Game Audio Implementation by
Game Audio Implementation offers a unique practical approach to learning all about game audio. If you've always wanted to hear your sound or music in a real game then this is the book for you. Each chapter is accompanied by its own game level where you can see the techniques and theories in action before working through over 70 exercises to develop your own demo level. Taking you all the way from first principles to complex interactive systems in the industry standard Unreal Engine© you'll gain the skills to implement your sound and music along with a deep transferable knowledge of the principles you can apply across a range of other game development tools. The accompanying website (www.gameaudioimplementation.com) includes: 12 downloadable demonstration games A unique exercise level for you to develop for your portfolio An up-to-date online bibliography with further reading for each chapter A free sound library with hundreds of game SFX
Hands-On GPU Programming with Python and CUDA by
Build real-world applications with Python 2.7, CUDA 9, and CUDA 10. We suggest the use of Python 2.7 over Python 3.x, since Python 2.7 has stable support across all the libraries we use in this book. Key Features Expand your background in GPU programming--PyCUDA, scikit-cuda, and Nsight Effectively use CUDA libraries such as cuBLAS, cuFFT, and cuSolver Apply GPU programming to modern data science applications Book Description Hands-On GPU Programming with Python and CUDA hits the ground running: you'll start by learning how to apply Amdahl's Law, use a code profiler to identify bottlenecks in your Python code, and set up an appropriate GPU programming environment. You'll then see how to "query" the GPU's features and copy arrays of data to and from the GPU's own memory. As you make your way through the book, you'll launch code directly onto the GPU and write full blown GPU kernels and device functions in CUDA C. You'll get to grips with profiling GPU code effectively and fully test and debug your code using Nsight IDE. Next, you'll explore some of the more well-known NVIDIA libraries, such as cuFFT and cuBLAS. With a solid background in place, you will now apply your new-found knowledge to develop your very own GPU-based deep neural network from scratch. You'll then explore advanced topics, such as warp shuffling, dynamic parallelism, and PTX assembly. In the final chapter, you'll see some topics and applications related to GPU programming that you may wish to pursue, including AI, graphics, and blockchain. By the end of this book, you will be able to apply GPU programming to problems related to data science and high-performance computing. What you will learn Launch GPU code directly from Python Write effective and efficient GPU kernels and device functions Use libraries such as cuFFT, cuBLAS, and cuSolver Debug and profile your code with Nsight and Visual Profiler Apply GPU programming to datascience problems Build a GPU-based deep neuralnetwork from scratch Explore advanced GPU hardware features, such as warp shuffling Who this book is for Hands-On GPU Programming with Python and CUDA is for developers and data scientists who want to learn the basics of effective GPU programming to improve performance using Python code. You should have an understanding of first-year college or university-level engineering mathematics and physics, and have some experience with Python as well as in any C-based programming language such as C, C++, Go, or Java.
Making Musical Instruments by
Make some noise by creating your own homemade musical instruments. Crafters practice comprehension skills as they use text and diagrams to follow the steps for each project. The activities push students to learn and apply domain-specific vocabulary, practice new techniques, and build on concepts that may already be familiar. Other tools, including an index and additional resources, encourage readers to locate information and explore further independently.
National Association of Broadcasters Engineering Handbook by
The NAB Engineering Handbook is the definitive resource for broadcast engineers. It provides in-depth information about each aspect of the broadcast chain from audio and video contribution through an entire broadcast facility all the way to the antenna. New topics include Ultra High Definition Television, Internet Radio Interfacing and Streaming, ATSC 3.0, Digital Audio Compression Techniques, Digital Television Audio Loudness Management, and Video Format and Standards Conversion. Important updates have been made to incumbent topics such as AM, Shortwave, FM and Television Transmitting Systems, Studio Lighting, Cameras, and Principles of Acoustics. The big-picture, comprehensive nature of the NAB Engineering Handbook will appeal to all broadcast engineers--everyone from broadcast chief engineers, who need expanded knowledge of all the specialized areas they encounter in the field, to technologists in specialized fields like IT and RF who are interested in learning about unfamiliar topics. Chapters are written to be accessible and easy to understand by all levels of engineers and technicians. A wide range of related topics that engineers and technical managers need to understand are covered, including broadcast documentation, FCC practices, technical standards, security, safety, disaster planning, facility planning, project management, and engineering management.
