Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biochemical, Physiological, and Molecular Aspects of Human Nutrition by A scientific look at the biological bases of human nutrition. Covering advanced nutrition with a comprehensive, easy-to-understand approach, Biochemical, Physiological, and Molecular Aspects of Human Nutrition, 4th Edition, focuses on nutrition at the molecular, cellular, tissue, and whole-body levels. Written by Martha Stipanuk, Marie Caudill, and a team of nutrition experts, the text addresses nutrients by classification, and describes macronutrient function from digestion to metabolism. This edition includes the most current recommendations from the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, plus coverage of the historical evolution of nutrition and information on a wide range of vitamins, minerals, and other food components. More than 20 expert contributors provide the latest information on all areas of the nutrition sciences. Thinking Critically sections within boxes and at the end of chapters help in applying scientific knowledge to "real-life" situations. Common Abbreviations for the entire book are listed alphabetically on the inside back cover for easy reference. Nutrition Insight boxes discuss hot topics and take a closer look at basic science and everyday nutrition. Clinical Correlation boxes show the connection between nutrition-related problems and their effects on normal metabolism. Food Sources boxes summarize and simplify data from the USDA National Nutrient Database on the amount and types of foods needed to reach the recommended daily allowances for vitamins and minerals. DRIs Across the Life Cycle boxes highlight the latest data from the Institute of Medicine on dietary reference intakes for vitamins and minerals, including coverage of infants, children, adult males and females, and pregnant and lactating women. Historical Tidbit boxes provide a historical context to key nutritional findings. NEW! Thoroughly updated art program helps to clarify complex concepts. NEW! Select bolded summary headings enable students to efficiently review information and recognize major messages NEW! Content updated throughout incorporates the latest research and findings, including extensively revised coverage of lipids, lipoproteins, cholesterol, fatty acids, and triacylglycerol metabolism. NEW! Improved writing style makes the material more concise, direct, and accessible. NEW! Additional boxes, tables, and critical thinking questions break up the narrative and reinforce key concepts.
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Laboratory Manual for Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians by Reinforce the essential information you need with the Laboratory Manual for Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 7th Edition. Corresponding to each unit in Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 7th Edition, this new text includes various exercises and test questions that help you focus on learning key concepts and skills for the veterinary clinical setting. Fill-in-the-blank exercises, lab exercises, crossword puzzles, word searches, photo quizzes, lab forms, specimen pictures, and review questions all help to clarify more challenging concepts. Plus, this new edition includes key term exercises that help you work on your immunology skills. Learning activities throughout text include, fill in the blank, true and false, multiple choice questions, matching, word search, photo quiz exercises, and more! Objectives at the beginning of each unit help you focus on the concepts they're expected to learn and how they should apply those in the veterinary clinical setting. NEW! New key term exercises help you master new content in the textbook in the fast-growing area of Immunology. NEW! Completely updated throughout includes the most up-to-date information from the main text.
Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Biotechnology by The over-riding premise for biotechnology in this book is bringing novel products to market to substantially advance patient care and disease mitigation. Biotechnology, over its relatively brief existence of 40 years, has experienced a mercurial growth. The vast educational need for biotechnology information in this rapidly burgeoning field is a basic rationale here. However a more prominent underpinning is that, bringing biotech products to market for patient care involves success in the following four areas of engagement simultaneously - scientific advances for healthcare technologies, novel and varied products for untreated diseases, regulatory authorities, and biotech companies. Features Comprehensive coverage of biotechnology science topics used in development and manufacturing Addresses all the scientific technologies within biotechnology responsible for products on the market and the pipeline Presents business issues such as marketing and sales of the products, as well as companies engaged, and how biotech business has evolved
Publication Date: 2020-06-04
Lewin's Cells by The ideal text for undergraduate and graduate students in advanced cell biology courses Extraordinary technological advances in the last century have fundamentally altered the way we ask questions about biology, and undergraduate and graduate students must have the necessary tools to investigate the world of the cell. The ideal text for students in advanced cell biology courses, Lewin s CELLS, Third Edition continues to offer a comprehensive, rigorous overview of the structure, organization, growth, regulation, movements, and interactions of cells, with an emphasis on eukaryotic cells. The text provides students with a solid grounding in the concepts and mechanisms underlying cell structure and function, and will leave them with a firm foundation in cell biology as well as a big picture view of the world of the cell. Revised and updated to reflect the most recent research in cell biology, Lewin s CELLS, Third Edition includes expanded chapters on Nuclear Structure and Transport, Chromatin and Chromosomes, Apoptosis, Principles of Cell Signaling, The Extracellular Matrix and Cell Adhesion, Plant Cell Biology, and more. All-new design features and a chapter-by-chapter emphasis on key concepts enhance pedagogy and emphasize retention and application of new skills. Thorough, accessible, and essential, Lewin s CELLS, Third Edition, turns a new and sharper lens on the fundamental units of life."
