Cite Them Right by
Cite them right is renowned as the most comprehensive yet easy-to-use guide to referencing text available to students and authors. Academics and teachers rely on the advice in Cite them right to guide their students in the skills of identifying and referencing information sources and avoiding plagiarism. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The fully revised and updated 12th edition contains: - Expanded guidance on the key principles of referencing and avoiding plagiarism, including new sections on collecting evidence to use in your work; reading, listening and taking notes; and using other people's work in your writing. - New reference examples for Tik Tok, blog posts, Zoom and Teams, recorded lectures and online seminars.
How to Cite, Reference and Avoid Plagiarism at University by
How to cite, reference & avoid plagiarising at university Is there a secret to successful study? The answer is ‘yes’! There are some essential skills and smart strategies that will help you to improve your results at university. nbsp; This easy-to-use guide helps to develop the essential academic skills of writing and thinking needed to cite and reference with confidence in your academic studies. Plagiarism and the most common methods of quoting, summarising and paraphrasing are explained and modelled throughout the book. nbsp; HOW TO CITE, REFERENCE & AVOID PLAGIARISM AT UNIVERSITY provides tips, tools and techniques you will need to perform with excellence, including how to: · nbsp; understand the importance of correct citation and referencing in academic writing · nbsp; be aware of the facts about plagiarism and how it can be identified and avoided · nbsp; search for and evaluate sources from the literature · nbsp; introduce the work of others into your own text · nbsp; understand and use the five most common citation and referencing styles. nbsp; Visit www.smarterstudyskills.com to access a wealth of useful information, tips, templates and interactive activities that will support your skills development.
Blockchain Technology Applications in Education by
Blockchain relies on distributed databases that give an alterable and semipublic record of digital transactions. Blockchain in learning should address theoretical, practical, and technical issues, but it must also consider the philosophy behind interactive blockchain in learning. While the applications of blockchain have been the subject of serious academic research, there must be more continuous and multicultural attention paid to the impact of the latest management, communication, pedagogy, technology, and evaluation-based developments of blockchain in learning. Blockchain Technology Applications in Education is an essential scholarly publication that scrutinizes how open universities establish a blockchain network for decentralized learning. This book will explore a variety of new management models, communicational actions, pedagogical approaches, new technologies, and evaluation models. There will be new trends, patterns, and customs of blockchain in learning drawn from the distinctive improvements in learning milieus. Highlighting a range of topics such as corporate education, lifelong learning, and social media, this book is essential for academicians, curriculum designers, instructional designers, IT consultants, administrators, researchers, and students.
The Bloomsbury handbook of technology education by 
Institutions and Organizations by
Creating a clear, analytical framework, this comprehensive exploration of the relationship between institutional theory and the study of organizations continues to reflect the richness and diversity of institutional thought--viewed both historically and as a contemporary, ongoing field of study. Drawing on the insights of cultural and organizational sociologists, institutional economists, social and cognitive psychologists, political scientists, and management theorists, the book reviews and integrates the most important recent developments in this rapidly evolving field, and strengthens and elaborates the author's widely accepted "pillars" framework, which supports research and theory construction. By exploring the differences as well as the underlying commonalities of institutional theories, the book presents a cohesive view of the many flavors and colors of institutionalism. Finally, the book evaluates and clarifies developments in both theory and research while identifying future research directions.
Multimodal higher education : digital, social and environmental relationalities by 
Undoing the Grade by
Grades and assessment are elephants in almost every room where discussions of education are underway. While I would prefer that grades would crawl back into the hole from which they came, my goal here is not to demonize assessment altogether but to dissect it - to cut right to its jugular: Where does assessment fail? What damage can it do? What can't be assessed? Can we construct more poetic, less objective, models for assessment? In a system structured around standards and gatekeeping, when and how do we stop assessing? The word "ungrading" means raising an eyebrow at grades as a systemic practice, distinct from simply "not grading." The word is a present participle, an ongoing process, not a static set of practices. Ungrading is a systemic critique, a series of conversations we have about grades, ideally drawing students into those conversations with the goal of engaging them as full agents in their own education.This collection represents over 20 years of thinking and writing about grades. The work of ungrading is to ask questions, have hard conversations, point to the fundamental inequities of grades, push for systemic change, and to mitigate or obstruct harm that grading, and grades as a system, do to marginalized students and precarious educators. There are lots of entry points to those conversations.
Universal Design in Education by
Teachers at all levels, from K-12 through college and university settings to adult and continuing education, now deal with a remarkably diverse student body. Universal design, an approach previously adopted in architecture and engineering, offers cost-effective ways to respond to the special needs of these diverse students. In universal design, teachers provide appropriate media (e.g., disks, materials posted on Web pages) that are readable by people with learning disabilities or blindness and are also accessible to distance-learning students. By offering participatory exercises and collaborative learning opportunities, teachers respond to the preferences of many students of Hispanic origin as well as many who have different learning styles. Teachers can also adjust the layout of a classroom, the ways in which students communicate with each other and with the instructor, and the language(s) in which information is presented. Bowe explains these techniques and supplies resources with additional information. This book is an invaluable resource for teachers, student teachers, and support personnel who help teachers meet special needs at all levels.
The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism by 
The future of enriched, linked, open and filtered metadata : making sense of ILFA LRM, RDA, linked data and BIBFRAME by 
How to Do Your Research Project by
How to Do Your Research Project continues to lead the way as an essential guide for anyone undertaking a research project in the applied social sciences. The new Third Edition of this best-selling title now includes further advice on concluding, writing, and presenting research, using social media and digital methods, and understanding how to effectively work with supervisors. Setting out a clear and detailed road map, author Gary Thomas guides the reader through the different stages of a research project, explaining key steps, and processes at each level in refreshingly jargon-free terms. Readers will learn: How to choose your research question Project management and study skills Effective literature reviews Methodology, theory, and research design frames Ethics and access Data collection tools Effective data analysis Discussing findings, concluding, and writing up Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Introduction to Research Methods 5th Edition by
Introduction to Research Methods contains everything from developing an initial idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results. Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project. Specifically it will show you how to: *Choose your research methods *Choose your participants *Prepare a research proposal *Construct questionnaires *Conduct interviews and focus groups *Analyse your data *Report your findings *Be an ethical researcher