Spon's architects' and builders' price book 2024 by 
Spon's mechanical and electrical services price book 2024 by 
William Kentridge by
Published to accompany an exhibition at the RA, this is a sweeping overview of Kentridge's 40-year career. Includes rarely seen works from the 1980s up to the present day, revealing an artist at the height of his creative powers.
Writing for Animation by
Animation is one of the fastest growing mediums in the film and television world - whether it's Frozen or Paw Patrol, Family Guy or Rick and Morty. This book is the definitive guide to storytelling for writers, directors, storyboard artists and animators. Suitable for both the student and the professional, it provides indispensable knowledge on the entire process of writing for animated movies, TV series and short films. The reader will be provided with all the tools necessary to produce professional quality scripts that will start, or further, their career in animation. Beginning with the fundamentals of 'why animation?' this book will lead the reader through a series of principles that will raise the level of their storytelling. These principles are tried and tested on a daily basis by the authors who have a twenty-year track record in the animation industry. Many people are trying to break into the world of writing for animation and a lot of the people who are 'already in' would like to get more work. The reality is that writing for animation is a very specific craft that can be learnt like any other craft. This book will give the reader both the basic and advanced techniques that will put them ahead of the rest of the field.
Code of Practice for Project Management for the Built Environment by
The latest edition of the gold standard in construction project management references The newly revised sixth edition of the Code of Practice for Project Management for the Built Environment, prepared by the Chartered Institute of Building, is an up-to-date and comprehensive reference covering the principles and practice of project management in construction and development. This latest edition covers the new technologies, internationalisation, changing legislation, and productivity and profitability challenges faced by contractors which all combine to drive significant change in the industry. The book demonstrates the application of systematic documentation and quality control to complex construction projects and offers guidance and tools that link key principles to practical project management. It is worldwide in scope and widely recognised as the industry standard on the subject. With fresh discussions of quality assurance, global codes and standards, time management, joint ventures, contract compliance, supply chain integration, design digitisation, and much more, the Code of Practice for Project Management for the Built Environment also includes: A thorough introduction to project inception, feasibility analysis, strategy, and the pre-construction process Comprehensive explorations of the construction stage of projects, as well as testing and commissioning, and project completion, handover, and operation Practical discussions of post-completion review A glossary and index of essential terms in construction project management Perfect for project management professionals in construction contracting and client organisations, Code of Practice for Project Management for the Built Environment will also earn a place in the libraries of undergraduate and postgraduate students of project management and construction-related subjects. The Chartered Institute of Building is the world's largest professional body for construction management and leadership. It has a Royal Charter to promote the science and practice of building and construction for the benefit of society. Members across the world work in the development, conservation, and improvement of the built environment.
How to create a portfolio & get hired : a guide for graphic designers and illustrator. by 
Machine Learning with R : Expert techniques for predictive modeling by 
Sustainable Development, Leadership, and Innovations by
This book deals with the main challenges of sustainable development and the role of sustainable business and corporate social responsibility in implementing these challenges through sustainable leadership and innovations. It includes the economic, social, and environmental dimensions of sustainability and emphasizes the importance of achieving a socio-environmental balance in society. The theoretical frameworks and insights from sustainable development implementations on macro and micro levels, as well as the practical examples and case studies provided to introduce the concept of sustainable leadership and its impact on sustainable business development, are a scientific novelty in the field of sustainability. The book is comprised of six interconnected chapters that sequentially reveal the principal provisions of sustainable development, corporate social responsibility, and sustainable leadership, together with their correlations. Features: Provides cutting-edge examples and case studies of sustainable leadership, viewed as the most significant means for the creation of sustainable organizational culture Includes case studies on the economic, social, and environmental dimensions of sustainability Addresses scientific aspects of sustainable development and its challenges Discusses issues of sustainable development at different scales, ranging from macro to mirco levels Provides policy implications for sustainable business development The theoretical framework and practical case studies presented in Sustainable Development, Leadership, and Innovations make it an invaluable resource and guide to both the academic and business communities. Business leaders, policy makers, and other professionals, as well as academics and graduate students, will all benefit greatly from this text.