Publication Date: 2013-12-02
Biochemistry by This textbook 'Biochemistry' has become one of the most preferred text books (in India and many other countries) for the students as well as teachers in medical, biological and other allied sciences. The book has undergone three editions, several reprints, and revised reprints in a span of 13 years. There are many biochemistry textbooks in the market. Some of them are purely basic while others are applied, and there are very few books which cover both these aspects together. For this reason, the students learning biochemistry in their undergraduate courses have to depend on multiple books to acquire a sound knowledge of the subject. This book, 'Biochemistry' is unique with a simultaneous and equal emphasis on basic and applied aspects of biochemistry. This textbook offers an integration of medical and pure sciences, comprehensively written to meet the curriculum requirements of undergraduate courses in medical, dental, pharmacy, life-sciences and other categories (agriculture, veterinary, etc.). This book is designed to develop in students a sustained interest and enthusiasm to learn and develop the concepts in biochemistry in a logical and stepwise manner. It incorporates a variety of pedagogic aids, besides colour illustrations to help the students understand the subject quickly and to the maximum. The summary and biomedical/clinical concepts are intended for a rapid absorption and assimilation of the facts and concepts in biochemistry. The self-assessment exercises will stimulate the students to think rather than merely learn the subject. In addition, these exercises (essays, short notes, fill in the blanks, multiple choice questions) set at different difficulty levels, will cater to the needs of all the categories of learners. New to This Edition The book offers an integration of medical and pure sciences, and is comprehensively written, revised and updated to meet the curriculum requirements of Medical, Pharmacy, Dental, Veterinary, Biotechnology, Agricultural Sciences, Life Sciences, and others studying Biochemistry as one of the subjects. It is the first text book on Biochemistry in English with multi-colour illustrations by an author from Asia. The use of multicolours is for a clearer understanding of the complicated biochemical reactions. It is written in a lucid style with the subject being presented as an engaging story growing from elementary information to the most recent advances, and with theoretical discussions being supplemented with illustrations, flowcharts, and tables for easy understanding of Biochemistry. It has each chapter beginning with a four-line verse followed by the text, biomedical concepts, a summary, and self-assessment exercises. The lively illustrations and text with appropriate headings and sub-headings in bold type faces facilitate reading path clarity and quick recall. It provides the most recent and essential information on Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Diabetes, Cancer, Free Radicals, Free radicals and Antioxidants, Prostaglandins, etc. It describes a wide variety of case studies and biochemical correlations and several newer biomedical aspects- Metabolic syndrome, Therapeutic diets, Atkins diet, Trans fatty acids, Epigenetics, Nutrigenomics, Recombinant ribozymes, Membrane transport disorders, Pleural fluid etc. It contains the basics (Bioorganic and Biophysical Chemistry, Tools of Biochemistry, Immunology, and Genetics) for beginners to learn easily Biochemistry, origins of biochemical words, confusables in Biochemistry, principles of Practical Biochemistry, and Clinical Biochemistry Laboratory.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
NMR Spectroscopy in Drug Development and Analysis by Since the development of the NMR spectrometer in the 1950s, NMR spectra have been widely used for the elucidation of the 2D structure of newly synthesized and natural compounds. In the 1980s, the high-resolution NMR spectrometer (> 300 Mhz) and 2D experiments were introduced, which opens up the possibility to determine the 3D structure of large molecules, especially biomolecules. However, NMR spectroscopy has been rarely applied to drug analysis. This book illustrates the power and versatility of NMR spectroscopy in the determination of impurities in and the content of drugs, the composition of polymer excipients, the characterization of isomeric drug mixtures, the complexity of drugs with small-size components or ions, and the behavior of drugs in acid and basic solution. In addition, NMR spectroscopy and especially the hyphenated technique with HPLC is shown to be a powerful tool to measure a drug and its metabolites in various body fluids. The solid state NMR technique can give information on the structure, especially the conformation of drugs and excipients in drug formulations. Recently, SAR by NMR, introduced by Fesik, impressively demonstrated the potential of NMR spectroscopy in drug development and in the characterization of the interaction between large molecules and ligands. The complexation between proteins, lipids and cyclodextrins with drugs is described. Finally, NMR imaging (MRI and MRS) can be used to characterize the liberation of drugs from a drug formulation. Furthermore, the distribution of substances in plants, in animals, in tissues and in humans can be visualized by imaging. In short, this book covers all aspects of drug analysis.
