DOI: If a journal article has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) listed, you will always include this identifier in your reference as a URL.
Online Database: For works from databases that publish works of limited circulation (such as the ERIC database) or original, proprietary material available only in that database (such as UpToDate), include the name of the database or archive and the URL of the work. If the URL requires a login or is session-specific, meaning it will not resolve for readers, provide the URL of the database or specific archive home page or login page instead of the URL for the work.
Print: If you viewed a journal article in its print format, be sure to check if it has a DOI listed. If it does not, your reference to the article would end after you provide the page range of the article.
Date: When possible, include the year, month, and date in references. If the month and date are not available, use the year of publication.
General Format
In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): (Author Surname et al., Year)
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Author Surname et al., Year, page number)
References:
Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. http://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx
Example
Surnames and initials for up to twenty authors should be provided in the reference list. For more than 20 authors, list the first 19, followed by an ellipse, then list the final author.
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Yonkers et al., 2001, p. 1859)
References:
Yonkers, K. A., Ramin, S. M., Rush, A. J., Navarrete, C. A., Carmody, T., March, D., Heartwell, S., Leveno, K. J. (2001). Onset and persistence of postpartum depression in an inner-city maternal health clinic system. American Journal of Psychiatry, 158(11), 1856-1863. http://doi.org/10.1176/appi.ajp.158.11.1856
Example (APA 7th Manual Made Easy)
General Format
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, Volume(Issue), pages. DOI
Author, A. A.:
List each author's last name and initial as Author, A. A., Author, B.B., & Autor, C. C. Use an ampersand (&) before the final author's name.
Year: Include year of publication.
Title of article: Capitalize only first word and proper nouns for the title of the article.
Title of Periodical: Italicize and capitalize each long word in the periodical.
Volume: Italicize the periodical volume number.
Issue: If there is an issue number, include it in parentheses, not italicized.
pages: Include page(s) of the periodical.
DOI: Include DOI if available using the format https://doi.org/xxxx.xxxx....xxxx
Example: (APA 7th Manual Made Easy)
References: Scott, N. S., Reed, E., Evans, T.O., & Thomas, V. (2008). Why some believe that global warming is a hoax. Green and Sustainable Chemistry, 53(3), 28-33. https://doi.org/10.1034596/lgk049f-3377