand their relevance. - 'Debates in context' boxes highlight areas of the law where commentators and academics disagree, helping students to reflect on the operation of the law and potential future changes in the law. - 'Practice in context' boxes give insight into how the law interacts with everyday life and business, prompting students to think about the reality of contracts and to give a practical grounding in the subject. - Thoroughly modern: the textbook takes account of the numerous recent developments in the subject area, seamlessly integrating coverage of the most recent developments into that of more traditional concepts. Apply to life - This fresh and distinctively practical approach allows students to see how the law operates in practical situations which they may encounter in everyday life or in business, and to think about how successfully the law does its job. - The carefully considered pedagogy thoroughout encourages deep learning to help students develop the critical analysis and problem-solving skills they need for university and beyond. Perfectly-pitched for law undergraduates, the book's contents and approach align neatly with those of the majority of contract law courses, covering all the key areas but never over-simplifying. Online resources: This book is accompanied by online resources including podcasts and videos to support your learning.
Publication Date: 2019-07-16 / Book
Contract Law by A complete guide to contract law in a single volume. Comprising a unique balance of 60% text to 40% cases and materials, Contract Law: Text, Cases, and Materials combines the best features of a textbook with those of a traditional casebook. The author's clear explanations and analysis of thelaw provide invaluable support to students, while the extracts from cases and materials promote the development of essential case-reading skills and allow for a more detailed appreciation of the practical workings of the law.Online resourcesThe book is accompanied by online resources which include:- Extra material with in-depth coverage of topics such as illegality and incapacity- Updates on recent developments in the law- Self-test multiple choice questions and answers- Annotated web links to key sources of information on contract law
Publication Date: 2020-07-18 / Book
Designing and Managing Your Research Project by Written for advanced undergraduate students, postgraduate students planning theses and dissertations and other early career researchers, Designing and Managing Your Research Project helps you successfully plan and complete your research project by showing the key skills that you will need. The book covers: " choosing research methods " developing research objectives " writing proposals " literature reviews " getting ethics approval " seeking funding " managing a project " software skills " working with colleagues and supervisors " communicating research findings " writing reports, theses and journal articles " careers in research. Designing and Managing Your Research Project includes lots of examples, case studies and practical exercises to help you learn the research skills you will need and also to help you complete crucial project tasks. A key feature is its user-friendly guidance on planning projects and accessing information from the Internet.
Publication Date: 2010-10-04/ Ebook
Essential Calculations for Veterinary Nurses and Technicians by Learn to easily master the types of veterinary nursing calculations you will face on the job with Essential Calculations for Veterinary Nurses and Technicians, 3rd Edition. From basic arithmetic to dilutions and statistics, this useful text covers all aspects of calculations as applied to veterinary nursing. Readers will benefit from the text's common sense approach to clinical situations, and complete the book knowing how to use calculations to determine dosage rates, anesthetic flow rates, radiography exposure rates, parenteral nutrition, and more. User-friendly features include simple language, detailed explanations, ample examples, and special author guidance so that content is easy to follow and understand. Plus, the text's abundance of learning features - such as self-assessment questions, clinical hints, and tips - help clarify important concepts and ensure that you have mastered everything you need to make calculations in the day-to-day clinical environment. Self-test sections with clinical hints and tips ensure retention of core concepts. Mathematical explanations using veterinary terms presents all principles in a manner that directly pertains to the veterinary field. Comprehensive content covers everything from basic arithmetic to dilutions and statistics so users have everything needed to succeed in calculations for veterinary nursing and technology. Dimensional analysis bridge method removes the necessity of memorizing formulae and takes advantage of simplifying equations so that calculators are often unnecessary. NEW! Reviewed and updated drugs throughout the book provide dosage calculations that coincide with drugs currently used in the field for the most clinical relevance. NEW! Additional math problems housed on the Evolve companion website offer substantial additional practice.
Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Essential Concepts of Environmental Communication by This book draws on a broad spectrum of environmental communications and related cross-disciplinary literature to help students and scholars grasp the interconnecting key concepts within this ever-expanding field of study. Aligning climate change and environmental learning through media and communications, particularly taking into account the post-COVID challenge of sustainability, remains one of the most important concerns within environmental communications. Addressing this challenge, Essential Concepts for Environmental Communication synthesises summary writings from a broad range of environmental theorists, while teasing out provocative concepts and key ideas that frame this evolving, multi-disciplinary field. Each entry maps out an important concept or environmental idea and illustrates how it relates more broadly across the growing field of environmental communication debates. Included in this volume is a full section dedicated to exploring what environmental communication might look like in a post-COVID setting: * Offers cutting-edge analysis of the current state of environmental communications. * Presents an up-to-date exploration of environmental and sustainable development models at a local and global level. * Provides an in-depth exploration of key concepts across the ever-expanding environmental communications field. * Examines the interaction between environmental and media communications at all levels. * Provides a critical review of contemporary environmental communications literature and scholarship. With key bibliographical references and further reading included alongside the entries, this innovative and accessible volume will be of great interest to students, scholars and practitioners alike.
