Care of People with Diabetes by
Now in its fifth edition, Care of People with Diabetes is a comprehensive clinical manual for nurses, healthcare professionals and students alike, providing an extensive summary of the most up-to-date knowledge in a rapidly developing field, as well as the role of education and self-care in achieving desirable outcomes. Covering both the theory and evidence-based practice of diabetes care, this authoritative volume integrates traditional thinking and innovative concepts to challenge readers to 'think outside the box' when rendering care. New and updated content on the pathophysiology of diabetes and the implications for management, how to apply guideline recommendations in practice, and contemporary evidence for best practice diabetes care Highlights personalised care and shared, evidence-based decision-making, emphasising the need for effective communication to reduce judgmental language and the negative effect it has on wellbeing and outcomes Written by internationally recognised experts in diabetes care, research and education Includes a range of learning features, such as practice questions, key learning points, diagrams, and further reading suggestions Care of People with Diabetes is an essential companion to clinical practice for both trainee and experienced nurses and healthcare professionals, particularly those in acute care settings, and students undertaking diabetes courses or preparing for qualification exams.
Care Planning by
This clear and intuitive introduction to care planning for nurses explains the benefits of holistic, individualised care planning from a professional and clinical perspective. Using the ASPIRE model, it guides the reader step-by-step through a problem-solving approach to care, from assessing patients and identifying their needs, to planning goals and interventions, and evaluating progress. The book is structured to explain the theory of care planning in relation to a number of common nursing models and then show how the theory can best be put into practice. It draws on recent research to show how nurses can develop individualised care plans from scratch or use and adapt a range of 'off-the-shelf' tools. It is written in a clear, succinct and down-to-earth writing style, which will put students immediately at their ease, and is rich with pedagogic features, including: 　 'Stop and think' boxes to check understanding; boxed 'Practice examples' to illustrate points made; 'Research summary' boxes to highlight relevant and important studies; 'What have you learnt so far?' features to recap on key points of discussion; mini care plans; regular activities to encourage the reader to apply what they have learnt to particular practice scenarios. This is a go-to text for all pre-registration nursing students taking courses on the theory and practice of effective healthcare delivery.
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Nursing by
The new edition of this well regarded book introduces the underpinning theory and concepts required for the development of first class communication and interpersonal skills in nursing. By providing a simple to read overview of the central topics, students are able to quickly gain a solid, evidence-based grounding in the subject. Topics covered include: empathy; building therapeutic relationships; using a variety of communication methods; compassion and dignity; communicating in different environments; and culture and diversity issues. Three new chapters have been added that point readers towards further ways of approaching their communication skills that are less model and technique driven and focusing more on therapeutic considerations, as well as looking at the politics of communication.
Critical Thinking and Writing in Nursing by
Critical thinking and writing is central to effective nursing practice. Written specifically for nursing students, this book offers practical guidance on what it means to think critically as a nurse and how to apply this to study and practice. From critically reviewing literature for assessments to evaluating evidence to support decision-making in practice, the book provides a unique framework for developing essential critical skills. Key features A new chapter on ′Writing the Clinical Case Study′, along with new guidance on how to become a successful independent learner, advice on managing information overload, and many more updates and enhancements on the previous edition. Each chapter is mapped to the 2018 NMC standards Filled with activities and student case studies demonstrating how to apply critical thinking and reflection in practice Innovative approach that introduces the different levels of critical thinking and reflection required of degree level study
Oxford Handbook of Cardiac Nursing by
Nurses must deliver up-to-date, clinically effective, evidence-based care across a range of settings and develop nursing services to meet changing demands. The revised and expanded Oxford Handbook of Cardiac Nursing 3rd edition is tailored to provide the essential knowledge nurses need; at their fingertips when they need it. This handbook will guide the reader systematically through the care of patients with a wide range of cardiac problems. Each chapter contains the up to date evidence-based guidelines for cardiac conditions and treatments. It now includes new topics such as stroke, genetics, computed tomography coronary angiogram. Valvular heart disease has been expanded, as well as the chapter on congenital heart disease and inherited cardiac conditions. Providing key summaries of common problems and essential issues, it will provide both an invaluable reference for cardiac nurses, as well as a precise, targeted guide for nurses from other specialties caring for patients with cardiac problems.
Oxford Handbook of ENT and Head and Neck Surgery by
The aim of this new third edition of the Oxford Handbook of ENT and Head and Neck Surgery, like all other Oxford Handbooks, is to provide a compact, comprehensive, and easily accessible guide to all areas of the field. The core text is based on an anatomical list of ear nose and throat diseases. There are separate sections on ENT examinations, investigations, common operations, ward care, and emergencies, as well as a chapter detailing the roles of other ENT health professionals. There is also a chapter on common methods of presentation, which acts a guide for dealing with patients as they present in clinical practice. This enables diagnosis based on symptoms, history, and relevant investigations, and also cross-references to more detailed information in individual anatomical chapters. This edition also features a new chapter on the ENT specialty in the rest of the world, as well as an illustrated overview of flaps, expanded information on the ear, and new figures to aid understanding, making this Handbook an essential companion to all trainees and nurses specialising in ENT.
Oxford Handbook of Neuroscience Nursing by
This handbook is for nurses needing practical guidance in clinical situations, either as an aide memoire for the specialist nurse, or an essential reference source for newly qualified nurses caring for people with neurological problems for the first time.