Publication Date: 1999-10-25
Occupational Hygiene by Employees, employers and the government have all become very aware of the effects on health of the work environment. As a result, this subject area is rapidly developing with recent changes in legislation, sampling and measurement methods, as well as a new emphasis on the psychological impact of work, and the importance of an appropriate work-life balance. The purpose of this book is to provide a clear and concise account of the principles of occupational hygiene and, as such, it is suitable for students studying for degree courses in this subject and for the MFOM. It is also suitable for occupational physicians and nurses, to safety representatives and to trade unionists. This edition sees the introduction of nine new chapters covering recently emerged topics such as work/life balance, work organisation and pyschological issues.
Publication Date: 2005-06-24
Pharmaceutical Process Chemistry for Synthesis by There is a need to explain that generic versions of a drug may not be manufactured by the same process as brand-name drugs and that the different processes may have dramatically different environmental impacts. Two global forces are at odds today--the push for "greener" processes and the push for lower drug prices. This book brings this conflict into sharp focus by discussing in detail the published process chemistry for top-selling small molecule drugs. Providing insights about process route selection, choice of reagents, and reaction conditions, Pharmaceutical Process Chemistry for Synthesis guides process chemists in identifying best processes for manufacturing these blockbuster drugs as they lose patent protection. Further, it highlights the strategies and methodology that might be useful for expediting the process research and development of the blockbusters of the future. Written from a refreshingly objective perspective, this book is essential for process chemists who need to devise practical syntheses for increasingly complex drugs in a constantly decreasing time frame.
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Strategies for Organic Drug Synthesis and Design by This book examines and evaluates the strategies utilized to design and synthesize pharmaceutically active agents. Significant updates over the last 10 years since the publication of the 1st edition include synthesis of enantiomerically pure isomers, novel chemical methodologies, and new pharmaceutical agents targeted at novel biological endpoints. Written by an experienced successful author, this book meets the needs of a growing community of researchers in pharmaceutical R &D, as well as medical professionals, by providing a useful guide for designing and synthesizing pharmaceutical agents. Additionally, it is a useful text for medicinal chemistry students.
Publication Date: 2009-03-04
Human DNA Manual by The Human DNA Manual aims to enlighten and entertain the genetically curious layperson on all aspects of our DNA and genetic code. An introductory section covers the basic concepts of genetics and debunks some of the confusion that stems from associated jargon. A history of DNA discovery explains the role of this molecule-of-inheritance and how it conveys the recipe for life, including how to extract your own DNA at home using every day household items. Discussing the relevance of DNA in the past, present and the future, author Melita Irving also covers the potential influence genes have in driving evolution; the concept of bringing back notable historical species from extinction, and the widespread role of DNA in everyday practices. Current issues, such as genetic conditions and the latest medical breakthroughs in detecting them, forensic science, gene therapy and sequencing are all clearly explained. Finally, the book looks at the future of genes and examine the impact DNA will have on the lives of the next generation -- the epigenetics era and potentially heritable consequences of environmental exposures, the contribution of genetic engineering to a functioning society, the concept of gene editing in reproductive medicine, the slippery slope to a 'superhuman' race, and human cloning, as well as the potential for the development of new therapies using gene technology.
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Human Genetics and Genomics by Finally meeting the need for a laboratory manual on human genetics, this practical guide is the perfect companion title to all major standard textbooks on the subject. The authors all have a high-level research background and are actively involved in teaching and counseling. Based on a standard curriculum in human genetics, each chapter equals one practical unit of the course and topics range from basics in human inheritance to genetics in major disease clusters and from bioinformatics and personalized medicine to genetic counseling.
Publication Date: 2020-06-02
An Introduction to Cyberpsychology by An Introduction to Cyberpsychology is the first book to provide a student-oriented introduction to this rapidly growing and increasingly studied topic. It is designed to encourage students to critically evaluate the psychology of online interactions, and to develop appropriate research methodologies to complete their own work in this field. The book is comprised of four main sections: An overview of cyberpsychology and online research methodologies Social psychology in an online context The practical applications of cyberpsychology The psychological aspects of other technologies. Each chapter includes: Explanations of key terms and a glossary to facilitate understanding Content summaries to aid student learning Activity boxes, discussion questions and recommended reading to guide further study. Further resources for students and instructors are available on the book's companion website, including audio and video links, essay questions, a multiple-choice test bank, and PowerPoint lecture slides. Uniquely combining a survey of the field with a focus on the applied areas of psychology, the book is designed to be a core text for undergraduate modules in cyberpsychology and the psychology of the internet, and a primer for students of postgraduate programs in cyberpsychology.
Publication Date: 2016-03-21