Helpful Tips:
DOI: If a journal article has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) listed, you will always include this identifier in your reference as a URL.
Online Database: For works from databases that publish works of limited circulation (such as the ERIC database) or original, proprietary material available only in that database (such as UpToDate), include the name of the database or archive and the URL of the work. If the URL requires a login or is session-specific, meaning it will not resolve for readers, provide the URL of the database or specific archive home page or login page instead of the URL for the work.
Print: If you viewed a journal article in its print format, be sure to check if it has a DOI listed. If it does not, your reference to the article would end after you provide the page range of the article.
Date: When possible, include the year, month, and date in references. If the month and date are not available, use the year of publication.
General Format
In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): (Author Surname & Author Surname, Year)
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Author Surname & Author Surname, Year, page number)
References:
Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second
Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range.
http://dx.doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx
Example 1
In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): (Paterson & Thorne, 2003)
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Paterson & Thorne, 2003, p. 30)
References:
Paterson, B. L., & Thorne, S. (2003). Enhancing the evaluation of nursing care effectiveness. Canadian Journal of Nursing Research, 35(3), 26-38.
Example 2
In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): (Sillick & Schutte, 2006)
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Sillick & Schutte, 2006, p. 43)
References:
Sillick, T. J., & Schutte, N. S. (2006). Emotional intelligence and self-esteem mediate between perceived early parental love and adult happiness. E-Journal of Applied Psychology, 2(2), 38-48.