Do you need to include the full URL?
When you are citing a subscription database do NOT include the full long URL.
Rule: Subscription Database
Don't: Since a subscription database item is only available if the reader has access, you should not include the long URL of the item.
Do: Do include the homepage URL of the database to show the reader the name of the publisher and how one would be able to access the item if they obtained a subscription to the database.
Bad Example: Tuggy, M.L., & Gilliam, M. (2013, July 28). Knee Injury. Elsevier. https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/
Good Example: Tuggy, M.L., & Gilliam, M. (2013, July 28). Knee Injury. Elsevier. www.clinicalkey.com
See: APA blog What to Use—The Full Document URL or Home Page URL?
Online Database: For works from databases that publish works of limited circulation (such as the ERIC database) or original, proprietary material available only in that database (such as EBSCO), include the name of the database or archive and the URL of the work. If the URL requires a login or is session-specific, meaning it will not resolve for readers, provide the URL of the database or specific archive home page or login page instead of the URL for the work.
Articles in Academic Journals:
For the titles of articles capitalize only:
The first letter of the first word of the title and subtitle,
The first word after a colon
(Author Surname, Year/last updated)
Personal or Corporate Author. (Last update if not known, put n.d.). Title of a specific document. Publisher. Retrieved date from [if needed] URL database homepage
In-Text Citation: DynamedPlus
DynamedPlus (2017, July 18). Diabetes mellitus type 2 in children and adolescents. EBSCO. Retrieved August 3, 2017 from www.dynamed.com
In-Text Citation: Epocrates
(Shah & Kantharia, 2017)
Shah, A.N., & Kantharia, B.K. (2017, January 23). Acute atrial fibrillation. Epocrates, Inc. Retrieved August 2, 2017 from www.epocrates.com
In-Text Citation: (PubMed, 2022)
PubMed. (2021, July 21). A Comprehensive Review of COVID-19 Virology, Vaccines, Variants, and Therapeutics. Retrieved May 28, 2022 from https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34241776/. DOI: 10.1007/s11596-021-2395-1