Leadership and Management Competence in Nursing Practice by
Written specifically for the experienced nurse enrolled in an RN to BSN program, this text guides nurses through an interactive critical-thinking process to become effective and confident nurse leaders. All nurses involved with direct patient care already rely on similar strategies to oversee patient safety, make care decisions, and integrate plan of care in collaboration with patients and families. This text expounds upon that knowledge and provides a firm base to reach the next steps in academia and practice, enabling the BSN-prepared nurse can tackle serious issues in care delivery with a high-level of self-awareness and skill. Leadership and Management Competence in Nursing Practice relies on a keen understanding of what experienced nurses already bring to the classroom. Written in a clear and concise manner, this text provides a core framework and useful skills and strategies to successfully lead nursing and healthcare forward. Chapters delve into discussions of leadership skills and personal attributes of leaders with minimal repetition of material covered in associate degree program. Content builds on the framework of AACN Essentials of Baccalaureate Education, IOM Competencies, and QSEN KSAs. Each chapter is filled with case scenarios to promote critical-thinking and decision-making. Self-assessment tools featured throughout the text enable nurses to evaluate their current strengths, areas for growth, and learning needs. Key Features: Provides information needed for the Associate Degree Nurse to advance to the professionally prepared Baccalaureate Degree NurseEach chapter contains relevant critical thinking exercises, vignettes, and case studies targeted to the RN - BSN audienceEach chapter contains end-of-Chapter Learning Assessments: What Do You Know Now?Self-assessment tools included in most chapters for the reader to see where they are now on the topic and to what point they need to advance to obtain competence and confidence in the professional nursing role.Provides information and skills needed by nurses specific to a variety of healthcare settings.Instructor Ancillary Package is included
Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing by
Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing A comprehensive and evidence-based manual for orthopaedic and trauma nurses and students In the newly revised second edition of Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing: An Evidence-based Approach to Musculoskeletal Care, a team of accomplished practitioners and educators deliver a straightforward and practical textbook for the practice of neonate, infant, child, young person, adult and older person orthopaedic and trauma nursing. The book explores topics of critical importance to those working in acute wards, clinics, community hospitals, nursing homes, and patients' homes. Divided into 5 intuitive sections, this book examines central issues in orthopaedic and musculoskeletal trauma care, specialist practice issues, the care and management of common conditions, and the care of infants, children and young people. Each chapter is based on the latest research and offers practical guidance to practitioners around the world. The book also offers: Practical explorations of topics in specialist practice, including assessment, common musculoskeletal interventions, and complications of musculoskeletal conditions and trauma In-depth discussions of common orthopaedic conditions and their management and care, including elective orthopaedic surgery Holistic musculoskeletal trauma care, including the principles of trauma and fracture management Perfect for pre-registration and qualified adult and children's orthopaedic nurses working in orthopaedic and musculoskeletal trauma units in hospitals and community settings, Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing will also be of use to students seeking post-qualification education in orthopaedic nursing.
Emergency Nursing 5-Tier Triage Protocols, Second Edition by
"The authors not only encourage data gathering, they emphasize the qualities of personal interactions, courtesy and sensitivity, and consideration to upgrade triage category when history is hampered by youth, age, impairment of faculties, or language ability that might otherwise conceal potential problems. Appropriate treatments to initiate at triage are indicated where needed. This book puts forward a practical way of coming back to basics and helps categorize priority for patients. As an educator or manager, I would feel confident that, with it, my nurses are being prepared to make safe decisions with an accurate program that reflects current thinking in triage strategy." -Tom Trimble, RN, CEN, BA, ASN, AA Editor and Publisher Emergency Nursing World This critical-thinking blueprint for the triage nurse delivers essential knowledge for accurate decision-making in emergency triage situations. Formatted to provide easily accessible and retrievable information, the manual facilitates rapid recognition and understanding of acuity levels and their application to patient care. The newly updated second edition reflects current health conditions and scenarios in EDs, urgent care centers, offices, and first aid centers, both domestic and international. It contains important new information on program development, training, and quality management along with useful tips and tools. Completely new protocols, additional case studies, and quality management guidelines and tools further add to the merit of the second edition. The resource addresses a wide range of both adult and pediatric conditions that are system-based and listed in alphabetical order. Each protocol has been developed to ensure accuracy and consistency, regardless of which 5-tier triage system is in use. Abundant case studies and multiple appendices provide additional information to support the protocols, broadening the nurse's scope of knowledge and prompting in-depth examination of potentially lethal conditions. Additionally, appendices contain valuable training materials for program development, training, and quality management tips and tools. New to the Second Edition: Updated protocols reflecting current health conditions/situations in EDs, urgent care centers, offices, and first aid centersImportant new information on program development, training, and quality management tips and toolsAdditional material including mass casualty, exposure (biological, chemical, disease), military care, infections (isolation concerns), behavioral issues (violence), and narcotic overdoseNew case studiesDeveloping a triage programQuality management guidelines and tools Key Features: Facilitates consistency in triage decisions among different nursesUses health care resources appropriately and efficientlySets minimum expectations for triage decisionsGuides nurses in asking the right questions, determining how soon the patient must be seen, and interventions to considerServes as a valuable reference for both new and experienced nursesServes as a training tool in orientation
Communication Skills for Your Nursing Degree by
Communication Skills for your Nursing Degree will help you to: improve your oral and written communication skills in a range of academic and healthcare settings improve your public speaking, including academic presentations improve your practical writing and speaking skills If you are embarking on a university nursing or midwifery degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life.