Publication Date: 2022-04-15 / Ebook
Horse and Stable Management by A comprehensive guide to the care and management of horses and ponies. The aim of this volume is to provide a reliable source of information and advice on all practical aspects of horse and stable management. The manual has been compiled by a panel of experts each drawing on considerable experience and contributing specialised knowledge on his or her chosen subject. Filled with reliable information and advice on modern stable management practices, the book provides a sound foundation for Horse Knowledge and Care. Throughout, the emphasis is on the adoption of correct and safe procedures for the welfare of all who come into contact with horses, as well as for the animals themselves. Coverage includes: The Horse Care of the Horse Watering and Feeding Saddlery and Tack Specialist Care of the Competition Horse The Horse at Grass The Stable Yard
Publication Date: 2008-09-01 / Book
Influence of Microplastics on Environmental and Human Health by Microplastics have received increased attention in the research world over the last ten years. A number of significant publications by the World Health Organisation, European Union, SAPEA, and GESAMP have highlighted this growing environmental and health emergency. This book provides an accessible introduction to the microplastic problem and details its potential impact both on nature and human health. Filled with the latest developments in the field, it attempts to address the gaps in our knowledge of microplastics and also proposes additional areas of research and impact to be considered to resolve this crisis. It will be of interest to researchers and academics working in the areas of microplastic pollution, microplastic detection, and the impact of microplastics on environmental and human health. It will also be of use to undergraduate students of environmental programmes, analytical programmes, and public health programmes. Key Features: Chapters describe the impact of our reliance on plastics in certain sectors and how they relate to microplastic pollution Investigates emerging solutions to the microplastic pollution Presents a multi-disciplinary perspective, covering topics such as analytical techniques, quantitative techniques, environmental monitoring, and human health monitoring
Publication Date: 2022-03-14
The Law of Trusts by The Core Text Series takes the reader straight to the heart of the subject, providing a reliable and invaluable guide for students of law at all levels. Written by leading academics and renowned for their clarity, these concise texts explain the intellectual challenges of each area of the law. The Law of Trusts provides a concise, yet academically rigorous, textbook that skilfully engages with both controversial and complex issues within the subject. James Penner offers perceptive analysis and original and thought-provoking commentary to give students an excellent grounding in what is considered to be a challenging subject. Drawing on a variety of learning features, including summaries of key issues discussed in each chapter, must-read cases, assessment questions, and carefully selected further reading, this approachable and thorough textbook equips students with the tools they need to engage critically with the subject. Digital formats and resources The twelfth edition is avilable for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources. · The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features, and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooks · The online resources include: bi-annual updates on the latest key developments in equity & trusts, and self-test questions on key topics, with feedback, providing an opportunity for students to test and consolidate their learning.
Publication Date: 2022-05-10
Microbial Infections and Cancer Therapy by This book deals with the emerging concept that certain pathogenic bacteria and viruses, when infecting people with cancer, actively fight tumors, allowing their regression. Although such observations go back more than 100 years, use of specific bacterial strains, or viruses, usually genetically modified with known anticancer drugs, and their protein/peptide products, has gained ground in recent years, allowing significant cancer regression in clinical trials with stage III/IV cancer patients or even in pediatric brain tumor patients, often without any demonstration of toxicity. It is composed of 12 chapters written by pioneers in microbial, biotech, and cancer research and covers the emerging roles of various microorganisms and their products in cancer therapy. The book highlights the benefits of using conventional cancer treatments (such as chemo- and radiotherapies) with microbial-based therapies. Such combinatorial therapies have gained particular attention as a strategy to overcome drug resistance, and the readers of the book will discover their impact on fundamental research and promising results from clinical trials.
Publication Date: 2019-02-13 / Ebook
Our House Is on Fire by "A must-read ecological message of hope . . . Everyone with an interest in the future of this planet should read this book." --David Mitchell, The Guardian When climate activist Greta Thunberg was eleven, her parents Malena and Svante, and her little sister Beata, were facing a crisis in their own home. Greta had stopped eating and speaking, and her mother and father had reconfigured their lives to care for her. Desperate and searching for answers, her parents discovered what was at the heart of Greta's distress: her imperiled future on a rapidly heating planet. Steered by Greta's determination to understand the truth and generate change, they began to see the deep connections between their own suffering and the planet's. Written by a remarkable family and told through the voice of an iconoclastic mother, Our House Is on Fire is the story of how they fought their problems at home by taking global action. And it is the story of how Greta decided to go on strike from school, igniting a worldwide rebellion.
