DOI: If a journal article has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) listed, you will always include this identifier in your reference as a URL.
Online Database: For works from databases that publish works of limited circulation (such as the ERIC database) or original, proprietary material available only in that database (such as UpToDate), include the name of the database or archive and the URL of the work. If the URL requires a login or is session-specific, meaning it will not resolve for readers, provide the URL of the database or specific archive home page or login page instead of the URL for the work.
Print: If you viewed a journal article in its print format, be sure to check if it has a DOI listed. If it does not, your reference to the article would end after you provide the page range of the article.
Date: When possible, include the year, month, and date in references. If the month and date are not available, use the year of publication.
In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): (Author Surname et al., Year)
NOTE: The in-text citation for works with three or more authors is shortened to the first author's name, followed by et al. and the year.
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Author Surname et al., Year, page number)
Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial.Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. http://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx
In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): (Westhues et al., 2001)
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Westhues et al., 2001, p. 40)
Westhues, A., Lafrance, J., & Schmidt, G. (2001). A SWOT analysis of social work education in Canada. Social Work Education, 20(1), 35-56. http://doi.org/10.1080/02615470020028364
In-Text Citation (Paraphrase) (Dietz et al., 2007)
In-Text Citation (Quotation): (Dietz et al., 2007, p. 1518)
Dietz, P. M., Williams, S. B., Callaghan, W. M., Bachman, D. J., Whitlock, E. P., & Hornbrook, M. C. (2007). Clinically identified maternal depression before, during, and after pregnancies ending in live births. American Journal of Psychiatry, 164(10), 1515-1520. http://dx.doi.org/10.1176/appi.ajp.2007.061118936