Publication Date: 2020-03-17
PPI Fundamentals of Surveying Practice Exam, 5th Edition - Comprehensive Practice Exam for the NCEES FS Surveying Exam by Comprehensive Practice Exam for the NCEES FS Surveying Exam Completely up to date to the NCEES CBT exam specifications, Fundamentals of Surveying Practice Exam, Fifth Edition contains a 110-question exam matching the specifications for knowledge areas and topics, and for approximate problem counts within those knowledge areas to build exam-day confidence and strengthen time-management skills. Pair Fundamentals of Surveying Practice Exam with the Surveyor Reference Manual, Seventh Edition and Solved Problems for a comprehensive review with the Fundamentals of Surveying Complete Exam Bundle. Key Features 110 multiple-choice problems presented in two sessions of 55 problems each Problems reflect the format, scope of topics, and level of difficulty of the NCEES computer-based Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam Like the FS exam, an average of 3 minutes is required to solve each problem in this book Step-by-step solutions to quantitative problems demonstrate efficient problem-solving approaches Qualitative solutions explain the correct answer, and present related supportive information such as surveying laws, regulations, and history Binding: Paperback Publisher: PPI, A Kaplan Company About the FS exam The NCEES Fundamentals of Surveying Exam is your first step in becoming a professional surveyor (P.S.). The exam is a closed book computer-based exam containing 110 questions. You will receive an electronic reference at the exam.
Publication Date: 2019-05-09
Teaching International Students by Teaching International Students explores the challenges presented to lecturer and student alike by increased cultural diversity within universities. Packed with practical advice from experienced practitioners and underpinned by reference to pedagogic theory throughout, topics covered include: the issues arising from international students studying alongside 'home' students the nature of learning and teacher-student relationships curriculum and development of teaching skills multicultural group work postgraduate supervision the experience of the international student Teaching International Students is essential reading. It demonstrates how improved training for teachers and a better understanding of the international student can enhance the experience of both and, ultimately, provide more positive learning environments for international students in the higher education system.
Publication Date: 2007-05-07 / Ebook
Thomas Szasz by Thomas Szasz wrote over thirty books and several hundred articles, replete with mordant criticism of psychiatry, in both scientific and popular periodicals. His works made him arguably one of the world's most recognized psychiatrists, albeit one of the most controversial.These writings have been translated into several languages and have earned him a worldwide following. Szasz was a man of towering intellect, sweeping historical knowledge, and deep-rooted, mostly libertarian, philosophical beliefs. He wrote with a lucid and acerbic wit, but usually in a way that isaccessible to general readers. His books cautioned against the indiscriminate power of psychiatry in courts and in society, and against the apparent rush to medicalize all human folly. They have spawned an eponymous ideology that has influenced, to various degrees, laws relating to mental health inseveral countries and states.This book critically examines the legacy of Thomas Szasz - a man who challenged the very concept of mental illness and questioned several practices of psychiatrists. The book surveys his many contributions including those in psychoanalysis, which are very often overlooked by his critics. Whileadmiring his seminal contribution to the debate, the book will also point to some of his assertions that merit closer scrutiny. Contributors to the book are drawn from various disciplines, including Psychiatry, Philosophy and Law; and are from various countries including the United States, Canada,New Zealand, United Kingdom and the Netherlands. Some contributors knew Thomas Szasz personally and spent many hours with him discussing issues he raised in his books and articles.The book will be fascinating reading for anyone interested in matters of mental health, human rights, and ethics.
Publication Date: 2019-03-31
Transforming Higher Education Through Universal Design for Learning by Providing insight into the background, theory and practical applications of Universal Design for Learning (UDL), Transforming Higher Education through Universal Design for Learning: An International Perspective examines and shares best practice in UDL implementation worldwide to provide strategies for strengthening student accessibility, engagement and learning outcomes through the development of flexible learning environments. Drawing upon insightful, research-based contributions from educators and student service specialists in Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Ireland, Israel, Norway, South Africa, Spain, the UK and all across the USA, this book: considers diversity in the form of disability, minority ethnic groups, gender identities, first generation university students and varying socio-economic backgrounds; brings together key thinkers and actors in the field of UDL and expertly maps its practices to the higher educational domain; explores the multiple means of representation, expression and engagement that combine to create a successful UDL framework. Each chapter not only provides a different perspective of how UDL has helped meet the needs of all students to ensure that education is accessible, culturally responsive and socially just, but also considers how this can then be implemented into higher education environments the world over. This book is a crucial read for those who want to make a positive difference in higher education provision and outcomes.
Publication Date: 2019-02-21 / Ebook